The short answer
The Lowrance Eagle Eye 9 Live Sonar, C-MAP Discover puts a display and live sonar in one box; the Lowrance ActiveTarget 2 Kit with Sonar Module adds live sonar to an HDS or Elite FS; and the Humminbird MEGA Live 2 Transducer does the same for XPLORE, APEX and SOLIX G3 owners with a Minn Kota Ultrex or Fortrex.
Our verdict
Live Imaging Fish Finder Top Picks
A live imaging fish finder shows fish, structure and your lure moving in real time. Each brand sells it as a system: a live sonar transducer, sometimes with a sonar module, plus a display that runs it. This guide covers Humminbird MEGA Live 2, Lowrance ActiveTarget 2 and Eagle Eye, and Garmin Panoptix ice setups, and says what each box holds. Garmin LiveScope has its own guide; none of its picks repeat here. More in our fishing gear guides.
Live sonar finder
Find the live imaging setup you need
Pick what you need and a price tier. The suggestion is our editorial starting point among the eight setups below, drawn from the makers' stated specs, not a test result.
Tiers are relative to the products in this guide; live prices are in the comparison table below.
Picks: Eagle Eye 9, ActiveTarget 2 kit, MEGA Live 2, PS22-IF bundle, PS22-IF kit, HDS PRO 10, Elite FS 9, XPLORE 10
Compare the picks
Compare the 8 Live Imaging Setups
Figures are the makers’, except the Elite FS 9 and XPLORE 10 screen sizes, from the Amazon listings. “Not stated” means the maker document we could read gives none.
Eagle Eye 9All-in-One Live SonarComplete setup, kayakComplete setup$1,049.00 Prime
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
ActiveTarget 2 kitLive Sonar Kit + ModuleAdd-on sonar, trolling motorSonar + module$1,399.99
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
MEGA Live 2Trolling-Motor TransducerAdd-on sonar, trolling motorTransducer$1,199.99 Prime
Evidence: Outdoor Life, this exact model
PS22-IF bundleIce Bundle + 7-In DisplayComplete setup, ice fishingComplete setup$1,999.99
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
PS22-IF kitIce Kit, No DisplayAdd-on sonar, ice fishingTransducer kit$1,249.99
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
HDS PRO 1010-Inch HDS PRO DisplayDisplay unit, networkingDisplay$2,399.00 Prime
Evidence: Trout and Steelhead, HDS Pro 9; same series, not this HDS PRO 10, Active Imaging HD 3-in-1
Elite FS 99-Inch Elite FS DisplayDisplay unit, 9 in screenDisplay$1,138.99 Prime
Evidence: Trout and Steelhead, Elite FS 7 or 9 in; transducer not stated
XPLORE 1010-Inch XPLORE DisplayDisplay unit, 10 in screenDisplay$1,679.19 Prime
Evidence: Outdoor Life, XPLORE series in 9, 10 and 12 in; size not stated
How We Built This Live Sonar Shortlist
How this guide was built
built from manufacturer documentation, published third-party reviews and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.
What a setup needed to make the list
- A live imaging transducer, or a display its maker lists for one (Humminbird: XPLORE, APEX, SOLIX G3; Lowrance: HDS Pro, HDS Live, HDS Carbon, Elite FS).
- New and in stock on Amazon in the exact model on November 2, 2026; mount and adapter listings were left out.
- No overlap with our LiveScope guide. The two Garmin picks here are Panoptix PS22-IF ice setups, a different role.
Where the facts come from
Where the facts come from
Humminbird’s and Lowrance’s websites mostly refused our reads, so their figures come from their PDF manuals, linked in each review.
Independent coverage is thin. Outdoor Life reviews MEGA Live 2 and the XPLORE series; Trout and Steelhead, whose author once sold fish finders in his tackle store, covers the HDS PRO and Elite FS series. Four picks rest on maker specs alone.
Live Imaging Fish Finders: Detailed Reviews
Lowrance Eagle Eye 9 Live Sonar, C-MAP Discover, All-in-One Live Sonar
Kayak and small-boat anglers who want live sonar in one box without building a network.
$1,049.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:35 UTCVerdict
A 9-inch display and live sonar transducer in one box, with no sonar module to wire.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Lowrance installation guide 988-13183-002.
In the box, per Lowrance’s installation guide: the Eagle Eye 9 display, the Eagle Eye skimmer transducer, a gimbal kit, a power cable kit, cable lock collars and documentation. Lowrance adds: “The Eagle Eye™ 9 and Eagle Eye™ transducer are exclusively compatible.”
Lowrance’s product copy, carried by the dealer Russell Marine, lists “4 sonar views from a single transducer with no module needed (Live Forward, Live Down, CHIRP Sonar, DownScan Imaging™ with FishReveal™).” This listing (SKU 000-16232-001) ships with C-MAP DISCOVER OnBoard charts, which Lowrance describes as “wider inland and coastal coverage” than its standard US inland charts. The Lowrance documents we read give no live sonar frequency or range.
FishFinderLab, which works from maker documents and owner reports rather than tests, notes no SideScan and “No Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, or NMEA 2000”.
Specs (linked: Eagle Eye 9 Live Sonar, C-MAP Discover)
Pros
- Display, transducer and live sonar in one box with no sonar module, per Lowrance
Cons
- Display and transducer work only with each other, per Lowrance
- No SideScan, Wi-Fi or networking, per FishFinderLab
Who should buy it
Kayak and small-boat anglers who want live sonar in one box without building a network.
- Screen: 9 in, 1024 x 600 (Lowrance)
- Frequency and live range: not in the Lowrance manuals we could read
- Power: 12 V DC, 840 mA maximum; IPX7 (Lowrance)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
- Seller: sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing
Lowrance ActiveTarget 2 Kit with Sonar Module, Live Sonar Kit + Module
Lowrance HDS or Elite FS owners adding live sonar to the trolling motor.
$1,399.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:35 UTCVerdict
Lowrance’s live sonar transducer with its sonar module and trolling-motor mounts; a compatible display is sold separately.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Lowrance ActiveTarget 2 installation manual.
In the box, per the ActiveTarget 2 installation manual: the transducer on a 25 ft cable, the sonar module, power and Ethernet cables, and shaft, Scout and down/forward motor mount clamps. Mounting is on the trolling motor shaft or lower unit; a transom mount is “sold separately.”
Views are forward, down and Scout; on an HDS Pro “you can install two ActiveTarget 2 systems and view simultaneous dual images without transducer interference.” The manual names HDS Pro, HDS Live, HDS Carbon and Elite FS displays, as does Rightboat. It gives no frequency or range, nor does Lowrance’s kit page; the retailer Fishfinder Coach puts coverage at “approximately 135°” with an 18° cone.
Specs (linked: ActiveTarget 2 kit, transducer and module)
Pros
- Module, transducer and three trolling-motor mount clamps in one kit, per Lowrance
Cons
- No display in the box, and the module needs its own mounting spot
Who should buy it
Lowrance HDS or Elite FS owners adding live sonar to the trolling motor.
- Views: forward, down, Scout (Lowrance)
- Frequency and range: not stated in Lowrance’s installation manual
- Mounting: trolling motor shaft or lower unit; 25 ft cable (Lowrance)
- Power: 12/24 V DC; module IP67 (Lowrance)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
- Seller: sold by The GPS Store, Inc., a third-party Amazon seller, at the time of writing
Humminbird MEGA Live 2 Transducer, Trolling-Motor Transducer
Humminbird XPLORE, APEX or SOLIX G3 owners running a Minn Kota Ultrex or Fortrex.
$1,199.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:35 UTCVerdict
Humminbird’s second-generation live sonar, rated to 150 feet, with no black box; display sold separately.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Outdoor Life: MEGA Live 2.
In the box, per the MEGA Live 2 installation guide: the transducer with attached cables, a 10 ft power extension and a 20 ft Ethernet extension, plus the trolling motor shaft mount the operations guide calls “included.” Humminbird lists all XPLORE and APEX displays and SOLIX G3 models, and Minn Kota Ultrex and Fortrex motors.
The operations guide lists Down, Forward and Landscape modes and “a range of up to 150 feet.” Outdoor Life writes: “This new transducer improves target separation, clarity, and cuts noise.”
MEGA Live 2 or ActiveTarget 2? MEGA Live 2 skips the module, but Humminbird lists mounting on Minn Kota Ultrex and Fortrex motors; the ActiveTarget 2 kit carries a module and its own shaft clamps.
Specs (linked: MEGA Live 2 transducer, trolling-motor mount)
Pros
- Connects straight to the display with no black box, per Humminbird
- Three views from one transducer: Down, Forward and Landscape
Cons
- Needs its own switch and fuse; navigation features need a heading sensor
Who should buy it
Humminbird XPLORE, APEX or SOLIX G3 owners running a Minn Kota Ultrex or Fortrex.
- Range: up to 150 ft; frequency 1.05 MHz CHIRP (Humminbird)
- Mounting: Minn Kota Ultrex, Ultrex QUEST or Fortrex shaft (Humminbird)
- Power: 10 to 20 V DC, 1.15 A maximum (Humminbird)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
- Seller: Amazon.com, at the time of writing
Garmin Panoptix PS22-IF Ice Bundle with ECHOMAP UHD2 73sv, Ice Bundle + 7-In Display
Hole-hopping ice anglers who want a complete live sonar setup in one bag.
$1,999.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:35 UTCVerdict
A complete ice setup: 7-inch ECHOMAP UHD2 73sv, Panoptix PS22-IF live sonar, battery and bag.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Garmin product page and PS22-IF installation guide.
In the box, per Garmin: the ECHOMAP UHD2 73sv touchscreen with Garmin Navionics+ U.S. inland mapping, the PS22-IF transducer with removable lens, bracket and rotator, a bag with base and handle, a power cable, a rechargeable SLA 7Ah battery and a charger (part 010-02684-30).
Live modes are LiveVü Forward and LiveVü Down. Garmin’s installation guide gives 417 kHz, a 300 ft maximum range, a forward range “between five and eight times the depth of the water,” and a beam 120° long and 12° wide with the lens (57° without).
Bundle or kit? The bundle includes the display; the PS22-IF kit is for anglers who own a compatible ECHOMAP.
Specs (linked: PS22-IF Ice Fishing Bundle with ECHOMAP UHD2 73sv, 010-02684-30)
Pros
- Display, transducer, battery, charger and bag in one bundle, per Garmin
- No pole mount: bracket and rotator set direction and depth
Cons
- 7-inch, 800 x 480 screen; the other displays here are 9 or 10 inches
Who should buy it
Hole-hopping ice anglers who want a complete live sonar setup in one bag.
- Screen: 7.0 in, 800 x 480 (Garmin)
- Range: 300 ft maximum; 417 kHz (Garmin)
- Battery: SLA 7Ah; weight 12.2 lb (Garmin)
- Price tier: $$$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
- Seller: Escape To Nature, a third-party Amazon seller, at the time of writing
Garmin Panoptix PS22-IF Portable Ice Fishing Kit, Ice Kit, No Display
Ice anglers who already own a compatible ECHOMAP and want live sonar for it.
$1,249.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:35 UTCVerdict
The PS22-IF live sonar, battery and bag without a display.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Garmin product page and PS22-IF installation guide.
In the box, per Garmin: the PS22-IF transducer, bracket, rotator, removable lens, power cable, bag with base and handle, rechargeable battery and charger. No display.
Garmin’s compatible-devices tab lists ECHOMAP Plus 7x, ECHOMAP UHD 74sv and ECHOMAP UHD2 6- and 7-inch sv units, while its installation guide says the cable “works with 7 inch or larger ECHOMAP™ chartplotters,” so check your unit against both. Jigging panfish? See our crappie rods for jigging.
Specs (linked: PS22-IF Portable Ice Fishing Kit)
Pros
- Adds live sonar to an ECHOMAP you already own, per Garmin’s list
Cons
- No display in the box
- Garmin’s two compatibility statements differ on 6-inch units
Who should buy it
Ice anglers who already own a compatible ECHOMAP and want live sonar for it.
- Range: 300 ft maximum; 417 kHz (Garmin)
- Mounting: pole-free bracket and rotator (Garmin)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
- Seller: Prime Marine, a third-party Amazon seller, at the time of writing
Lowrance HDS PRO 10 with Active Imaging HD, 10-Inch HDS PRO Display
Anglers building a networked Lowrance boat around ActiveTarget 2.
$2,399.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:35 UTCVerdict
A 10-inch HDS PRO with an Active Imaging HD 3-in-1 scanning transducer; ActiveTarget 2 is sold separately.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Trout and Steelhead: HDS Pro 9.
In the box: the display, metal gimbal bracket, sun cover and power cable kit, per Lowrance’s installation guide, plus the Active Imaging HD 3-in-1 transducer, per the Amazon listing, which says: “Add an ActiveTarget 2 or ActiveTarget 2 XL system to watch fish and lure movement in real time; live-sonar equipment is sold separately.”
The ActiveTarget 2 manual names HDS Pro as the only display for the blended Scout Wide and 180° views. Trout and Steelhead covers the 9-inch HDS Pro: “Yes, I’ve had this unit on my boat and it’s damn good, and easy to use.”
HDS PRO 10 or Elite FS 9? Both run ActiveTarget 2; the HDS PRO adds the blended dual views at the premium tier, the Elite FS 9 is the mid-range screen.
Specs (linked: HDS PRO 10, Active Imaging HD 3-in-1, C-MAP DISCOVER OnBoard)
Pros
- Runs every ActiveTarget 2 view, including the blended dual views, per Lowrance
- Two Ethernet ports for module, networking and a second screen
Cons
- No live sonar in the box
- Trout and Steelhead’s comments cover the 9-inch model
- Screen: 10 in, 1280 x 800, over 1200 nits (Lowrance)
- Ports: 2 Ethernet, 2 sonar; Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 5.2 (Lowrance)
- Power: 12 V DC, 40 W maximum; IPX6 and IPX7 (Lowrance)
- Price tier: $$$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
- Seller: Amazon.com, at the time of writing
Lowrance Elite FS 9 with Active Imaging 3-in-1, 9-Inch Elite FS Display
Anglers who want a 9-inch Lowrance screen ready for ActiveTarget 2 at the mid-range tier.
$1,138.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:35 UTCVerdict
A 9-inch Lowrance display listed with an Active Imaging 3-in-1 transducer and a Scotty ball mount; it runs ActiveTarget 2, sold separately.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Trout and Steelhead: Elite FS, 7 in or 9 in, transducer not stated.
In the box, per copies of Amazon’s listing: Elite FS 9 display, an Active Imaging 3-in-1 transducer, C-MAP charts, a Scotty ball mount and plate; check contents on Amazon. Lowrance’s Elite FS manual has ActiveTarget forward, down and Scout panels, available “if an ActiveTarget transducer and its sonar module are connected to the Ethernet network.”
Trout and Steelhead, on the 7- and 9-inch Elite FS: “From a HD screen that works great in high-sun, an accurate GPS that has never let me down, and got home home safe even in the thickest fog, to a ton of features, and a good price, this unit is fantastic for the price.”
Specs (linked: Elite FS 9, Active Imaging 3-in-1, Scotty ball mount bundle)
Pros
- Runs ActiveTarget forward, down and Scout views, per Lowrance’s manual
- Active Imaging 3-in-1 transducer listed in the box
Cons
- No blended Scout Wide or 180° views; Lowrance names HDS Pro for those
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a 9-inch Lowrance screen ready for ActiveTarget 2 at the mid-range tier.
- Screen: 9 in (Amazon listing); resolution not confirmed from Lowrance
- Live sonar: ActiveTarget 2 through the Ethernet network (Lowrance)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
- Seller: Amazon.com, at the time of writing
Humminbird XPLORE 10, Control Head Only, 10-Inch XPLORE Display
Anglers pairing MEGA Live 2 with a new Humminbird screen.
$1,679.19 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 01:35 UTCVerdict
A 10-inch Humminbird touchscreen without a transducer, listed by Humminbird for MEGA Live 2.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Outdoor Life: XPLORE series, size not stated.
In the box: the XPLORE 10 control head only, per the Amazon listing; Humminbird’s XPLORE installation guide says a 6 ft power cable is included. The MEGA Live 2 installation guide lists “XPLORE Series: All models.”
Outdoor Life, on the 9-, 10- and 12-inch XPLORE series: “These Xplore models ratchet everything up a notch, making life far better for those who are mapping and waypoint addicts.” Its listed con: “Many of Humminbird’s legacy products have similar features at a lower price.”
Specs (linked: XPLORE 10, control head only)
Pros
- Listed by Humminbird for MEGA Live 2, with no black box
Cons
- No transducer of any kind in the box
- Outdoor Life notes older Humminbird units with similar features cost less
- Screen: 10 in (Amazon listing); resolution not confirmed from Humminbird
- Live sonar: MEGA Live 2, all XPLORE models (Humminbird)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
- Seller: Amazon.com, at the time of writing
How to Choose a Live Imaging Fish Finder
Transducer, display or bundle
Each maker’s live sonar runs on that maker’s displays. Rightboat: “Cost is of course a barrier, and the different systems don’t like to play nice with one another—you can’t add a Garmin imager to a Lowrance system, and vice versa.” Two picks are complete (Eagle Eye 9, PS22-IF bundle); the rest need the other half from the same brand.
Mounting: trolling motor or ice
Humminbird lists MEGA Live 2 for Minn Kota Ultrex and Fortrex motors; ActiveTarget 2 clamps to a trolling motor shaft or lower unit. Choosing a motor first? See what size trolling motor you need. On the ice, the PS22-IF hangs through the hole on its bracket and rotator.
Screen size
Screens here run from 7 inches (PS22-IF bundle) to 10 inches (HDS PRO 10, XPLORE 10); the 10-inch picks need live sonar bought separately.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Which live imaging fish finder is best?
We found no independent test that compares these setups. For one box with no module, see the Eagle Eye 9; on a boat already running Lowrance or Humminbird, pick that brand’s live sonar.
Q. What is better, Garmin LiveScope or Humminbird?
We don’t rank brands. Testing first-generation MEGA Live against LiveScope Plus, Outdoor Life preferred Garmin’s clarity and accuracy; in its fish finder guide, the writer would keep a LiveScope+ unit but calls MEGA Live 2 a great option for anglers starting fresh with a Minn Kota.
Q. Which LiveScope is the best?
That depends on range and your display; our Garmin LiveScope guide compares Garmin’s LiveScope 2, Plus and XR transducers and the displays that run them.
Q. Is side scan or LiveScope better?
They do different jobs. FishFinderLab, comparing the Eagle Eye 9 with the side-scanning Elite FS 9: “If reading structure to the side of the boat matters more than watching fish react to your lure in real time, the Elite FS 9 is the better fit.”
The bottom line
Final Verdict
Complete setups: the Lowrance Eagle Eye 9 Live Sonar, C-MAP Discover (check price) on open water and the Garmin Panoptix PS22-IF Ice Bundle with ECHOMAP UHD2 73sv (check price) on the ice. Live sonar for a display you own: the Lowrance ActiveTarget 2 Kit with Sonar Module (check price), the Humminbird MEGA Live 2 Transducer (check price) and the Garmin Panoptix PS22-IF Portable Ice Fishing Kit (check price). Displays: the Lowrance HDS PRO 10 with Active Imaging HD (check price), the Lowrance Elite FS 9 with Active Imaging 3-in-1 (check price) and the Humminbird XPLORE 10, Control Head Only (check price).
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
