The short answer
Pick the kind of bait first, because the MirrOlure MirrOdine 17MR is a suspending twitchbait with a maker-stated 0-24 in depth, the Rapala X-Rap Saltwater SXR10 is a suspending jerkbait that Rapala rates for 4-6 ft, and the Rapala Saltwater Skitter Walk SSW11 is a topwater walking bait that SaltStrong reviewed.
Our verdict
Top Picks: Eight Artificial Baits for Snook
Artificial baits for snook run from small suspending twitchbaits to topwater walkers and soft plastic shrimp. Makers publish the figures that separate them: how long the bait is, how much it weighs, how deep it runs, what action it has and what hooks it carries. This guide compares eight artificial baits for snook on those published figures, and every pick is a bait that its maker, or a named source we could read, ties to snook or to inshore saltwater fishing that includes snook. Where a maker publishes no figure, the guide says “not published”.
Related guide: Best Baits for Ocean Fishing: 8 Picks Compared
The eight come from MirrOlure, Rapala, Yo-Zuri, Z-Man and D.O.A. We have not tested them. Each review grades its own evidence, from an independent review of the model down to maker specs alone. If you are still sorting out lure families, our guide to types of fishing lures explains how surface, mid-depth and bottom lures differ, and our bass topwater lures guide covers the freshwater side of walking baits. For a rod to throw them on, our spinning rod roundup includes inshore use in its scope.
Snook bait finder
Find a snook bait by type
Pick a bait type and a relative price tier. Each suggestion comes from the makers' published figures and the sources graded in the reviews for the eight snook baits below; it is an editorial starting point, not a test result.
Tiers are relative to the products in this guide; live prices are in the comparison table below.
Compare the picks
Compare the 8 Snook Baits
Every length, weight, depth and hook figure below is the maker’s own, taken from the maker’s product page. “Linked model” is the exact size and colour the Amazon button opens. “Not published” means the maker’s page does not give the figure. Soft plastics are sold without a hook (Z-Man) or pre-rigged (D.O.A.), so their running depth depends on how you rig them and their makers publish none. “Best for” is the maker’s species list or snook collection where it gives one; for the X-Rap, She Dog and Skitter Walk it is the Amazon listing’s, and those cells say so.
MirrOlure MirrOdine 17MRSuspending TwitchbaitSnook, redfish, trout2-5/8 in3/8 oz0-24 in$14.55
Evidence: SaltStrong reviewed the 17MR in colour number 18 and gives 'just under 3 inches' and 5/8 oz, where MirrOlure lists 2-5/8 in and 3/8 oz; same model line, not this colour
Rapala X-Rap Saltwater SXR10Suspending JerkbaitAmazon listing: snook, redfish, trout4 in7/16 oz4-6 ft$13.99 Prime
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
Yo-Zuri 3D Inshore Twitchbait SS 110Slow-Sinking TwitchbaitFlats, oyster bars4-3/8 in1 oz1-2 ft$13.40 Prime
Evidence: SaltStrong's 2020 review does not state the size or colour it covered; same 3D Inshore Twitchbait line, not confirmed as this 110 mm Real Anchovy
MirrOlure She Dog 83MRTopwater Surface WalkerAmazon listing: snook, trout, tarpon4 in3/4 ozSurface$14.10
Evidence: Amazon listing description for this item (a retailer), not independent
Rapala Saltwater Skitter Walk SSW11Topwater Walking BaitAmazon listing: snook, redfish, striper4-3/8 in5/8 ozTopwater$13.99 Prime
Evidence: SaltStrong, this exact model
Z-Man DieZel MinnowZPaddle-Tail SwimbaitSnook4 inNot publishedNot published$9.11
Evidence: Z-Man product page (maker) (a retailer), not independent
Z-Man Scented Jerk ShadZForked-Tail Soft PlasticSnook, bull reds, tarpon5 inNot publishedNot published$9.53
Evidence: Z-Man product page (maker) (a retailer), not independent
D.O.A. ShrimpPre-Rigged Soft ShrimpSnook3 in1/4 ozNot published$20.35
Evidence: Maker's own page, not independent; the r/Fishing owner report names Glow/Gold Rush, not Near Clear
Where These Eight Snook Baits Come From
How this guide was built
built from manufacturer documentation, published third-party reviews and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.
What a pick had to meet
- An artificial bait, hard or soft, that its maker, or a named source we could read, ties to snook or to inshore saltwater fishing that includes snook. The review says which source does it.
- The maker publishes length, weight, running depth and hook details, or we say “not published”.
- On Amazon at the time of writing, with the exact size and colour we describe confirmed from the listing’s full title and page.
- Figures come from the maker and are cross-checked against the Amazon listing. Where they disagree we use the maker’s and say so.
- Where the maker says whether the hooks are built for saltwater, the review quotes it; where it does not, the review says “not stated”.
How the evidence lines are graded, what Florida sources and posters say and seller and stock checks
How the evidence lines are graded
Each review carries an “Evidence” line. “Independently reviewed, exact model” means an editorial review names the linked model. “Same series” means the review covers a sibling, an earlier release or a version whose size the review does not state, and the review says which. “Retailer review” means the source sells the bait, such as a maker’s own store or an Amazon listing, so it is not independent. “Owner reports” means a poster’s account with no test behind it. “Maker specs” means we found no independent test and rest on the maker’s page alone. SaltStrong’s Skitter Walk review states that it is “not affiliated with their company at all”.
What Florida sources and posters say
A Fort Myers charter company, Caloosahatchee Cowboy Charters, writes that “Part of the beauty of fishing for a snook is the fact that you can use either artificial lures or live bait.” It describes lure choice by depth: “For a shallow depth (such as sight fishing at the edge of the shoreline), you can use a topwater plug, soft plastic jerk baits, and hard plastic suspending twitch baits.” It names no brands, and it is a charter business, not a product test.
In an r/Fishing thread, “Best snook lures for Florida summer?” (24 comments, June 2024), posters named different baits. One wrote “Most of mine were caught on yozuri jerkbaits, but I also had a lot of luck with spoons and squarebills.” Another wrote “I’m in SRQ. Tarpon, cut bait everyday, unless you have the rig to fly fish. Then that’s a blast, but gotta have patience. Snook, I’ve always just used a plain silver spoon.” A third wrote “3”-8″ Paddletails and soft plastic shrimps have been really reliable baits for me in all circumstances.” Another named the D.O.A. Shrimp in Glow/Gold Rush, a different colour from the Near Clear linked here; that post is quoted in its review. These are individual posters, not tests, and spoons, which are not in this guide, came up in several replies.
Snook Snacks, a Port St. Lucie tackle retailer, has a snook collection of 94 lures on its site. It lists the D.O.A. Shrimp, the Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ and the Z-Man Scented Jerk ShadZ among them. It sells them, so we treat it as a retailer, not an independent test.
Some pages we tried to read would not open for us (Florida Sportsman’s snook lure list, FishingBooker’s snook bait guide and a Fish Your Ass Off page), so none of them is used as evidence here.
Seller and stock checks
We read each Amazon listing on 2026-10-25. Three are sold and shipped by Amazon.com: the Rapala X-Rap Saltwater, the Yo-Zuri 3D Inshore Twitchbait and the Rapala Saltwater Skitter Walk. The other five were sold by third-party sellers on Amazon, four of them shipped by Amazon, and each review names its seller. On the day we read the listings, some offers, from third-party sellers and from Amazon.com, were above the maker’s own list price where the maker publishes one, so check the live price in the box before you buy. The live price and the “Prices as of” stamp come from Amazon in the table and review boxes, not from us.
Detailed Reviews of the 8 Snook Baits
MirrOlure MirrOdine 17MR, Suspending Twitchbait
17MR-49 Bay Green/PRL/Silver · 0-24 in
Anglers who want a small suspending twitchbait that its maker names for snook and who are fishing the 0-24 in range MirrOlure lists.
$14.55 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTCVerdict
A 2-5/8 in suspending twitchbait with a maker-stated 0-24 in depth, linked in the 17MR-49 Bay Green/PRL/Silver colour.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. SaltStrong: MirrOlure 17MR MirrOdine, colour number 18.
MirrOlure’s store page lists the 17MR MirrOdine at 2-5/8 in and 3/8 oz with a depth of 0-24 in, and says “With a twitching retrieve, these baits dart from side-to-side, mimicking a wounded baitfish. Trout, Redfish, Snook, Striped Bass and Tarpon find the MirrOdines ® to be irresistible.” The page promises “extra strong hooks” but gives no hook count, size or saltwater rating, so those are not published. The Amazon listing repeats the species list and a depth of 0-24 in.
SaltStrong, a fishing site, reviews the MirrOdine line. It wrote “MirrOdines will excel in 1-3 feet of water in an array of situations, whether it be on grass flats, over potholes, or along the edges of docks.” It reviewed the 17MR in colour number 18, not 17MR-49, and gives that bait as “just under 3 inches” and 5/8 oz, where MirrOlure lists 2-5/8 in and 3/8 oz; we use MirrOlure’s figures. SaltStrong also wrote “The stock treble hooks that come on the lure are sharp and work well.” and, as a caution, “The MirrOdine is going to get snagged on structures and debris in the water because of the treble hooks.” In general terms it adds that “Suspending twitchbaits are especially effective in the winter months when redfish, seatrout, and snook are a bit more lethargic and do not want to expend a lot of energy.”
Amazon showed this listing shipped by Amazon and sold by Shealy Lampp at the time of writing.
Overlap with the other hard baits: the X-Rap is a 4 in suspending bait with a 4-6 ft rating; the Yo-Zuri is a 4-3/8 in slow-sinking bait with a 1-2 ft rating.
Specs (linked variant)
Pros
- Suspending twitchbait with a maker-stated 0-24 in depth and a side-to-side twitching dart, per MirrOlure
- MirrOlure’s own page names snook among the fish that “find the MirrOdines ® to be irresistible”
- SaltStrong’s review of the MirrOdine line describes it working over grass flats, potholes and dock edges
- Amazon’s listing repeats MirrOlure’s depth and species list
Cons
- Exposed treble hooks, which SaltStrong says snag on structure and debris
- Hook count, size and saltwater rating are not published
- SaltStrong reviewed a different colour and gives a different size and weight than the maker
- Sold by a third-party seller on Amazon at the time of writing
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a small suspending twitchbait that its maker names for snook and who are fishing the 0-24 in range MirrOlure lists.
- Linked variant: 17MR-49, Bay Green/PRL/Silver (Amazon title: “MirrOLure 17MR-49 Mirrodine Suspend Twitchbait Bay Green/PRL/Silver 2 5/8in 3/8oz”)
- Length: 2-5/8 in, per MirrOlure
- Weight: 3/8 oz, per MirrOlure
- Running depth: 0-24 in, per MirrOlure
- Action: twitching side-to-side dart, per MirrOlure; suspending, per the product name on MirrOlure’s page
- Hooks: treble; count and size not published. MirrOlure says “extra strong hooks”; whether they are rated for saltwater is not stated
- Sold on Amazon by: Shealy Lampp (third-party seller, shipped by Amazon), at the time of writing
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Rapala X-Rap Saltwater SXR10, Suspending Jerkbait
Anglers who want a 4 in suspending jerkbait with published depth and hook sizes and Rapala's saltwater statement for the hooks, and who accept that the snook tie comes from the Amazon listing.
$13.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTCVerdict
A 4 in suspending jerkbait with a Rapala-stated 4-6 ft running depth and hooks Rapala says are built for saltwater, linked in Olive Green.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Rapala X-Rap Saltwater page.
Rapala’s X-Rap Saltwater page lists the SXR10 at 4 in, 7/16 oz, a 4-6 ft running depth, suspending, with two No. 3 hooks. It describes the family as “Suspending X-Rap® Saltwater lures are designed to be cast or trolled” and says they are “Built to withstand saltwater fisheries with Perma Steel 3X hooks”, with “Slashbait® action” when ripped. That is the maker’s own saltwater statement for the hooks. Rapala’s page does not name snook. The Amazon listing for this ASIN does: its title reads “Inshore Hard Bait, Snook Redfish Speckled Trout, and Striper Fishing Lure”, and its bullets add that the lure is also for “tuna wahoo mahi striped bass and other saltwater species”. Treat the snook tie as the listing’s.
We found no independent test of the Saltwater X-Rap. The well-known X-Rap reviews we saw cover the freshwater X-Rap, so the evidence here is Rapala’s specs alone.
Amazon.com was the seller at the time of writing, and the listing’s first bullet matches Rapala’s SXR10 row (4 in, 7/16 oz, 4′-6′, two No. 3 hooks).
Overlap: against the MirrOdine this is the longer bait with a deeper rating, and Rapala states its hooks are built for saltwater where MirrOlure states no saltwater rating.
Specs (linked variant)
Pros
- Suspending 4 in body with a Rapala-stated 4-6 ft running depth
- Rapala states the hooks are built to withstand saltwater fisheries
- Rapala publishes the hook size (two No. 3)
- Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing
Cons
- No independent test of the Saltwater model; Rapala’s specs only
- Rapala’s own page does not name snook; the tie comes from the Amazon listing title
- Rapala’s page shows no price for the SXR10 size, so the Amazon price cannot be checked against a list price
- The Amazon bullets also name offshore species, so the listing is not snook-specific
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a 4 in suspending jerkbait with published depth and hook sizes and Rapala’s saltwater statement for the hooks, and who accept that the snook tie comes from the Amazon listing.
- Linked variant: SXR10, Olive Green (Amazon title: “Rapala X-Rap Saltwater Jerkbait, Inshore Hard Bait, 4″, Olive Green”)
- Length: 4 in, per Rapala
- Weight: 7/16 oz, per Rapala
- Running depth: 4-6 ft, per Rapala
- Action: “Slashbait” action when ripped; suspending, per Rapala
- Hooks: two No. 3, VMC Perma Steel; Rapala says “Built to withstand saltwater fisheries with Perma Steel 3X hooks”
- Sold on Amazon by: Amazon.com, at the time of writing
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Yo-Zuri 3D Inshore Twitchbait SS 110, Slow-Sinking Twitchbait
Yo-Zuri 3D Inshore Twitchbait SS 110
Anglers fishing grass flats, oyster bars or beach troughs, the places Yo-Zuri describes for it, who want a slow-sinking twitchbait and accept the hook caveat.
$13.40 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTCVerdict
A 4-3/8 in slow-sinking twitchbait that Yo-Zuri rates for 1-2 ft, linked in the Real Anchovy colour.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. SaltStrong: YO-ZURI 3D Inshore Twitch Bait, size not stated.
Yo-Zuri’s product page lists the 3D Inshore Twitchbait R1348 as slow sinking, 4-3/8 in (110 mm) and 1 oz (30 g), with a rolling, twitching action and a diving depth of 1-2 ft. Its page calls it “a slow sinking lipless hard bait” that is “an exceptional choice for fishing grass flats, oyster bars or working troughs along the beach” and lists a “Power Treble Hook” without a size. Whether the hook is rated for saltwater is not stated, though the Amazon title calls it a “Salt Lure”.
Snook come from SaltStrong, which reviewed the “YO-ZURI 3D Inshore Twitch Bait” in 2020 and wrote “This is a great hard bait for fishing shallow water targeting redfish, trout, or snook.” The review does not say which size it covered, so we grade it as the same series. Its caveats sit next to the praise: it lists “hooks could be better (YO-ZURI has used better hooks in the past)” and “price (more expensive than most lures)” among the cons. Yo-Zuri’s own snook article is about a different bait, the 3D Inshore Fingerling, so we do not use it for this pick. One poster in the r/Fishing snook thread wrote that most of their snook “were caught on yozuri jerkbaits”; the poster did not say which model.
Amazon.com was the seller at the time of writing.
Overlap with the MirrOdine: both are small twitchbaits fished with pauses. Yo-Zuri’s is the slow-sinking one with a 1-2 ft rating, while MirrOlure’s suspends and lists 0-24 in.
Specs (linked variant)
Pros
- Slow-sinking 110 mm body with a Yo-Zuri-stated 1-2 ft diving depth
- Yo-Zuri describes it for grass flats, oyster bars and beach troughs
- SaltStrong names snook among the fish it is aimed at
- Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing
Cons
- SaltStrong’s review does not state the size, so it is graded as the same series
- SaltStrong lists the hooks as a con and the price as higher than most lures
- Hook size and saltwater rating are not published
- Yo-Zuri’s own snook write-up covers a different bait
Who should buy it
Anglers fishing grass flats, oyster bars or beach troughs, the places Yo-Zuri describes for it, who want a slow-sinking twitchbait and accept the hook caveat.
- Linked variant: R1348 (110 mm), Real Anchovy (Amazon title: “YO-Zuri Salt Lure 3D Inshore Twitchbait (SS) 110mm Color Real Anchovy”)
- Length: 4-3/8 in (110 mm), per Yo-Zuri
- Weight: 1 oz (30 g), per Yo-Zuri
- Running depth: 1-2 ft (0.3-0.5 m), per Yo-Zuri
- Action: rolling and twitching, slow sinking, per Yo-Zuri
- Hooks: “Power Treble Hook”, size not published; saltwater rating not stated
- Sold on Amazon by: Amazon.com, at the time of writing
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
MirrOlure She Dog 83MR, Topwater Surface Walker
83MR-CRBK Chrome/Black · Surface
Anglers who want a 4 in walk-the-dog topwater from MirrOlure and accept that the snook tie rests on the Amazon listing and that its hooks are not described.
$14.10 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTCVerdict
A 4 in, 3/4 oz high-buoyancy walk-the-dog topwater, linked in the 83MR-CRBK Chrome/Black colour.
Evidence: Retailer review (sells it), not independent. Amazon listing description for this item: 83MR-CRBK She Dog 4 in (listing copy).
MirrOlure’s store page calls the She Dog a “Surface Walker” and lists the 83MR at 4 in and 3/4 oz. It says the She Dog “features twin “sonic fish calling” rattles” and that “High buoyancy allows great “walk-the-dog action” which anyone can master.” The maker’s page says “Both freshwater and saltwater game fish find this lure irresistible” and does not name snook. The snook tie is the Amazon listing’s description of this exact item: “The MirrOlure 83MR-CRBK She Dog 4-inches is a staple in most inshore saltwater tackle boxes. This high buoyancy lure makes for easy “walk-the-dog” action and is deadly when fishing for trophy class fish such as Trout, Snook, Striper, Tarpon and Redfish.” That is listing copy from a seller, so we class it as a retailer source. MirrOlure does not publish hook details on this page, so the hooks are not published.
Amazon showed this listing shipped by Amazon and sold by Hour Loop at the time of writing.
Overlap with the Rapala Skitter Walk: both are walk-the-dog topwaters. MirrOlure lists a 4 in, 3/4 oz bait and publishes no hook details; Rapala lists 4-3/8 in and 5/8 oz, two No. 2 hooks and “VMC® Perma Steel® Hooks and rugged, saltwater hardware”. The Skitter Walk is the one with an independent review.
Specs (linked variant)
Pros
- High-buoyancy 4 in surface walker with twin rattles, per MirrOlure
- The Amazon listing for this item names snook among the fish it is for
- MirrOlure says both freshwater and saltwater game fish take it
- Amazon shows it shipped by Amazon at the time of writing
Cons
- MirrOlure’s own page does not name snook; the snook tie comes from listing copy
- Hook type, size and saltwater rating are not published
- No independent test of this model found
- Sold by a third-party seller on Amazon at the time of writing
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a 4 in walk-the-dog topwater from MirrOlure and accept that the snook tie rests on the Amazon listing and that its hooks are not described.
- Linked variant: 83MR-CRBK, Chrome/Black (Amazon title: “Mirrolure 83MR-CRBK She Dog, 4-Inch, 3/4-Ounce, Chrome/Black”)
- Length: 4 in, per MirrOlure
- Weight: 3/4 oz, per MirrOlure
- Running depth: surface (listed as a “Surface Walker”)
- Action: walk-the-dog, high buoyancy, per MirrOlure
- Hooks: not published; saltwater rating not stated
- Sold on Amazon by: Hour Loop (third-party seller, shipped by Amazon), at the time of writing
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Rapala Saltwater Skitter Walk SSW11, Topwater Walking Bait
Rapala Saltwater Skitter Walk SSW11
Anglers who want a topwater walker with published hook details and an independent review of the exact model, and who are ready to change the hooks if they prefer singles.
$13.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTCVerdict
A 4-3/8 in, 5/8 oz topwater walking bait with two No. 2 hooks, linked in the Mullet colour.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. SaltStrong: Rapala Saltwater Skitter Walk (4-3/8 in, 5/8 oz).
Rapala lists the Saltwater Skitter Walk SSW11 as topwater, 4-3/8 in, 5/8 oz, floating, with two No. 2 hooks. It says “Large internal rattles create a rhythmic side-to-side motion-and-sound combination that imitates swimming mullet or fleeing baitfish” and that the bait is “equipped with VMC® Perma Steel® Hooks and rugged, saltwater hardware”, which is the maker’s own saltwater statement. The Amazon listing title reads “Topwater Walking Bait, Inshore Hard Bait, Snook Redfish and Striper Lure, 4-3/8″”, and Rapala’s page itself does not name snook.
SaltStrong’s independent review covers both Rapala models and gives the saltwater model’s specs as “Running Depth: Topwater”, “Body Length: 4-3/8″”, “Weight: 5/8 oz” and “Hooks: Two #2 treble hooks”, matching Rapala. It wrote “Rapala has two different Skitter Walk models: the Skitter Walk and the Saltwater Skitter Walk.” Its reviewer added a caution: “I don’t like the treble hooks that come with either of the Skitter Walk lures, so I replace them with single hooks”. The review is from 2018, and its comment section includes readers who report the front hook tangling in the line. SaltStrong’s page does not discuss snook, so the snook tie is the Amazon listing title’s.
Amazon.com was the seller at the time of writing.
Overlap with the She Dog: both walk the dog on the surface. This one has the independent review and the published hook details.
Specs (linked variant)
Pros
- Floating topwater walker with published length, weight and hook size
- Rapala states the bait carries saltwater hardware and VMC Perma Steel hooks
- SaltStrong’s independent review covers the Saltwater Skitter Walk and its specs match Rapala’s
- Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing
Cons
- SaltStrong’s reviewer replaces the stock treble hooks with single hooks
- The review dates from 2018 and does not discuss snook
- Rapala’s own page does not name snook; the tie comes from the listing title
- Readers in SaltStrong’s comments report the front hook tangling in the line
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a topwater walker with published hook details and an independent review of the exact model, and who are ready to change the hooks if they prefer singles.
- Linked variant: SSW11, Mullet (Amazon first bullet: “Rapala Saltwater Skitter Walk: Body Length: 4-3/8″ ; Running Depth: Topwater ; Weight: 5/8 oz.; Color: Mullet”)
- Length: 4-3/8 in, per Rapala
- Weight: 5/8 oz, per Rapala
- Running depth: topwater, per Rapala
- Action: walk-the-dog with internal rattles, floating, per Rapala
- Hooks: two No. 2, VMC Perma Steel; Rapala says “VMC® Perma Steel® Hooks and rugged, saltwater hardware”
- Sold on Amazon by: Amazon.com, at the time of writing
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ, Paddle-Tail Swimbait
4 in New Penny · Not published
Anglers who want a paddle-tail soft plastic listed in Z-Man's Snook collection and who will choose their own jighead or hook.
$9.11 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTCVerdict
A 4 in paddle-tail swimbait in Z-Man’s ElaZtech plastic, sold without a hook, linked in New Penny.
Evidence: Retailer review (sells it), not independent. Z-Man product page (maker): DieZel MinnowZ, 4 in to 7 in sizes.
Z-Man describes the DieZel MinnowZ as having “Bulletproof 10X Tough ElaZtech® construction, a lifelike profile with scale pattern and dorsal fin detail, vibrant swimming action”, in 4, 5, 6 and 7 in sizes, and calls it “a must-have for any angler, fresh or salt!” Z-Man lists it in its Snook collection. It also says that “fresh- and saltwater anglers alike will find that the hook slot and split dorsal fin provide easy weedless rigging and problem-free hooksets.” Z-Man’s 4 in size comes in a five-pack. The bait has no hook, no published weight and no published running depth, because those depend on the jighead or hook you rig it on. The Amazon listing’s bullets say it “Pairs perfectly with Redfish Eye jig heads, 4/0 headlocks HD jig heads, and 4/0 EZ keeperz weighted hooks”.
Snook Snacks, a retailer, also lists the DieZel MinnowZ in its snook collection, which it introduces with “These snook lures have been proven time and again to produce trophy sized fish over the 40″ mark!” Both the maker and the retailer sell it, so we class this as retailer evidence, not an independent test.
Amazon showed this listing shipped by Amazon and sold by BIGFLY at the time of writing; the listing does not state the pack count, so check the page before you buy.
Overlap with the Jerk ShadZ: same maker and material, different tail. This is the paddle-tail; the Jerk ShadZ has a forked tail.
Specs (linked variant)
Pros
- ElaZtech paddle-tail body that Z-Man lists in its Snook collection
- Z-Man describes a molded hook slot and split dorsal fin for weedless rigging
- Z-Man says it is made for fresh or salt water
- Sold in 4, 5, 6 and 7 in sizes, so the size can be matched to the rig
Cons
- Sold without a hook or jighead, so you need to add and choose your own
- Weight and running depth are not published
- No independent test of this bait found; the evidence is the maker and a retailer
- Sold by a third-party seller on Amazon, and the pack count is not stated on the listing
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a paddle-tail soft plastic listed in Z-Man’s Snook collection and who will choose their own jighead or hook.
- Linked variant: 4 in, New Penny (Amazon title: “Z-MAN Diezel Minnow, 4″, New Penny”)
- Length: 4 in, per Z-Man
- Weight: not published
- Running depth: not published (depends on the rig)
- Action: paddle-tail swimming action, per Z-Man
- Hooks: none included (hook slot for weedless rigging); saltwater rating not applicable
- Sold on Amazon by: BIGFLY (third-party seller, shipped by Amazon), at the time of writing
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Z-Man Scented Jerk ShadZ, Forked-Tail Soft Plastic
5 in Electric Chicken · Not published
Anglers who want a scented soft jerkbait whose maker names snook and who are comfortable rigging their own hook or jighead.
$9.53 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTCVerdict
A 5 in scented forked-tail soft jerkbait in a five-pack, sold without a hook, linked in Electric Chicken.
Evidence: Retailer review (sells it), not independent. Z-Man product page (maker): Scented Jerk ShadZ, 3 in to 7 in sizes.
Z-Man calls the Scented Jerk ShadZ “Pro-Cure® Super Gel-infused, salt-impregnated, 10X Tough ElaZtech® superplastic forked tail soft jerkbaits” for fresh or salt water. Its page names snook in the sentence “Available in 3″, 3.5″, 4″, 5″, 6″, and 7″ sizes, this bait lineup lets you target everything from panfish and smallmouth to trophy largemouth, stripers, bull reds, tarpon, snook, pike, and musky by matching the hatch profile perfectly.” and says that “midsizes (4″–5″) are go-to patterns for bass, inshore species, and suspending fish”. For rigging, Z-Man says it can be “fished weightless for a slow, fluttering descent, rigged on a jighead for strolling/moping/jigging or even rigged on drop-shot and twitch setups”. Z-Man also lists it in its Snook collection. It has no hook, and Z-Man publishes no weight or running depth for it.
Snook Snacks, a retailer, lists the 5 in and 7 in sizes in its snook collection. As with the DieZel MinnowZ, the maker and the retailer both sell it, so the evidence is graded as retailer, not independent.
Amazon showed this listing sold by DepartureOutdoors at the time of writing.
Overlap with the DieZel MinnowZ: both are Z-Man ElaZtech baits that need a jighead or hook. This one is the scented forked-tail jerkbait; the DieZel is the paddle-tail swimbait.
Specs (linked variant)
Pros
- Scented ElaZtech forked-tail jerkbait whose Z-Man page names snook among the fish to target
- Z-Man describes weightless, jighead and drop-shot rigging options
- Listed in Z-Man’s Snook collection, and by a retailer in its snook collection
- Five baits to the pack
Cons
- Sold without a hook or jighead
- Weight and running depth are not published
- No independent test of this size found; the evidence is the maker and a retailer
- Sold by a third-party seller on Amazon at the time of writing
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a scented soft jerkbait whose maker names snook and who are comfortable rigging their own hook or jighead.
- Linked variant: 5 in, Electric Chicken, five-pack (Amazon title: “Z-Man SJS5-60PK5 Elaztech Jerk Shadz Scented Swimbait, 5″, Electric Chicken”)
- Length: 5 in, per Z-Man
- Weight: not published
- Running depth: not published (depends on the rig)
- Action: forked-tail jerkbait, fished weightless or on a jighead, per Z-Man
- Hooks: none included; saltwater rating not applicable
- Sold on Amazon by: DepartureOutdoors (third-party seller), at the time of writing
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
D.O.A. Shrimp, Pre-Rigged Soft Shrimp
3 in Near Clear · Not published
Anglers who want a pre-rigged soft shrimp from D.O.A.'s Snook Lures collection and who are comfortable with the maker's page and owner reports as the evidence.
$20.35 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:04 UTCVerdict
A 3 in, 1/4 oz pre-rigged soft shrimp sold in a three-pack, linked in Near Clear.
Evidence: Retailer review (sells it), not independent. D.O.A. 3 in Shrimp page (maker): D.O.A. 3 in Shrimp, colour list includes Near Clear.
D.O.A. calls its 3 in Shrimp “The ORIGINAL D.O.A. 3″ Shrimp” and says “The durability and versatility of D.O.A. Shrimp is still “the gold standard” in artificial lures.” It adds “3” shrimp weighs 1/4 oz; the 4″ shrimp weighs 1/2 oz.” D.O.A. sells it rigged in a three-pack, or as nine bodies with three hooks and three weights, lists Near Clear among the 3 in Shrimp colours, and lists the 3 in and 4 in Shrimp in its Snook Lures collection. Hook size and saltwater rating, and a running depth, are not published on the page we read. The linked Amazon item is titled “DOA FSH3-3P/312 Shrimp 3” Near Clear 3Pk”, and the listing gives the colour as Near Clear and the size as 3 Inch (Pack of 3). The listing shows an item weight of 3.04 ounces, which does not match D.O.A.’s 1/4 oz per shrimp; we use D.O.A.’s.
For owner evidence, a poster on r/Fishing wrote “DOA Shrimp in Glow/Gold Rush. Grew up fishing SW FL and have caught hundreds of snook on that lure. Skip it under some mangroves or a dock, twitch it twice, pause…Will catch snook”. That poster names Glow/Gold Rush, a different colour from the Near Clear linked here, does not say which size, and it is one account, not a test. A second poster in the thread wrote that they “ALSO used a DOA to land hundreds on it too!” without naming a colour. Snook Snacks, a retailer, lists the D.O.A. Shrimp in its snook collection.
Amazon showed this listing shipped by Amazon and sold by NightGalaxy at the time of writing, with only a few left in stock.
Overlap with the Z-Man soft plastics: this one comes rigged, while the Z-Man baits are sold without a hook and are matched to your own jighead.
Specs (linked variant)
Pros
- Pre-rigged 3 in shrimp that D.O.A. lists in its Snook Lures collection
- D.O.A. states a weight for the 3 in size (1/4 oz)
- A poster on r/Fishing wrote that the D.O.A. Shrimp, in another colour, has caught hundreds of snook for them
- Snook Snacks, a retailer, also lists the D.O.A. Shrimp in its snook collection
Cons
- No independent test found; the evidence is the maker’s page and owner reports for another colour
- Hook size, saltwater rating and running depth are not published
- The Amazon listing’s weight (3.04 ounces) does not match D.O.A.’s 1/4 oz per shrimp
- Sold by a third-party seller on Amazon, with only a few left in stock at the time of writing
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a pre-rigged soft shrimp from D.O.A.’s Snook Lures collection and who are comfortable with the maker’s page and owner reports as the evidence.
- Linked variant: FSH3-3P/312, 3 in Near Clear, three-pack (Amazon title: “DOA FSH3-3P/312 Shrimp 3” Near Clear 3Pk”)
- Length: 3 in, per D.O.A.
- Weight: 1/4 oz, per D.O.A. (the Amazon listing shows 3.04 ounces)
- Running depth: not published
- Action: not published
- Hooks: sold rigged; hook size and saltwater rating not published by D.O.A. (the Amazon listing gives the hook type as J hook)
- Sold on Amazon by: NightGalaxy (third-party seller, shipped by Amazon), at the time of writing
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Choosing an Artificial Bait for Snook: Topwater, Hard Baits and Soft Plastics
Match the bait type to the water
The Fort Myers charter company’s blog ties bait type to depth. For shallow water it lists “a topwater plug, soft plastic jerk baits, and hard plastic suspending twitch baits”. For “2-5 ft in-depth” it says “try jigs, bucktails, swimbaits, and small lipped crankbaits”, and for “5ft and deeper” it lists “heavy jigs/bucktails, swimbaits, and large lipped crankbaits”. It is one charter company’s view, not a test. Of the eight picks, the She Dog and Skitter Walk are topwater, the MirrOdine, X-Rap and Yo-Zuri are hard baits with published depths, and the three soft plastics need a jighead or hook whose weight you choose.
Hooks and saltwater hardware
Of the five makers here, Rapala is the one that states its hooks are built for saltwater. Rapala says the X-Rap Saltwater is “Built to withstand saltwater fisheries with Perma Steel 3X hooks” and the Skitter Walk has “VMC® Perma Steel® Hooks and rugged, saltwater hardware”. MirrOlure says “extra strong hooks” for the MirrOdine, and Yo-Zuri lists a “Power Treble Hook”; neither states a saltwater rating. SaltStrong lists the Yo-Zuri’s hooks as a con, its Skitter Walk reviewer replaces the stock trebles with single hooks, and its MirrOdine review calls the stock trebles “sharp and work well” while warning that they snag on structure. Florida’s FWC page lists “Allowable Gear: Hook and line only”, and tells anglers to check the current rules for the area they fish; see the rules question below.
Rigging the soft plastics
Z-Man sells the DieZel MinnowZ and Scented Jerk ShadZ without hooks. Z-Man says the Jerk ShadZ can be fished weightless, on a jighead or on a drop-shot, and the Amazon listing for the DieZel MinnowZ names Redfish Eye jig heads and 4/0 weighted hooks as pairings. D.O.A. sells its 3 in Shrimp rigged, or as bodies, hooks and weights. Because weight and depth come from the rig, makers publish none for the soft baits, and the table says so.
Night, season and structure
Yo-Zuri’s own blog has a fall snook article that says “Snook are very active at night throughout all phases of the moon” and “for a large percentage of anglers Snook fishing is a night or pre-dawn game”. It focuses on bridges and jetties and, for the fall, names Yo-Zuri’s own baits, not the twitchbait in this guide. The Fort Myers charter company writes that “you will not find them in the same spot in the summer (beaches and passes) as you did in the winter (20+ feet below the water in canals, rivers, and estuaries).”
Rules for keeping snook: what FWC says
We are not giving legal advice. The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s snook page says “Regulations apply in all inland, state and adjacent federal waters.” It lists closed seasons, slot limits and bag limits by region; for the Panhandle region it shows “Closed Season: December 1 – end of February, and May 1 – August 31”, “Slot Limit: Not less than 28” or more than 33” total length” and “Bag Limit: One fish per person per day”. It also lists “License Requirements: Snook permit and recreational fishing license.” and adds: “NOTE: Prior to purchasing a snook permit, check current regulations in the area you plan to fish.” Read the FWC snook page for your region before you fish.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What is the best artificial bait for snook?
There is no single answer in the sources we read. A charter company lists topwater plugs, soft plastic jerk baits and suspending twitch baits for shallow water, posters on r/Fishing name different baits, and the makers’ depth ranges and bait types differ. Start from where you will fish and whether you want a topwater, a hard bait or a soft plastic, then choose among the baits above whose evidence you are comfortable with.
Q. What do snook eat?
The Fort Myers charter company writes that “snook generally feeds on small fish, shrimp, and crabs” and that they “primarily like to ambush and consume baitfish”. That is why the picks here imitate baitfish and shrimp.
Q. What time of day do snook bite?
The charter company writes that “snook will feed at any time of day or night (especially big snook)”. Yo-Zuri’s snook article adds that “Snook are very active at night throughout all phases of the moon”.
Q. What are the best lures for snook off the beach?
None of the sources we read names a lure for snook on the beach. Yo-Zuri describes its 3D Inshore Twitchbait for “working troughs along the beach” without naming snook; the charter company says you can fish for snook “from the beach, bridges, piers, jetties, and around the mangrove shorelines”, and Yo-Zuri’s snook article describes pencil baits and a swimming plug at bridges and jetties during the fall mullet run.
Q. Do artificial baits work for snook and redfish?
Several makers name both. MirrOlure lists “Trout, Redfish, Snook, Striped Bass and Tarpon” for the MirrOdine, and the Amazon listings for the X-Rap and Skitter Walk name snook and redfish together. A poster in the r/Fishing thread wrote that the D.O.A. Shrimp, in Glow/Gold Rush rather than the Near Clear linked here, caught “hundreds of snook” for them.
Q. Can I use soft plastics instead of hard baits for snook?
Z-Man lists the DieZel MinnowZ and Scented Jerk ShadZ in its Snook collection and D.O.A. lists its Shrimp in a Snook Lures collection. One r/Fishing poster wrote “3”-8″ Paddletails and soft plastic shrimps have been really reliable baits for me in all circumstances.” The soft baits need a hook or jighead (Z-Man) or come rigged (D.O.A.). That is one poster, not a test.
Q. Are there rules for keeping a snook in Florida?
FWC publishes closed seasons, slot limits and bag limits by region, and says “Prior to purchasing a snook permit, check current regulations in the area you plan to fish.” We are not giving legal advice; read the FWC snook page for your region.
The bottom line
Final Verdict
Choose the kind of bait first, then the evidence. For a small suspending twitchbait that its maker names for snook, the MirrOlure MirrOdine 17MR (check price) lists a 0-24 in depth; the Rapala X-Rap Saltwater SXR10 (check price) suspends with a 4-6 ft rating and hooks Rapala says are built for saltwater; the Yo-Zuri 3D Inshore Twitchbait SS 110 (check price) sinks slowly with a 1-2 ft rating. For topwater, the Rapala Saltwater Skitter Walk SSW11 (check price) has an independent review of the exact model and published hook details, while the MirrOlure She Dog 83MR (check price) rests on the maker’s specs and Amazon listing copy. For soft plastics, the Z-Man DieZel MinnowZ (check price) and the Z-Man Scented Jerk ShadZ (check price) are sold without hooks, and the D.O.A. Shrimp (check price) comes rigged and rests on D.O.A.’s own page plus owner reports for another colour. Each review shows how strong its evidence is.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
