Camping Heaters for Tents: 8 Picks Compared

30 min read

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read our affiliate disclosure.

The short answer

With no electric hookup, the Mr. Heater Portable Buddy MH9BX is a two-setting propane heater with an oxygen depletion sensor and tip-over shut-off, for waking hours with a vent open; on a powered site, the Dreo Atom 316 is a 1,500 W ceramic heater with a thermostat and tip-over protection; on a small power station, the Lasko MyHeat Mini 400W draws 400 W for heat at arm’s length.

Our verdict

Top Picks: Tent Heaters at a Glance

A heater can make a cold-weather camp evening far more pleasant, but a tent is a small fabric room, and a heater that burns propane uses up its oxygen and can give off carbon monoxide (CO). So this guide does two jobs: it compares eight heaters that Amazon stocks, four propane and four electric, and it puts each maker’s own use rating, ventilation requirement and safety shutoffs next to the heater, quoted from the maker’s page or owner’s manual. Before you choose, decide how you will power it: a propane cylinder, an electric hookup at the campsite, or a portable power station.

Whatever you pick, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s camping advice is blunt: “Never use fuel-burning portable heaters or lanterns while sleeping in enclosed areas such as tents, campers and vehicles.” Every propane heater here carries the same instruction in its own manual.

Heater finder

Find a heater for your camp

Pick what you need it for and what you want to spend. The suggestion is our editorial starting point, drawn from the eight heaters below, not a test result.

How will you power it?
Price tier

Tiers are relative to the heaters in this guide; live prices are in the comparison table below.

Compare the picks

Compare the 8 Tent Heaters

All eight side by side; run times are in each review. Figures are the maker’s (its site, owner’s manual or its own Amazon listing) unless the cell names another source. BTU per hour is the propane heaters’ input rating; for the electric heaters the figure is their wattage (1 W is about 3.4 BTU per hour).

Mr. Heater 9,000 BTU Portable Buddy Midnight Series Radiant…Portable Buddy MH9BXTwo-Setting PropaneNo hookup, large tentsPropane4$89.99 Prime
Linked modelMH9BX, Midnight Series (black)
Fuel or powerPropane, 1 lb cylinder
Heat output4,000 / 9,000 BTU/h
Maker's heating areaUp to 225 sq ft
Safety shutoffsODS, tip-over

Evidence: Bob Vila tested the MH9BX without naming the finish; we link the black Midnight Series listing, which Amazon files under the same model (MH9BX) and product family

Mr. Heater 3,800 BTU Little Buddy Portable Radiant Propane…Little Buddy MH4BCompact Propane RadiantNo hookup, small tentsPropane3$76.99 Prime
Linked modelMH4B
Fuel or powerPropane, 1 lb cylinder
Heat output3,800 BTU/h
Maker's heating areaUp to 95 sq ft
Safety shutoffsODS, tip-over

Evidence: Bob Vila, this exact model

Mr. Heater 18,000 BTU Big Buddy Midnight Series HeaterBig Buddy MH18BDual-Cylinder PropaneNo hookup, cabin tentsPropane4
Linked modelMH18B with fan, Midnight Series (black)
Fuel or powerPropane, two 1 lb cylinders
Heat output4,000 / 9,000 / 18,000 BTU/h
Maker's heating areaUp to 450 sq ft
Safety shutoffsODS, tip-over

Evidence: Wise Adventurer (2022) reviewed the Big Buddy without saying whether it was the fan or no-fan version; we link the fan-equipped Midnight Series (2026) listing

Mr. Heater Buddy FLEX 11,000 BTU Radiant Propane…Buddy FLEXOmni-Burner PropaneNo hookup, ice sheltersPropane8$129.00 Prime
Linked modelMH11BFLEX
Fuel or powerPropane, 1 lb cylinder
Heat output8,000 to 11,000 BTU/h
Maker's heating areaUp to 275 sq ft
Safety shutoffsODS, tip-over, thermal

Evidence: owner reports, no independent test

DREO Space Heater, Portable Electric Heaters for Indoor Use…Dreo Atom 316Thermostat CeramicPowered site, thermostatElectric1$39.99 Prime
Linked modelHSH006, gold
Fuel or powerElectric, 120 V
Heat output1,500 W
Maker's heating area200 sq ft
Safety shutoffsTip-over, overheat

Evidence: Good Housekeeping tested the Atom 316 (DR-HSH006) without naming the colour or production year; we link the gold HSH006 listing

Vornado MVH Space Heater (2026), 3 Heat Settings, Auto…Vornado MVHWhole-Room ElectricPowered site, air circulationElectricNot published$74.99 Prime
Linked model2026, black
Heat outputNot published (GH: 750 / 1,125 / 1,500 W)
Safety shutoffsTip-over, blocked-airflow

Evidence: Good Housekeeping tested the Vornado MVH without naming the production year; we link the 2026 listing

Lasko 6" MyHeat Mini Ceramic Space Heater with Easy…Lasko MyHeat MiniLow-Draw 400 W CeramicPower station, personal heatElectric400 W$29.44 Prime
Linked model201, white
Fuel or powerElectric, 120 V
Maker's heating areaUp to 100 sq ft
Safety shutoffsOverheat; tip-over not listed

Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test

Amazon Basics Ceramic Portable Mini Space Heater for Office…Amazon Basics 500W500 W Mini CeramicPower station, personal heatElectric500 W$19.76 Prime
Linked modelBlack
Maker's heating areaNot published
Safety shutoffsTip-over

Evidence: Tom's Guide, this exact model

Prices as of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Which Heater for Which Camp

No electric hookup

Propane is the usual answer at a site without power, and all four propane picks are Mr. Heater radiant heaters that the maker rates for indoor use and fits with an oxygen depletion sensor (ODS) and a tip-over shut-off. Each owner’s manual lists tents among the small recreational enclosures “having means for providing combustion air and ventilation” it may be used in, on conditions: a window or roof vent, a minimum vent opening (4 to 18 square inches depending on the model; the FLEX needs one at the ceiling and one at floor level), clearance from anything that burns, and never while you sleep. Size the heater to the space: Mr. Heater rates the Little Buddy for up to 95 sq ft, the Portable Buddy for 225, the FLEX for 275 and the Big Buddy for 450. A tent rated for cold, wet weather, like the picks in our waterproof family tent guide, still needs its vents open while a heater runs.

Picks: Mr. Heater Little Buddy MH4B, Mr. Heater Portable Buddy MH9BX, Mr. Heater Buddy FLEX, Mr. Heater Big Buddy

Powered campsite

An electric heater burns no fuel, so it does not produce carbon monoxide, but it is still a fire risk and none of these makers mentions tents: Dreo, Vornado, Lasko and Amazon Basics all describe their heaters for indoor use. CPSC’s winter tips say to keep a portable heater at least three feet from anything that can catch fire, set it on a stable, level surface, and plug electric heaters into a wall outlet, never a power strip. At a campsite that means checking the heater’s manual on cords before you run it from the hookup post. At 1,500 W, the Dreo needs a hookup that can supply that load, so check your site’s amperage too.

Picks: Dreo Atom 316, Vornado MVH

Portable power station

A heater draws its rated watts for as long as its element is on. For a best-case figure in hours, divide the station’s watt-hour capacity by the heater’s wattage; conversion losses cut that in practice. Wise Adventurer notes that a 1,500-watt heater “just isn’t a viable option for most portable battery power stations”, which is why the two picks for this use draw 400 and 500 W and are built to warm the person in front of them, not a whole tent. For warmth through the night without a heater, insulation under you matters: see the R-values in our air mattress guide and sleeping pad guide.

Picks: Lasko MyHeat Mini 400W, Amazon Basics 500W Mini

Detailed Reviews of the 8 Heaters

Mr. Heater Portable Buddy MH9BX, Two-Setting Propane

Two-Setting Propane
Mr. Heater 9,000 BTU Portable Buddy Midnight Series Radiant…

Portable Buddy MH9BX

Midnight Series, black

Campers without a hookup who want propane heat during waking hours in a ventilated tent up to the 225 sq ft Mr. Heater rates it for.

$89.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Verdict

A two-setting propane radiant heater for campers without a hookup who will run it while awake, with a vent open, in a tent up to the 225 sq ft Mr. Heater rates it for.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Bob Vila: Mr. Heater MH9BX Portable Buddy, finish not stated.

Mr. Heater rates the Portable Buddy at 4,000 or 9,000 BTU per hour and up to 225 sq ft, and its product page describes it for “heating enclosed spaces like large tents up to 225 sq. ft.” It calls the heater “Indoor safe” and lists an oxygen depletion sensor (ODS) and an accidental tip-over shut-off. The MH9BX owner’s manual (Mr. Heater’s PDF, hosted by the distributor Squibb-Taylor) sets the conditions: the heater “can only be used in a recreational or commercial enclosure with a window or roof vent”, needs a vent opening of at least 9 square inches (3 x 3 in), must have 30 in clear above it, 24 in in front and 6 in at the sides, and carries the warning “NEVER OPERATE THE HEATER WHILE SLEEPING!” Mr. Heater’s MH9BX FAQ sheet (hosted by Home Depot) adds that Canadian and Massachusetts law prohibits unvented portable heaters indoors, and its store lists both as restricted.

Mr. Heater’s own run-time figures differ: the product page headline says up to 5.4 hours, its spec table says 3 hours on high and 6 on low, and its Amazon listing for the red model says 2.4 hours on high and 5.4 on low, all on a 1 lb cylinder. With Mr. Heater’s hose and filter it can run from a 20 lb tank, which the manual says must stay outdoors. The listing we link is the black Midnight Series Portable Buddy, which Amazon files under the same model number (MH9BX) and product family as the red original; its listing gives the same 4,000 or 9,000 BTU, 225 sq ft, up to 5.4 hours on a 1 lb cylinder, low-oxygen shutoff and tip-over shut-down. Mr. Heater lists the red Portable Buddy (F232000) at $155.14; its store does not list the Midnight Series, so that version’s list price was not published in what we could read.

Bob Vila names it the best overall propane heater in its guide, and Field & Stream also names it Best Overall; neither says which finish it tested. In a tent the picture is more mixed: Outside’s writer heated a tent with a Mr. Heater Buddy (model not stated) and found that “the amount of heat it puts out is surprisingly limited” unless you sit in front of it.

Specs (MH9BX, Midnight Series):

  • Linked model: Mr. Heater Portable Buddy MH9BX, Midnight Series (black), sold by Amazon.com
  • Fuel: propane, 1 lb cylinder; 20 lb tank outdoors with Mr. Heater’s hose and filter (Mr. Heater)
  • Heat output: 4,000 or 9,000 BTU/h (Mr. Heater)
  • Heating area: up to 225 sq ft (Mr. Heater)
  • Run time, 1 lb cylinder: up to 5.4 h (page headline); 3 h high, 6 h low (spec table); 2.4 h high, 5.4 h low (Mr. Heater’s Amazon listing, red model); up to 5.4 h (Midnight Series Amazon listing)
  • Weight: 10.6 (Mr. Heater’s spec table for the red F232000, unit not printed; Bob Vila lists 10.6 pounds)
  • Safety shutoffs: ODS, tip-over (Mr. Heater)
  • Maker’s use rating: “Indoor safe”; window or roof vent and a 9 sq in vent opening required; never while sleeping; may shut off above 7,000 ft (Mr. Heater manual)

Pros

  • Two heat settings, 4,000 or 9,000 BTU/h, with ODS and tip-over shut-off, per Mr. Heater
  • Named best overall propane heater by Bob Vila and by Field & Stream
  • Runs on a 1 lb cylinder or, with the maker’s hose and filter, a 20 lb tank kept outside

Cons

  • Awake use with a vent open only: the manual forbids running it while you sleep
  • Mr. Heater’s page, spec table and Amazon listings give different run times
  • Not for indoor use in Canada or Massachusetts, per Mr. Heater; may shut off above 7,000 ft
  • Outside’s writer found a Buddy’s heat limited unless you sit in front of it

Who should buy it

Campers without a hookup who want propane heat during waking hours in a ventilated tent up to the 225 sq ft Mr. Heater rates it for.

Check on Amazon

Mr. Heater Little Buddy MH4B, Compact Propane Radiant

Compact Propane Radiant
Mr. Heater 3,800 BTU Little Buddy Portable Radiant Propane…

Little Buddy MH4B

3,800 BTU

Campers in a small tent with no hookup who want a little propane heat for an hour or two before bed, vent open.

$76.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Verdict

A single-setting 3,800 BTU propane heater on an 8-inch round stand for small tents up to the 95 sq ft Mr. Heater rates it for, used awake with a vent open.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Bob Vila: Mr. Heater MH4B Little Buddy.

Mr. Heater rates the Little Buddy at 3,800 BTU per hour for “small enclosed spaces like tents up to 95 sq. ft.”, with an ODS, an accidental tip-over shut-off and one-button ignition. Its spec table gives 5.6 hours on a 1 lb cylinder; there is one heat setting, so that figure does not change. The MH4B owner’s manual (Mr. Heater’s PDF, hosted by Lowe’s) asks for a window or roof vent and a vent opening of at least 4 square inches (2 x 2 in), the same 30 in, 24 in and 6 in clearances as the Portable Buddy, and the same “NEVER OPERATE THE HEATER WHILE SLEEPING!” warning. Canada and Massachusetts are restricted here too. Mr. Heater lists it at $117.26.

Bob Vila picks it for value and reports that its tip-over shutoff turned the heater off immediately when its tester laid it on its side. Wise Adventurer notes the trade-off of its simplicity: “there’s no way to adjust the heat output”, so you get 3,800 BTU or nothing.

Specs (MH4B):

  • Linked model: Mr. Heater Little Buddy MH4B, sold by Amazon.com
  • Fuel: propane, one 1 lb cylinder (Mr. Heater)
  • Heat output: 3,800 BTU/h, single setting (Mr. Heater)
  • Heating area: up to 95 sq ft (Mr. Heater)
  • Run time, 1 lb cylinder: 5.6 h (Mr. Heater’s spec table)
  • Weight: 5.85 (Mr. Heater’s spec table, unit not printed; Bob Vila lists 5.8 pounds)
  • Safety shutoffs: ODS, tip-over (Mr. Heater)
  • Maker’s use rating: “indoor safe heat”; window or roof vent and a 4 sq in vent opening required; never while sleeping; may shut off above 7,000 ft (Mr. Heater manual)

Pros

  • Mr. Heater sizes it for small tents up to 95 sq ft, with ODS and tip-over shut-off
  • One-button ignition and an 8-inch round stand, per Mr. Heater
  • Bob Vila found the tip-over shutoff cut the heat as soon as it was laid down

Cons

  • One fixed 3,800 BTU setting, with no low setting
  • Awake use with a vent open only: the manual forbids running it while you sleep
  • Not for indoor use in Canada or Massachusetts, per Mr. Heater

Who should buy it

Campers in a small tent with no hookup who want a little propane heat for an hour or two before bed, vent open.

Check on Amazon

Mr. Heater Big Buddy MH18B, Dual-Cylinder Propane

Dual-Cylinder Propane
Mr. Heater 18,000 BTU Big Buddy Midnight Series Heater

Big Buddy MH18B

Midnight Series, black

Groups in a large cabin tent or shelter with no hookup who need more output than a Portable Buddy, want a fan to spread the heat, and can keep an 18 sq in vent open.

View on Amazon

Verdict

A three-setting, two-cylinder propane heater with a built-in fan for large cabin tents and group shelters up to the 450 sq ft Mr. Heater rates it for, used awake with an 18 sq in vent opening.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Wise Adventurer: Big Buddy, fan or no-fan version not stated.

We link the Big Buddy Midnight Series in black, which its Amazon listing gives as model MH18B with a “Built-in high-powered fan”; the no-fan (“NF”) Big Buddy listing was out of stock at our check. Mr. Heater rates the MH18B at 4,000, 9,000 or 18,000 BTU per hour, and the Midnight Series listing gives up to 450 sq ft, two 1 lb cylinders or a 20 lb tank with the optional Buddy hose and fuel filter, up to 96 hours on low from a 20 lb tank, and a low-oxygen shutoff and tip-over shut-down. Mr. Heater says it has removed the fan from some MH18B models; its own store lists only the no-fan Big Buddy, at $240.26, and not the fan or Midnight Series version, so the list price of the version we link was not published in what we could read.

Mr. Heater’s download link for the current fan-model manual returned an error, so we read its 2017 MH18B owner’s manual for the fan model (Mr. Heater’s PDF, hosted by Home Depot). It says the heater “can also be used in a recreational or commercial enclosure with a window or roof vent”, needs a vent area of at least 18 square inches (4 1/4 x 4 1/4 in), must have the same 30 in, 24 in and 6 in clearances as the Portable Buddy, and carries the warning “NEVER OPERATE THE HEATER WHILE SLEEPING!” The fan runs on four D-cell batteries or Mr. Heater’s 6 V adapter, neither included, and the high setting needs both 1 lb cylinders. The manual is marked for U.S. sale except Massachusetts, and the Amazon listing says indoor use is not approved in Canada or Massachusetts. Follow the manual that ships with your heater: the no-fan model’s manual asks for the 18 sq in opening at both ceiling and floor level.

Wise Adventurer names the Big Buddy its favorite gas option for larger shelters and reports that users get “around 3.5 hours at the highest setting”; its review dates from 2022 and does not say whether it covered the fan or no-fan version, and the Midnight Series listing we link dates from 2026. Amazon.com sold it at our check.

Specs (MH18B with fan, Midnight Series):

  • Linked model: Mr. Heater Big Buddy MH18B with fan, Midnight Series (black), sold by Amazon.com
  • Fuel: propane, two 1 lb cylinders (both needed for high); 20 lb tank with optional hose and filter (Mr. Heater manual)
  • Heat output: 4,000 / 9,000 / 18,000 BTU/h (Mr. Heater manual)
  • Heating area: up to 450 sq ft (Mr. Heater’s Amazon listing)
  • Run time: 3 to 12 h on two 1 lb cylinders, depending on setting (Mr. Heater manual); up to 96 h on low from a 20 lb tank (Amazon listing); about 3.5 h on high, per users quoted by Wise Adventurer
  • Fan: built in; four D-cell batteries or a 6 V adapter, not included (Mr. Heater manual)
  • Weight: not published by Mr. Heater for this version (Amazon listing: 14.11 lb)
  • Safety shutoffs: ODS, tip-over (Mr. Heater manual and Amazon listing)
  • Maker’s use rating: “for recreational, commercial and emergency indoor use”; window or roof vent and an 18 sq in vent opening required; never while sleeping; may shut off above 7,000 ft (Mr. Heater manual)

Pros

  • Three settings up to 18,000 BTU/h for spaces up to 450 sq ft, per Mr. Heater
  • Built-in fan to move the heat around, on batteries or an adapter
  • ODS and tip-over shut-off, per Mr. Heater

Cons

  • The fan needs four D-cell batteries or a 6 V adapter, not included
  • The high setting needs both 1 lb cylinders, per its manual
  • Mr. Heater’s store does not list the Midnight Series, so its list price is not published
  • Awake use only: the manual forbids running it while you sleep

Who should buy it

Groups in a large cabin tent or shelter with no hookup who need more output than a Portable Buddy, want a fan to spread the heat, and can keep an 18 sq in vent open.

Check on Amazon

Mr. Heater Buddy FLEX MH11BFLEX, Omni-Burner Propane

Omni-Burner Propane
Mr. Heater Buddy FLEX 11,000 BTU Radiant Propane…

Buddy FLEX

Omni-Burner Propane

Ice anglers and groups sitting around one heater in a larger vented shelter who want heat on every side.

$129.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Verdict

An 8,000 to 11,000 BTU propane heater with a round mesh burner and a thermal shut-down added to the ODS and tip-switch, for larger vented shelters where you can keep 24 inches clear on every side.

Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/IceFishing: Mr. Heater Buddy FLEX, version not stated.

Mr. Heater describes the FLEX’s “Omni-direction, 360 degree burner” heating up to 275 sq ft, and lists an “Emergency Low Oxygen Safety System, Apex 50° Tip-Switch and Thermal Shut-Down System”. Its spec table gives 11,000 BTU at most, 2 hours on high and 3.5 on low on a 1 lb cylinder, and “Indoor-safe YES (Excluding Canada and Massachusetts)”. The MH11BFLEX owner’s manual (Mr. Heater’s PDF, hosted by Home Depot) asks for a window or roof vent and an 11-square-inch opening “at the ceiling and at floor level”, and its side clearance is 24 in, against 6 in on the Portable Buddy. Mr. Heater lists it at $280.63.

We found no independent test of the FLEX. Owners in an r/IceFishing thread are split: one writes that “The Flex just provides a better job of evenly spreading heat around it, instead of only directly in front”, while others call it under-powered next to the Big Buddy, and one found its safety switch sensitive when opening a 20 lb tank.

Specs (MH11BFLEX):

  • Linked model: Mr. Heater Buddy FLEX MH11BFLEX, portable heater only (no hose bundle), sold by Amazon.com
  • Fuel: propane, 1 lb cylinder (Mr. Heater)
  • Heat output: 8,000 to 11,000 BTU/h (Mr. Heater)
  • Heating area: up to 275 sq ft (Mr. Heater)
  • Run time, 1 lb cylinder: 2 h high, 3.5 h low (Mr. Heater)
  • Weight: 11.02 (Mr. Heater’s spec table, unit not printed)
  • Safety shutoffs: ODS, tip-over switch, thermal shut-down (Mr. Heater)
  • Maker’s use rating: “Indoor-safe YES (Excluding Canada and Massachusetts)”; window or roof vent and 11 sq in openings at ceiling and floor level; 24 in side clearance; never while sleeping (Mr. Heater manual)

Pros

  • Round mesh burner that Mr. Heater says spreads heat in all directions
  • Thermal shut-down on top of the ODS and tip-switch, per Mr. Heater
  • Up to 275 sq ft on 8,000 to 11,000 BTU/h, per Mr. Heater

Cons

  • Needs 24 in of clearance at the sides as well as the front, per its manual
  • Owners on r/IceFishing disagree on whether it matches a Big Buddy for heat
  • No independent test found; evidence is owner reports
  • Awake use only: the manual forbids running it while you sleep

Who should buy it

Ice anglers and groups sitting around one heater in a larger vented shelter who want heat on every side.

Check on Amazon

Dreo Atom 316 (HSH006), Thermostat Ceramic

Thermostat Ceramic
DREO Space Heater, Portable Electric Heaters for Indoor Use…

Dreo Atom 316

gold

Campers on a powered site who want a set temperature and a timer rather than a fixed heat setting.

$39.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Verdict

A 1,500 W ceramic heater with a 41 to 95°F thermostat, timer and tip-over protection for campers on a site with an electric hookup.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Good Housekeeping: Dreo Atom 316 DR-HSH006, colour and production year not stated.

Dreo rates the Atom 316 at 1,500 W on 120 V with 200 sq ft of heating coverage, and lists overheat and tip-over protection, a 41 to 95°F thermostat, a 1 to 12 hour off timer, a remote, child lock and three modes (Power Heat, ECO, Fan Only). Its Amazon listing adds a “tilt-detection sensor”, flame-retardant V0 materials, a safety plug and ETL certification, and describes it as a heater “for Indoor Use”; Dreo does not mention tents. Dreo does not publish a weight. Dreo’s list price was not published in what we could read; its store showed only a sale price.

Good Housekeeping names the Atom 316 (DR-HSH006) its best value and measured a 7°F rise in a medium-sized room in 30 minutes on maximum power; it does not say which colour it tested. Bob Vila found its tip-over and overheat cutoffs worked in testing and calls the heat delivery “gentle and slow”. At 1,500 W it is a powered-site heater, not one for a portable power station.

Specs (HSH006, gold):

  • Linked model: Dreo Atom 316 space heater, model HSH006, gold, sold by Amazon.com
  • Power: electric, 1,500 W, 120 V (Dreo)
  • Heating area: 200 sq ft (Dreo)
  • Controls: thermostat 41 to 95°F, 1 to 12 h timer, remote, child lock (Dreo)
  • Weight: not published by Dreo
  • Safety shutoffs: tip-over, overheat (Dreo)
  • Maker’s use rating: “for Indoor Use” (Dreo’s Amazon listing); tents not mentioned

Pros

  • Thermostat from 41 to 95°F in 1°F steps with ECO mode, per Dreo
  • Tip-over and overheat protection that Bob Vila’s testers saw work
  • Good Housekeeping’s best-value pick, with a 7°F room rise in 30 minutes in its lab

Cons

  • Draws 1,500 W, so it needs a hookup, not a portable power station
  • Rated for indoor use; Dreo says nothing about tents
  • Bob Vila found its touch buttons hard to see and its heat gentle and slow

Who should buy it

Campers on a powered site who want a set temperature and a timer rather than a fixed heat setting.

Check on Amazon

Vornado MVH Whole Room Heater (2026), Whole-Room Electric

Whole-Room Electric
Vornado MVH Space Heater (2026), 3 Heat Settings, Auto…

Vornado MVH

black

Campers on a powered site with a larger tent who want warm air circulated rather than heat at one spot.

$74.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Verdict

A three-setting fan heater with a mechanical thermostat, tip-over cut-off and blocked-airflow shut-off for campers with an electric hookup who want air moved around the tent.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Good Housekeeping: Vornado MVH, production year not stated.

Vornado lists tip-over protection, a cool-touch case, a “2-Stage Auto Shutoff”, three heat settings and a mechanical thermostat; its Use & Care Guide says power is cut if the heater tips more than 10 degrees or if airflow is blocked. Vornado’s pages and guide do not state the wattage in what we could read; Good Housekeeping lists its three settings as 750, 1,125 and 1,500 W. Its Amazon listing describes it for “Indoor Use” and says it is “warrantied for use only in the U.S.”; Vornado says nothing about tents. Vornado lists it at $74.99 and says it will replace a defective unit within five years of purchase for the original owner.

Good Housekeeping names the MVH its best overall space heater: “Small but mighty, we found that this top-rated space heater can circulate warm air throughout a room in minutes.” It does not say which production year it tested; we link the 2026 listing, whose feature list matches the one Good Housekeeping describes. Good Housekeeping also notes owner complaints about reliability after years of use.

Specs (MVH, 2026, black):

  • Linked model: Vornado MVH Whole Room Heater, 2026 listing, black, sold by Amazon.com
  • Power: electric; wattage not published by Vornado in what we could read (Good Housekeeping: 750 / 1,125 / 1,500 W)
  • Heating area: not published in square feet; “small to medium-sized rooms” (Vornado’s Amazon listing)
  • Controls: 3 heat settings, mechanical thermostat (Vornado)
  • Weight: not published by Vornado (Good Housekeeping: 3.76 lbs)
  • Safety shutoffs: tip-over (more than 10 degrees), blocked-airflow shut-off (Vornado)
  • Maker’s use rating: “Indoor Use” (Vornado’s Amazon listing); tents not mentioned

Pros

  • Fan-driven heat that Vornado says circulates through the room, with a mechanical thermostat
  • Cuts power if tipped more than 10 degrees or if airflow is blocked, per Vornado
  • Good Housekeeping’s best overall space heater (production year not stated)

Cons

  • Vornado does not publish the wattage in what we could read; plan for a hookup
  • Good Housekeeping notes owner complaints about reliability after years of use
  • Rated for indoor use; Vornado says nothing about tents

Who should buy it

Campers on a powered site with a larger tent who want warm air circulated rather than heat at one spot.

Check on Amazon

Lasko MyHeat Mini 400W, Low-Draw 400 W Ceramic

Low-Draw 400 W Ceramic
Lasko 6" MyHeat Mini Ceramic Space Heater with Easy…

Lasko MyHeat Mini

model 201, white

Campers with a power station who want a little heat at a table or camp chair for short stretches.

$29.44 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Verdict

A 1.1 lb, 400 W personal ceramic heater for warming one camper at arm’s length from a portable power station or hookup.

Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Lasko.

Lasko rates the MyHeat Mini at 400 W on a standard 120 V outlet, with one heat setting, a maximum coverage area of 100 sq ft and a weight of 1.1 lb, and says it is “built to warm you directly rather than a whole room”. It lists overheat protection and a cool-touch housing. Lasko’s own page disagrees with itself on shut-off: its spec table says “No Auto Shut Off”, while its feature text lists “Overheat protection, auto shut-off, cool-touch housing”. Lasko lists no tip-over switch and no thermostat, and describes it for indoor use. The white model 201 we link shares the page with the black model 200. Lasko lists it at $29.99.

We found no independent test of this 400 W model; the evidence is Lasko’s specs. At 400 W it draws less than the Dreo or Vornado on the same power station, but it is a heater for your hands and feet, not the tent.

Specs (model 201, white):

  • Linked model: Lasko MyHeat Mini 400W, model 201, white, sold by Amazon.com
  • Power: electric, 400 W, 120 V, one heat setting (Lasko)
  • Heating area: maximum coverage 100 sq ft (Lasko)
  • Weight: 1.1 lb (Lasko)
  • Safety shutoffs: overheat protection; auto shut-off listed in Lasko’s feature text but “No Auto Shut Off” in its spec table; tip-over switch not listed (Lasko)
  • Maker’s use rating: indoor (Lasko); tents not mentioned

Pros

  • 400 W draw, the lower of the two power-station picks here
  • 1.1 lb and 6 inches tall, per Lasko
  • Overheat protection and cool-touch housing, per Lasko

Cons

  • No tip-over switch listed: it needs a firm, level spot, away from bedding
  • Lasko’s spec table and feature text disagree on auto shut-off
  • Personal heat only, per Lasko, with one setting and no thermostat
  • No independent test found

Who should buy it

Campers with a power station who want a little heat at a table or camp chair for short stretches.

Check on Amazon

Amazon Basics 500W Ceramic Mini Space Heater, 500 W Mini Ceramic

500 W Mini Ceramic
Amazon Basics Ceramic Portable Mini Space Heater for Office…

Amazon Basics 500W

black

Campers with a power station or hookup who want warm hands at the table and accept close-range heat only.

$19.76 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:37 UTC

Verdict

A 1.4 lb, 500 W ceramic mini heater with tip-over protection for close-range warmth from a power station or hookup.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Tom’s Guide: Amazon Basics 500-Watt Small Ceramic Space Heater.

Amazon Basics’ own Amazon listing (the maker’s product page; sold by Amazon.com) rates it at 500 W with ceramic coils, tip-over protection that shuts it off if it is knocked over, 48 dB, 1.4 lbs and 5.87 x 3.15 x 5.95 in, and describes it for indoor use. It does not publish a heating area or mention tents. Amazon Basics’ list price was not published in what we could read.

Tom’s Guide tested it: it raised a 15 x 10 ft test room by about 2.5°F, and by about 4°F around the tester sitting in front of it. The reviewers measured the front at 123°F and conclude “It’s not suitable for heating a whole room”. Treat it as a hand and foot warmer at the camp table.

Specs (500 W, black):

  • Linked model: Amazon Basics 500W Ceramic Mini Space Heater, black, sold by Amazon.com
  • Power: electric, 500 W (Amazon Basics)
  • Heating area: not published
  • Weight: 1.4 lbs (Amazon Basics)
  • Safety shutoffs: tip-over (Amazon Basics)
  • Maker’s use rating: “Indoor Use” (Amazon Basics); tents not mentioned

Pros

  • Tip-over protection that shuts it off if knocked over, per Amazon Basics
  • 500 W and 1.4 lbs, small enough for a camp table
  • Independently tested by Tom’s Guide, with measured temperature rise and surface heat

Cons

  • Tom’s Guide found it unsuitable for heating a whole room
  • Its front reached 123°F in Tom’s Guide’s test
  • No thermostat or heating area published

Who should buy it

Campers with a power station or hookup who want warm hands at the table and accept close-range heat only.

Check on Amazon

Heating a Tent Without Courting CO or Fire

What the makers require

Every propane heater here comes with conditions in its owner’s manual, and they are not optional extras:

  • A window or roof vent, plus a minimum vent opening: 4 sq in for the Little Buddy, 9 sq in for the Portable Buddy, 11 sq in at both ceiling and floor level for the FLEX, and 18 sq in for the Big Buddy with fan (Mr. Heater manuals; the no-fan Big Buddy’s manual asks for 18 sq in at both ceiling and floor level).
  • Clearance from anything that burns: 30 in above, 24 in in front, and 6 in at the sides (24 in for the FLEX).
  • “NEVER OPERATE THE HEATER WHILE SLEEPING!” (all four manuals).
  • “Do not use other fuel burning appliances inside.” (all four manuals).
  • “NEVER LEAVE THE HEATER UNATTENDED WHILE BURNING!” (MH4B and FLEX manuals); the MH9BX and MH18B fan-model manuals say “DO NOT LEAVE HEATER UNATTENDED”.
  • Possible shut-off above 7,000 ft (Mr. Heater; the FLEX manual gives no altitude figure), and no indoor use in Canada or Massachusetts (Mr. Heater).
  • Never bring a refillable propane cylinder inside: with a hose, the 20 lb tank stays outdoors (MH9BX manual).

An ODS is a backstop, not a vent. Mr. Heater’s manuals warn that without enough combustion and ventilation air the heater “may give off excessive CARBON MONOXIDE, an odorless, poisonous gas”, and that early signs of CO poisoning “resemble the flu, with headache, dizziness and/or nausea”.

A CO alarm and fresh air

The CPSC says people die every year from CO poisoning from portable camping heaters, lanterns or stoves used inside tents, campers and vehicles, and warns that the risk is higher at altitude. Its winter safety tips recommend battery-operated CO alarms, tested monthly, and say never to leave a portable heater running unattended in a confined space. The U.S. Fire Administration gives the same advice for homes: install and maintain CO alarms to get early warning of CO. Both write for homes, but the reasoning carries to a tent: if you run a fuel heater in one, carry a battery-powered CO alarm, keep the vents open, and turn the heater off before you sleep. If anyone gets a headache, dizziness or nausea, turn the heater off and get into fresh air.

Electric heaters still need care

Electric heaters remove the CO risk but not the fire risk. CPSC’s tips call for three feet of clearance from bedding, clothes and anything else that can catch fire, a stable, level surface, and a wall outlet rather than a power strip. Of the four electric picks, three list tip-over protection; the Lasko does not. Pack the extras on our camping checklist, and plan for warm layers and a sleeping bag that suits the night without a heater running.

How We Picked These Heaters

How this guide was built

built from manufacturer documentation, published third-party reviews and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.

What each heater had to show

  • A maker-stated heat output (BTU per hour or watts) and fuel or power type.
  • For propane: an oxygen depletion sensor and a tip-over shut-off listed by the maker, and an owner’s manual we could read that states the ventilation requirement for recreational enclosures.
  • For electric: the maker’s safety shutoffs and power draw, or “not published” where the maker does not state it.
  • Stocked on Amazon, new and in stock when we checked; where a third-party seller holds the buy box, the review names it.
  • An independent review or owner reports where we could find them, with the tested model named, or a plain note that the evidence is the maker’s specs.
Where the evidence comes from, what campers on r/camping say and heaters we left out

Where the evidence comes from

Bob Vila tested propane heaters, including the MH9BX and MH4B, and Field & Stream ranks the Portable Buddy. Wise Adventurer covers tent heaters, including the Big Buddy. Good Housekeeping tested the Vornado MVH and Dreo Atom 316 as home space heaters, and Tom’s Guide reviewed the Amazon Basics 500 W. The FLEX rests on owner reports and the Lasko on its maker’s specs. Ventilation requirements come from Mr. Heater’s owner’s manuals, and safety guidance from the CPSC and the U.S. Fire Administration. Each review’s Evidence line says which version a source covered.

What campers on r/camping say

In the r/camping thread on safe tent heaters that ranked first when we searched, the replies split by power source: electric heaters where there is a hookup, and a Buddy or catalytic heater where there is not, with ventilation and CO detectors recurring in the replies. One camper keeps the propane tank outside on a hose and “also keep[s] a monoxide detector inside”; another writes that “Even with ventilation I still get headaches after running the heater for an hour or so.” Others suggest heated blankets, USB heating pads or extra insulation instead of running a heater overnight.

Heaters we left out

Mr. Heater’s Hunting Buddy is for outdoor use only, per its manual, so it is not a tent heater. Camco’s Olympian Wave catalytic heaters, the Big Buddy PRO and the no-fan Big Buddy were out of stock on Amazon at our check. Heaters without a maker-listed ODS were not considered for the propane slots.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What is a good portable heater for camping inside a tent?

It depends on power. With no hookup, a propane radiant heater with an ODS and tip-over shut-off, sized to the tent (Mr. Heater rates the Little Buddy for 95 sq ft and the Portable Buddy for 225), used awake with the vents its manual requires. With a hookup, an electric heater with tip-over protection, like the Dreo Atom 316. Whatever you choose, follow the maker’s manual and the CPSC’s advice not to use fuel-burning heaters while sleeping in a tent.

Q. What type of heater is the safest for a tent?

No heater is risk-free in a tent. Electric heaters burn no fuel, so they produce no CO, but they remain a fire risk, need three feet of clearance per CPSC, and none of the four here is rated by its maker for tents. Propane heaters with an ODS and tip-over shut-off add safeguards, but their manuals still require a vent opening and forbid use while sleeping. The CPSC recommends battery-operated CO alarms (it writes for homes); if anything in the tent burns fuel, carry one.

Q. What is the best way to heat a tent while camping?

Many campers combine sources: a heater while awake, then insulation for the night. Run a propane heater only with the vents open and turn it off before sleep, as Mr. Heater’s manuals and the CPSC say; on a powered site an electric heater avoids CO. For sleep, a pad or mattress with a good R-value and a warm sleeping bag carry the load.

Q. Can I heat a tent with no electricity or with a battery?

Without power, the propane heaters here are the option, under their manuals’ ventilation and no-sleeping rules. On battery, a portable power station can run a low-wattage heater like the 400 W Lasko or 500 W Amazon Basics for a limited time: divide the station’s watt-hours by the heater’s watts for a best case. Wise Adventurer notes a 1,500-watt heater “just isn’t a viable option for most portable battery power stations”.

Q. Can I leave a Mr. Heater on all night in a tent?

No. Each Mr. Heater manual here says “NEVER OPERATE THE HEATER WHILE SLEEPING!”, and the CPSC says never to use fuel-burning portable heaters while sleeping in tents.

The bottom line

Final Verdict

With no electric hookup, the Mr. Heater Portable Buddy MH9BX (check price) is a two-setting propane heater with an ODS and tip-over shut-off that Bob Vila and Field & Stream both name best overall, for waking hours in a vented tent up to 225 sq ft. The Mr. Heater Little Buddy MH4B (check price) suits small tents up to 95 sq ft, the Mr. Heater Big Buddy (check price) large shelters up to 450 sq ft, with a fan to spread the heat, and the Mr. Heater Buddy FLEX (check price) groups who sit around one heater. None of them is for use while you sleep.

On a powered site, the Dreo Atom 316 (check price) adds a thermostat and timer at 1,500 W, and the Vornado MVH (check price) circulates warm air with tip-over and blocked-airflow shut-offs. On a power station, the Lasko MyHeat Mini 400W (check price) and Amazon Basics 500W (check price) warm the person in front of them, not the tent. Whichever you choose, follow the maker’s manual; the CPSC recommends battery-operated CO alarms (for homes), so if anything in the tent burns fuel, carry one.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Outgearly Team
Outgearly Team

Written and reviewed by the Outgearly Team. See the About page for how we work.