Best Rucking Backpacks with Weights for 2026, Compared

22 min read

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read our affiliate disclosure.

The short answer

The GORUCK Rucker 4.0, 20L, Black is GORUCK’s training pack with elevated plate pockets rated for up to 75 lb of Ruck Plates; the Hyperwear Hyper Ruck, 20L, 27 lb FlexLoad bundle, Black comes with its weights in the box; and the Polyfit Rucking Starter Kit, 10 lb plate, Black is the budget-tier way to get a pack and a plate together.

Our verdict

Rucking Backpack Top Picks

Rucking is walking with weight on your back, and a rucking backpack is built to hold that weight high and still: a padded pocket or sleeve sized for a flat weight plate, so the load does not slide to the bottom of the bag. Every pack here either has such a plate pocket or comes with weights in the box, per its maker, and each review says which plate it takes and whether one is included.

Nine packs from seven brands made the list, and two of them (Hyperwear and Polyfit) ship with weights. Each link opens the exact model, size and colour we describe. For more pack and footwear guides, see our hiking, footwear and pack guides.

Rucking pack finder

Find a rucking backpack for how you'll ruck

Pick how you'll ruck and a price tier. The suggestion is our editorial starting point among the nine packs below, drawn from each maker's stated specs, not a test result.

How will you ruck?
Price tier

Tiers are relative to the packs in this guide; live prices are in the comparison table below.

Picks: GORUCK Rucker 4.0, Hyperwear Hyper Ruck, Polyfit Starter Kit, GORUCK Basic Rucker, GORUCK Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0, RuckBuddy RuckPack, Frontline Athletic Trailblazer, Ruc Fit Ruc Pack, Wolf Tactical

Compare the picks

Compare the 9 Rucking Backpacks

Every row is the variant our Amazon link opens, with capacity where the maker or the brand’s listing states one. Figures are the maker’s, or the brand’s own Amazon listing where we found no maker page. Makers state max load differently (plate weight only, or total), so read it per pack, not across packs.

GORUCK Rucker 4.0, Weighted Rucking Backpack, Military…GORUCK Rucker 4.0 20LDual Plate Pocket RuckPlate training, eventsNo plates$255.00
Variant and capacity20L, Black
Plate fitGORUCK Ruck Plates in two elevated pockets
Max load75 lb of Ruck Plates (listing)
Hip beltSold separately

Evidence: Men's Health, Rucker 4.0 named inside its Rucker 5.0 entry; size not stated

HYPERWEAR® Rucking Backpack with Weights for Walking - 20L…Hyperwear Hyper Ruck 27 lbComes With 27 lb PlatesWeights included, travel, hip belt27 lb FlexLoad plates$275.95
Variant and capacity20L, 27 lb bundle, Black
Plate fit3 sleeves of 15 x 11.5 x 1.4 in
Max load60 lb (maker)
Hip beltRemovable

Evidence: owner reports, no independent test

Polyfit Rucking Starter Kit - Rucking Backpack with 10lb…Polyfit Starter KitKit With 10 lb PlateWeights included, beginners10 lb plate$109.99
Variant and capacityBlack; liters not published
Plate fit10 x 12 in plates (side-loading)
Max load40 lb (maker)
Hip beltNo (support straps)

Evidence: Polyfit customer review (a retailer), not independent

GORUCK Basic Rucker® 17L, Tactical Backpack, MOLLE…GORUCK Basic Rucker 17LSingle Plate Pocket RuckPlate training, beginnersNo plates$155.00
Variant and capacity17L, Black
Plate fitStandard Ruck Plate up to 30 lb (one pocket)
Max load30 lb plate (maker)

Evidence: Thad Forester, 17L reviewed October 2025, before GORUCK's 20 mm lumbar update; GORUCK affiliate

GORUCK Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0 Weighted Rucking Backpack…GORUCK Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0Minimal Plate HarnessPlate only, workoutsNo plates$115.00
Variant and capacityStandard, Black; liters not published
Plate fitStandard Ruck Plate up to 30 lb
Max load30 lb plate (listing)

Evidence: Climbing Indoors, size not stated (used a 20 lb plate); GORUCK sent the pack

RuckBuddy RuckPack, 25L Weighted Rucking Backpack with…RuckBuddy RuckPack 25L25L Pack With Hip BeltCargo, hip beltNo plates$139.99
Variant and capacity25L, Black
Plate fitLong and short pockets (16 x 12.5 in; 12.5 x 10 in)
Max loadNot published
Hip beltRemovable, padded

Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test

Frontline Athletic Trailblazer 14L Women's Rucking Backpack…Frontline Trailblazer 14LWomen's 14L RuckWomen, hip beltNo plates$175.00
Variant and capacity14L, Midnight Black
Plate fitTwo pockets for 10-45 lb and 10-15 lb plates
Max loadNot published
Hip beltIncluded

Evidence: owner reports, no independent test

Ruc Pack | Rucking Backpack for Walking & Strength Training…Ruc Fit Ruc PackRound-Plate Urban PackUrban walks, compact, hip beltNo plates$99.00
Variant and capacityGray; 6.38 liters (listing)
Plate fitUp to 3 round plates (9 in max diameter)
Max loadMaker: three 10 lb plates; listing: 25 lb
Hip beltRemovable

Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test

WOLF TACTICAL Men’s Weighted Backpack - Rucking Backpack…Wolf Tactical Rucking Backpack10 x 12 Plate MOLLE PackBudget, mOLLENo plates$63.99
Variant and capacityBlack; 12 liters (listing)
Plate fit10 x 12 in plates
Max load40 lb (maker)
Hip beltNone listed

Evidence: Wolf Tactical customer review (a retailer), not independent

Prices as of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

How We Sorted These Packs

How this guide was built

built from manufacturer documentation, the brands’ own Amazon listings, published third-party reviews and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.

What a pack needed to make this list

  • A plate pocket or weights in the box, per the maker. A general backpack you could drop a plate into did not count.
  • The plate it takes, stated in the maker’s words, or “not published”.
  • Stocked on Amazon in the exact variant, sold by the brand’s own storefront at our check on October 30, 2026.
  • Distinct roles. Polyfit sells its backpack alone and in a kit with a plate; we list only the kit.
Sources and how independent they are and what r/Rucking posters say about packs

Sources and how independent they are

Specs come from each maker’s page, linked in its review, or the brand’s Amazon listing for the Rucker 4.0 (no longer on GORUCK’s site) and RuckBuddy (no website found). Independent coverage is thin outside GORUCK: Men’s Health comments on the Rucker 4.0, Climbing Indoors used the Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0 (GORUCK sent it), and Thad Forester, a GORUCK affiliate, reviewed the Basic Rucker. For Hyperwear and Frontline we cite owner posts on r/Rucking; for Polyfit and Wolf Tactical, customer reviews hosted on the makers’ own stores, which sell the packs. RuckBuddy and Ruc Fit rest on the brands’ specs alone.

What r/Rucking posters say about packs

In the two r/Rucking threads that rank for this search, GORUCK comes up again and again. One poster wrote “The standard answer is a GORUCK Rucker with plates.” Price is the usual objection: one poster saved “by getting Yes4all plates off of amazon instead of the goruck plates,” and others point to surplus ALICE and MOLLE packs.

Rucking Backpacks with Weights: Detailed Reviews

GORUCK Rucker 4.0, 20L, Dual Plate Pocket Ruck

Dual Plate Pocket Ruck
GORUCK Rucker 4.0, Weighted Rucking Backpack, Military…

GORUCK Rucker 4.0 20L

20L, Black · GORUCK Ruck Plates in two elevated pockets

Ruckers who train with GORUCK plates several times a week and want room to add weight past 30 lb.

$255.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Verdict

GORUCK’s previous-generation training ruck, with elevated plate pockets rated by GORUCK for up to 75 lb of Ruck Plates; GORUCK’s own site now sells the Rucker 5.0, while Amazon carries the 4.0.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Men’s Health: Rucker 4.0, size not stated.

No plate is included. GORUCK’s Amazon listing says the “elevated Ruck Plate pockets keep the weights from bouncing around the bottom of your bag, and lets you scale up to 75LBs of Ruck Plates (we recommend starting 20LB).” It does not give pocket dimensions. The listing adds a built-in frame sheet, raised lumbar padding and a 210D Cordura back panel, and says the pack is “Compatible with our hip belt (sold separately).”

Men’s Health names the newer Rucker 5.0 its best overall, and within that entry writes: “We found the Rucker 4.0 to be intentionally designed at every level and, if anything, overbuilt, which is perfect for a pack you’ll lug heavy-weighted plates in.” It does not say which size; the entry, written for the 5.0, lists “Hip belt not included” as a con, and GORUCK’s 4.0 listing also sells the belt separately. On r/Rucking, a poster who says they have rucked “over 1000 miles” wrote: “The Rucker 4.0 with two plate compartments was perfect.”

Rucker 4.0 or Basic Rucker? The Rucker 4.0 has two plate pockets and a 75 lb rating at the premium tier; the Basic Rucker has one pocket for a plate up to 30 lb at the mid-range tier.

Specs (linked: 20L, Black with black embroidery)

    Pros

    • Two elevated plate pockets rated by GORUCK for up to 75 lb of Ruck Plates
    • Built-in frame sheet and raised lumbar padding, per GORUCK
    • Men’s Health calls the 4.0 “overbuilt”

    Cons

    • Premium price tier, and the hip belt costs extra
    • Previous generation: GORUCK’s own site now sells the Rucker 5.0

    Who should buy it

    Ruckers who train with GORUCK plates several times a week and want room to add weight past 30 lb.

    Check on Amazon

    • Weights included: no; GORUCK Ruck Plates sold separately
    • Plate pockets: two, elevated, up to 75 lb of Ruck Plates (GORUCK listing “pockets”; an owner reports two); size not published
    • Capacity: 20L (GORUCK listing)
    • Hip belt: sold separately (GORUCK listing)
    • Weight: 1.72 kg (per the Amazon listing)
    • Warranty: GORUCK says “all GORUCK gear comes with our Scars Lifetime Guarantee”
    • Seller: GORUCK’s storefront on Amazon at our check
    • Price tier: $$$ (live Amazon price in the table above)

    Hyperwear Hyper Ruck 20L with 27 lb FlexLoad plates, Comes With 27 lb Plates

    Comes With 27 lb Plates

    Verdict

    A 20L rucking and everyday pack sold as a bundle with 27 lb of Hyperwear’s flexible FlexLoad plates, at the premium tier.

    Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/Rucking Hyper Ruck review thread: Hyper Ruck, bundle not stated.

    This pick comes with weights: the linked variant is the 27 lb bundle, one of “seven bundle options: Empty for plates you already own, or 9 / 10 / 18 / 20 / 27 / 30 lb,” per Hyperwear’s listing. The FlexLoad plates “bend to fit your back, keep weight tight to your spine, and adjust in 0.5 lb increments,” and “Standard weight plates fit too.”

    Hyperwear’s page lists three padded “Laptop / Weight Plate Sleeves – 15” Tall x 11.5” Wide x 1.4” Deep” that also take “Yes4All®, Goruck® or other cast iron ruck plates (check dimensions),” a “Max Recommended Capacity – 60 lbs” (the Amazon details table says 65 pounds; we use the maker’s figure), a firm HDPE frame sheet, 1000D nylon, a removable waist strap, six handles and a MOLLE panel.

    On r/Rucking, a poster who reviewed it called it “a solid Goruck competitor,” and the same poster, who bought one, added that “The waist belt is definitely not as wide as Rucker 4.0.” Another, judging from photos, thought “the backpack straps are super close together.” None says which bundle.

    Hyper Ruck or Rucker 4.0? The Hyper Ruck comes with 27 lb of plates and a waist strap; the Rucker 4.0 needs plates and a belt bought separately, and GORUCK rates it for up to 75 lb of Ruck Plates, where Hyperwear gives 60 lb as its max recommended load.

    Specs (linked: 20L, 27 lb FlexLoad bundle, Black)

      Pros

      • Ships with 27 lb of flexible plates that adjust in 0.5 lb steps, per Hyperwear
      • Three padded sleeves that also take a laptop or cast iron ruck plates

      Cons

      • Premium price tier for the bundle
      • A poster found the waist belt narrower than the Rucker 4.0’s
      • Amazon showed limited stock at our check

      Who should buy it

      Buyers who want plates in the box and one bag for rucking, travel and the commute.

      Check on Amazon

      • Weights included: yes, 27 lb of FlexLoad plates
      • Plate sleeves: three, 15 x 11.5 x 1.4 in (Hyperwear)
      • Max recommended load: 60 lb (Hyperwear); 65 lb in the Amazon details table
      • Capacity: 20 liters (Hyperwear)
      • Bag weight: 4.0 lb (Hyperwear)
      • Hip belt: removable waist strap (Hyperwear)
      • Warranty: “Up to 2-Year Limited Warranty” (Hyperwear)
      • Seller: Hyperwear’s storefront on Amazon, shipped by Hyperwear, at our check
      • Price tier: $$$ (live Amazon price in the table above)

      Polyfit Rucking Starter Kit with 10 lb plate, Kit With 10 lb Plate

      Kit With 10 lb Plate
      Polyfit Rucking Starter Kit - Rucking Backpack with 10lb…

      Polyfit Starter Kit

      10 lb plate, Black · 10 x 12 in plates

      Beginners who want a pack and a first plate in one order at a budget tier.

      $109.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

      Verdict

      A budget-tier kit: Polyfit’s side-loading Rucking Backpack 2.0 plus a 10 lb plate, straps and a sternum strap, rated by Polyfit for up to 40 lb.

      Evidence: Retailer review (sells it), not independent. Polyfit customer review: Rucking Backpack 2.0 (the pack in this kit).

      This pick comes with a weight. Polyfit’s kit page lists “Polyfit Rucking Backpack 2.0, 10 lb Rucking Weight Plate, Removable Rucking Straps, Detachable Sternum Strap, Hang Loop.” The pack takes “Polyfit Weight Plates and standard 10″ x 12″ rucking plates,” loads from the side, and fits “One Size Fits Most (XS – LG)”; the Amazon listing warns that “On XL+ or tall frames, the fit may feel snug.” Polyfit publishes no capacity in liters or empty weight.

      On Polyfit’s own store, a buyer of the Backpack 2.0 (the pack in this kit) wrote: “It holds the three 10-lb plates I have perfectly, and doesn’t feel like it’s sliding around or going to break.” Another found their existing plates “turned out to be too big for the bag.” Ruck Authority, which did not test it, notes “No bladder sleeve or hose port.”

      Polyfit kit or Wolf Tactical? Both take 10 x 12 in plates up to 40 lb. The Polyfit kit includes a plate and loads from the side; the Wolf Tactical pack ships empty but adds MOLLE webbing and a zip pocket.

      Specs (linked: Black kit)

        Pros

        • Pack and a 10 lb plate in one box, per Polyfit
        • Side-loading plate pocket with an internal buckle, per the listing

        Cons

        • Built for plates, not storage, and no hose port, per Ruck Authority’s research
        • Polyfit says the fit may feel snug on XL or tall frames
        • The only owner reviews we quote are hosted by Polyfit, which sells it

        Who should buy it

        Beginners who want a pack and a first plate in one order at a budget tier.

        Check on Amazon

        • Weights included: yes, one 10 lb plate (Polyfit)
        • Plate fit: Polyfit plates and standard 10 x 12 in rucking plates (Polyfit)
        • Max load: up to 40 lb (Polyfit)
        • Size: one size fits most, XS to L (Polyfit)
        • Capacity: not published
        • Hip belt: none; removable rucking straps included (Polyfit)
        • Seller: Polyfit’s storefront on Amazon at our check
        • Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)

        GORUCK Basic Rucker 17L, Single Plate Pocket Ruck

        Single Plate Pocket Ruck
        GORUCK Basic Rucker® 17L, Tactical Backpack, MOLLE…

        GORUCK Basic Rucker 17L

        17L, Black · Standard Ruck Plate up to 30 lb

        New ruckers who will stay at or under one 30 lb plate and want a small bag for water and a layer.

        $155.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

        Verdict

        GORUCK’s Ripstop Robic training ruck with one elevated pocket for a Standard plate up to 30 lb, at the mid-range tier.

        Evidence: Independently reviewed, previous generation. Thad Forester: 17L, 2025 version.

        No plate is included. GORUCK’s page says it will “Comfortably carry a standard-length 10, 20, or 30lb Ruck Plate® (or a 20+10),” and for a 45 lb plate, “size up to a Rucker® 5.0.” It comes in 17L and 14L: “If you’re 5’10” or under, go with the 14L.” GORUCK lists 210D Cordura on the back panel, “20MM RAISED LUMBAR SUPPORT,” a side bottle pocket, a hydration port and a reflective strip; the listing adds MOLLE webbing. No hip belt is mentioned.

        Thad Forester reviewed the 17L in October 2025, before GORUCK added the 20 mm lumbar padding and the 14L size, and wrote: “If you’re looking for a minimalist yet durable ruck for training, this one delivers exactly what you need—nothing more, nothing less.” He is a GORUCK affiliate.

        Basic Rucker or Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0? Both take one Standard plate up to 30 lb. The Basic Rucker adds a 17L bag for water and a layer at the mid-range tier; the Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0 is built to carry the plate, at the budget tier.

        Specs (linked: 17L, Black)

          Pros

          • Side bottle pocket, hydration port, reflective strip and 20 mm raised lumbar padding, per GORUCK

          Cons

          • One plate pocket and a 30 lb plate ceiling
          • The review we cite covers the earlier version, before the lumbar update

          Who should buy it

          New ruckers who will stay at or under one 30 lb plate and want a small bag for water and a layer.

          Check on Amazon

          • Weights included: no
          • Plate pocket: one, for a 10, 20 or 30 lb Standard Ruck Plate, or 20 + 10 (GORUCK)
          • Capacity: 17L (GORUCK); 14L also sold, 2 in shorter
          • Dimensions: 12 x 18 x 6 in (GORUCK listing)
          • Hip belt: not listed
          • Weight: 0.97 kg (per the Amazon listing)
          • Warranty: GORUCK’s Scars Lifetime Guarantee (GORUCK)
          • Seller: GORUCK’s storefront on Amazon at our check
          • Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)

          GORUCK Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0, Standard, Minimal Plate Harness

          Minimal Plate Harness
          GORUCK Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0 Weighted Rucking Backpack…

          GORUCK Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0

          Standard, Black · Standard Ruck Plate up to 30 lb

          Ruckers who carry only a plate and want a harness for workouts and short loaded walks.

          $115.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

          Verdict

          A stripped-down harness for one Standard Ruck Plate, built for workouts as much as walks, at the budget tier of this guide.

          Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Climbing Indoors: Plate Carrier 3.0, size not stated.

          No plate is included. GORUCK says the Standard size “is ideal for carrying 10 lb, 20 lb, or 30 lb Standard Ruck Plates®”; a Long size, not linked, takes Long plates. It uses 1050D Ballistic Cordura, 210D high-tenacity Cordura against the skin, “An extra 10mm of EVA foam padding at the bottom of the back panel,” and 1 in of padding at the top. GORUCK’s listing calls it “a stripped-down ruck backpack made for one job: carrying weight,” and its advice is “When in doubt, start with 20LBS.”

          Climbing Indoors used it, size not stated, with a 20 lb plate (a Standard plate size; GORUCK sent the pack) and wrote: “The pack handles weight like a champ, and does an outstanding job keeping the pack tight to your body.” The same review found “the placement of the chest straps is a pain to modify.”

          Specs (linked: Standard, Black)

            Pros

            • Minimal harness that keeps one Standard plate high, per GORUCK
            • Smooth 210D Cordura against the skin for shirtless rucks, per GORUCK
            • Climbing Indoors found it held the pack tight to the body

            Cons

            • Built to carry the plate, not gear, per GORUCK
            • Climbing Indoors found the chest strap hard to reposition
            • Sized for GORUCK Standard plates (9 x 11.5 in, per Ruck Authority); GORUCK does not list 10 x 12 in plates

            Who should buy it

            Ruckers who carry only a plate and want a harness for workouts and short loaded walks.

            Check on Amazon

            • Weights included: no
            • Plate fit: 10, 20 or 30 lb Standard Ruck Plate (GORUCK)
            • Materials: 1050D Ballistic Cordura; 210D HT Cordura on the back panel (GORUCK)
            • Lumbar: extra 10 mm EVA foam (GORUCK)
            • Cargo capacity and weight: not published
            • Warranty: GORUCK’s SCARS Lifetime Promise (GORUCK listing)
            • Seller: GORUCK’s storefront on Amazon at our check
            • Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)

            RuckBuddy RuckPack 25L, 25L Pack With Hip Belt

            25L Pack With Hip Belt
            RuckBuddy RuckPack, 25L Weighted Rucking Backpack with…

            RuckBuddy RuckPack 25L

            25L, Black · Long and short pockets

            Ruckers who want a hip belt and room for gear around their plates.

            $139.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

            Verdict

            A 25L pack with long and short plate pockets, a removable padded hip belt and four grab handles, at the mid-range tier, documented only by the brand’s Amazon listing.

            Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: RuckBuddy’s Amazon listing.

            No plate is included (“Weight plates sold separately”). We found no RuckBuddy website, so every figure is from the brand’s Amazon listing: a “long pocket 16 x 12.5 in, short pocket 12.5 x 10 in,” a “25L main compartment,” outside dimensions of “20.9 x 12 x 6.3 in (H x W x D),” a “REMOVABLE PADDED HIP BELT FOR HEAVY LOADS,” “four reinforced grab handles,” a hose port and MOLLE panels. It lists 3.7 pounds and no maximum load.

            RuckBuddy or Rucker 4.0? Both have two plate pockets. The RuckBuddy adds a hip belt and a listed 25L at the mid-range tier, but publishes no load rating; the Rucker 4.0 has a 75 lb rating, a lifetime guarantee and owner reports, at the premium tier.

            Specs (linked: 25L, Black)

              Pros

              • Room for gear around the plates, with four grab handles, a hose port and MOLLE panels, per the listing

              Cons

              • No website, independent review or owner report found to back the listing

              Who should buy it

              Ruckers who want a hip belt and room for gear around their plates.

              Check on Amazon

              • Weights included: no
              • Plate pockets: long 16 x 12.5 in, short 12.5 x 10 in (RuckBuddy listing)
              • Capacity: 25L main compartment (RuckBuddy listing)
              • Hip belt: removable, padded (RuckBuddy listing)
              • Weight: 3.7 lb (RuckBuddy listing)
              • Max load and warranty: not published
              • Seller: RuckBuddy’s storefront on Amazon at our check
              • Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)

              Frontline Athletic Trailblazer 14L Women’s, Women’s 14L Ruck

              Women's 14L Ruck
              Frontline Athletic Trailblazer 14L Women's Rucking Backpack…

              Frontline Trailblazer 14L

              14L, Midnight Black · Two pockets for 10-45 lb and 10-15 lb plates

              Women who found unisex rucks sit wrong on the shoulders or hips, including those training for DEKA-style events.

              $175.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

              Verdict

              A women-specific 14L ruck with two staggered plate pockets, a hip belt and a sternum strap included, at the mid-range tier.

              Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/Rucking Trailblazer vs Yomp post: Trailblazer, colour not stated.

              No plate is included. Frontline Athletic lists “Two staggered weighted plate pockets” (“Large pocket accommodates 10–45 lb universal plates”; “Small pocket accommodates 10–15 lb wide plates”), plus “Women-specific ergonomic shoulder straps,” a 1000D Cordura exterior, laser-cut MOLLE, a bladder D-ring and “Hip belt and sternum strap included.” It measures 17 x 11 x 3.5 in; the Amazon listing gives 2.6 pounds.

              On r/Rucking, a poster who bought one after using a Yomp pack for DEKA events wrote: “It’s designed for women, so the straps sit where they should and it doesn’t give me a headache when I wear it,” and “even with 20lbs in it, I can almost forget it’s there!” The poster does not say which colour.

              Trailblazer or Basic Rucker? The Trailblazer has women-specific straps, two pockets and an included hip belt; the Basic Rucker is unisex with one pocket, no belt listed and GORUCK’s lifetime guarantee.

              Specs (linked: 14L, Midnight Black)

                Pros

                • Shoulder straps shaped for women, per Frontline Athletic

                Cons

                • 14L leaves little room for bulky layers
                • Only one owner account found, and no independent test

                Who should buy it

                Women who found unisex rucks sit wrong on the shoulders or hips, including those training for DEKA-style events.

                Check on Amazon

                • Weights included: no
                • Plate pockets: large for 10-45 lb universal plates; small for 10-15 lb wide plates (Frontline Athletic)
                • Capacity: 14L; 17 x 11 x 3.5 in (Frontline Athletic)
                • Hip belt: included, with sternum strap (Frontline Athletic)
                • Weight: 2.6 lb (per the Amazon listing)
                • Warranty: not stated on the product page
                • Seller: Frontline Athletic’s storefront on Amazon at our check
                • Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)

                Ruc Fit Ruc Pack, Round-Plate Urban Pack

                Round-Plate Urban Pack
                Ruc Pack | Rucking Backpack for Walking & Strength Training…

                Ruc Fit Ruc Pack

                Gray · Up to 3 round plates

                City walkers who own small round plates and want a pack that, per Ruc Fit, "blends in like a regular backpack."

                $99.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

                Verdict

                A slim pack that stacks up to three standard round plates in tiered sleeves, at the budget tier, for loaded walks around town.

                Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Ruc Fit product page and Amazon listing.

                No plate is included, though Ruc Fit sells 5 lb and 10 lb plates as add-ons. Ruc Fit says it takes “standard weight plates up to 10 lbs each with a maximum plate diameter of 9 inches” and that its sleeves “hold up to three standard 10 lb round plates.” The Amazon listing instead says “PROGRESSIVE LOADING UP TO 25 LBS,” with plates up to 0.75 in thick, so the two give different totals. Ruc Fit lists 10.25 x 13 x 1.5 in, 1.6 lb (the listing says 1.2 pounds), 1000D Cordura, a front zipper for plate access, a sternum strap and a removable hip belt.

                Ruc Pack or Polyfit kit? Both are budget packs built around the plate. The Ruc Pack takes standard round plates you may already own and has a hip belt; the Polyfit kit takes 10 x 12 in plates and includes one.

                Specs (linked: Gray)

                  Pros

                  • Uses standard round plates up to 9 in across, per Ruc Fit
                  • Slim 1.5 in profile with a front zipper for plate access

                  Cons

                  • Maker and listing disagree on the maximum load
                  • Little room for anything but plates and small items
                  • No independent review or owner reports found

                  Who should buy it

                  City walkers who own small round plates and want a pack that, per Ruc Fit, “blends in like a regular backpack.”

                  Check on Amazon

                  • Weights included: no; Ruc Fit sells 5 and 10 lb plates separately
                  • Plate fit: up to three round plates, 10 lb each, 9 in max diameter (Ruc Fit)
                  • Max load: three 10 lb plates (Ruc Fit); “up to 25 lbs” (listing)
                  • Dimensions: 10.25 x 13 x 1.5 in (Ruc Fit); 6.38 liters (per the Amazon listing)
                  • Weight: 1.6 lb (Ruc Fit)
                  • Hip belt: removable (Ruc Fit)
                  • Warranty: not stated on the product page
                  • Seller: Ruc Fit’s storefront on Amazon at our check
                  • Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)

                  Wolf Tactical Weighted Rucking Backpack, 10 x 12 Plate MOLLE Pack

                  10 x 12 Plate MOLLE Pack
                  WOLF TACTICAL Men’s Weighted Backpack - Rucking Backpack…

                  Wolf Tactical Rucking Backpack

                  Black · 10 x 12 in plates

                  Budget buyers with 10 x 12 in plates who want MOLLE webbing and a spot for keys.

                  $63.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

                  Verdict

                  A budget-tier plate pack for 10 x 12 in plates up to 40 lb, with MOLLE webbing and a zip pocket.

                  Evidence: Retailer review (sells it), not independent. Wolf Tactical customer review: Weighted Backpack Plate Carrier, Multicam Black.

                  No plate is included. Wolf Tactical says it fits “our flat or curved WOLF TACTICAL Weight Vest Plates (available separately)” and “any standard 10×12 cast iron ruck plates up to 40lbs.” It is made of 600D Oxford polyester, with laser-cut MOLLE webbing, “a discreet zippered pocket under the front flap” and adjustable shoulder and chest straps; no hip belt is listed. Wolf Tactical notes that its products “are not body armor and provide no ballistic protection.”

                  On Wolf Tactical’s own store, which sells it, one buyer (of the Multicam Black colour) wrote: “I kept having problems with rucking because my pack would always sag and hurt my lower back. I bought this pack, and that problem is gone.” Others on the same page were less sure: one wanted something around the waist, and another, who also owns a GORUCK, said the “shoulder pads aren’t nearly as good as my other.”

                  Wolf Tactical or Ruc Pack? Both are budget packs sold empty. Wolf Tactical takes 10 x 12 in plates up to 40 lb and has MOLLE but no hip belt listed; the Ruc Pack takes round plates up to 9 in across and includes a removable hip belt.

                  Specs (linked: Black)

                    Pros

                    • Takes standard 10 x 12 in plates up to 40 lb, per Wolf Tactical
                    • Laser-cut MOLLE and a zip pocket under the flap

                    Cons

                    • No hip belt, which one maker-hosted reviewer missed
                    • A maker-hosted reviewer rated its shoulder pads below a GORUCK’s

                    Who should buy it

                    Budget buyers with 10 x 12 in plates who want MOLLE webbing and a spot for keys.

                    Check on Amazon

                    • Weights included: no
                    • Plate fit: standard 10 x 12 in cast iron plates or Wolf Tactical vest plates (Wolf Tactical)
                    • Max load: 40 lb (Wolf Tactical)
                    • Material: 600D Oxford polyester (Wolf Tactical)
                    • Capacity: 12 liters (per the Amazon listing)
                    • Hip belt: none listed
                    • Warranty: “Limited lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship, for the life of the product while owned by the original purchaser” (Wolf Tactical)
                    • Seller: Wolf Tactical USA’s storefront on Amazon at our check
                    • Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)

                    How to Choose the Best Pack for Rucking with Weights

                    Start from the plate: check what you will carry, then pick the pack around it.

                    Plate pocket and plate size

                    Plates are not one size. Per Ruck Authority, “GORUCK Standard plates have a 9 by 11.5 inch footprint. Long plates use 9.5 by 15 inches.” The table’s Plate fit column gives the plate each pack takes. Measure plates you already own. A poster on r/Rucking who started in a 5.11 RUSH said its extra room “means the weight can flop around inside.”

                    Weights in the box or bring your own

                    Two picks ship with weights: the Hyperwear bundle (27 lb of FlexLoad plates) and the Polyfit kit (one 10 lb plate). The rest are sold empty; one r/Rucking poster used Yes4All plates in a GORUCK bag, though the poster said GORUCK’s own plates “fit the bag best.”

                    Hip belt

                    Men’s Health says a hip belt “redistributes weight from the shoulders and back to the hips.” The table’s Hip belt column shows which packs include one.

                    Capacity in liters and MOLLE

                    Among the packs with a stated capacity, figures range from 6.38 liters (Ruc Pack, per its listing) to 25L (RuckBuddy, per its listing). MOLLE webbing (e.g. Basic Rucker, Hyperwear, RuckBuddy, Trailblazer, Wolf Tactical) lets you add pouches. For the rest of a rucking kit, see our merino wool socks and value trail running shoes guides.

                    Frequently Asked Questions

                    Q. What is the best backpack for weighted rucking?

                    No independent test compares all nine. Men’s Health names the GORUCK Rucker 5.0 its best overall; Amazon carries the earlier Rucker 4.0, and GORUCK is the brand posters bring up most in the two r/Rucking threads that rank for this search (see “What r/Rucking posters say about packs” above). If you want weights included, the Hyperwear bundle and the Polyfit kit ship with plates.

                    Q. What kind of backpack is best for rucking?

                    One with a plate pocket that holds the weight high, a sternum strap and back padding. Climbing Indoors puts it this way: “There are two things you want your pack for rucking to have. A chest strap and padding on the back.” For long or heavy rucks, a hip belt shifts load to the hips.

                    Q. How heavy should a backpack be for rucking?

                    GORUCK’s advice is “When in doubt, start with 20LBS.” Climbing Indoors suggests starting “with weight that’s 10-20% of your body weight” and warns: “do not increase your distance AND the amount of weight at the same time.” These are starting points, not medical advice; check with a health professional if you have an injury.

                    Q. Can I ruck with a regular hiking backpack?

                    Yes, but the weight may move. A poster on r/Rucking wrote that “osprey and Gregory make very comfortable (and pricey) packs” that will work, while another found a roomy pack let the weight “flop around inside.” Men’s Health also covers Mystery Ranch’s Rip Ruck (not one of our picks), built “around an integrated hip-belt.” For layers that sit under straps, see our hiking clothes for men guide.

                    Q. Is there a good rucking backpack for women?

                    The Frontline Athletic Trailblazer is built for women, per its maker, with women-specific shoulder straps, two plate pockets and an included hip belt. GORUCK also suggests its 14L Basic Rucker for anyone 5’10” or under.

                    The bottom line

                    Final Verdict

                    For plate training, the GORUCK Rucker 4.0, 20L, Black (check price) takes up to 75 lb of Ruck Plates at the premium tier, and the GORUCK Basic Rucker, 17L, Black (check price) carries one Standard plate up to 30 lb plus water and a layer. For weights in the box, choose the Hyperwear Hyper Ruck, 20L, 27 lb FlexLoad bundle, Black (check price) or, at the budget tier, the Polyfit Rucking Starter Kit, 10 lb plate, Black (check price). The GORUCK Ruck Plate Carrier 3.0, Standard, Black (check price), RuckBuddy RuckPack, 25L, Black (check price), Frontline Athletic Trailblazer Women’s, 14L, Midnight Black (check price), Ruc Fit Ruc Pack, Gray (check price) and Wolf Tactical Weighted Rucking Backpack, Black (check price) fill narrower roles; the comparison table sets all nine side by side by plate fit, weights and hip belt.

                    Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

                    Outgearly Team
                    Outgearly Team

                    Written and reviewed by the Outgearly Team. See the About page for how we work.