The short answer
Outdoor Life named the Lew’s Wally Marshall Pro Target jigging rods its jigging pick (we link the 10-foot medium-light vertical jigging model); the B’n’M Pro Staff Trolling Rod is the spider-rigging rod Outdoor Life picked for trolling; and the Ugly Stik Carbon Crappie 9-foot light is sold by Amazon.com with Ugly Stik’s 10-year rod warranty.
Our verdict
Top Picks for Crappie Jigging Rods
“Jigging” covers several ways of fishing for crappie, and each wants a different rod. Outdoor Life’s Cory Schmidt puts it this way: “Relative to crappies, the term ‘jigging rod’ refers to a longer (at least 9-foot) two or three-piece pole capable of clutching a spinning or small baitcasting reel” (Outdoor Life). Outdoor Life’s picks also cover 12- to 16-foot rods for spider rigging from rod holders and short rods that cast or “shoot” a jig under docks. This guide compares eight crappie rods stocked on Amazon at the time of writing, each linked at the exact length the review describes, and says which style of jigging each one is built for.
The eight come from five makers: three 10- and 12-foot rods for single-pole vertical jigging, two 11-foot B’n’M jig poles, one 14-foot spider-rigging rod, one 9-foot light spinning rod and one 7-foot rod for casting and dock shooting. B’n’M’s product pages give no power, line or lure rating for its three rods here; where a figure is missing, the table and reviews say “not published” rather than guess. If you are new to crappie rods in general, our beginner fishing rod guide covers complete outfits, and our spinning rods under $100 roundup covers shorter all-round rods.
Rod finder
Find a crappie jigging rod for how you fish
Pick what you fish for and what you want to spend. The suggestion is our editorial starting point, drawn from the eight rods below, not a test result.
Price tiers in this guide are relative: $ = entry level, $$ = mid-range, $$$ = premium, relative to the products in this guide; the live price and seller are in the product table and review boxes.
Compare the picks
Compare the 8 Crappie Jigging Rods
Each row is the exact rod the link opens. Power, action and ratings are written as each maker states them; “not published” means the maker’s pages we read do not give it, and we do not fill those gaps from Amazon’s listing fields. Warranty cells give each maker’s own wording and are not a ranking of one policy against another.
Wally Marshall Pro Target 10'10 ft Vertical Jig RodVertical jigging, single pole, brush10'ML$123.73
Evidence: Outdoor Life (2023), Pro Target jigging line (10-16 ft); length and power fished not stated; its listed aluminum-oxide guide inserts differ from Lew's current stainless inserts, so it may cover an earlier version
ACC Jiggin' Stix 10'10 ft Mid-Seat Jig RodVertical jigging, pitching, timber10'M$99.99
Evidence: owner reports, no independent test
B'n'M Sam Heaton 11'Bottom-Seat Jig PoleJig pole, vertical jigging$74.99
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
B'n'M Buck's 11'11 ft Graphite Jig PoleJig pole, vertical jigging$51.99
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
Precision Jig 12'12 ft Rear-Seat Jig RodLong-rod jigging, tight-line$45.00
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
B'n'M Pro Staff 14'14 ft Spider-Rig RodSpider rigging, trolling
Evidence: Outdoor Life, Pro Staff Trolling series (12, 14, 16 ft); length fished not stated
Ugly Stik Carbon Crappie 9'9 ft Light Spinning RodVertical jigging, dipping, shore casting9'L$79.95 Prime
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
Wally Marshall Classic 7'7 ft Dock-Shooting RodDock shooting, jig casting7'ML$89.99 Prime
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
How We Picked These Crappie Jigging Rods
How this guide was built
built from manufacturer documentation, published third-party reviews and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves. Prices change, so the live price and seller sit in the product table and review boxes, not in the text.
What each rod had to meet
- Sold for crappie by its maker, and built for one of the jigging styles anglers use: long jig poles, single-pole vertical jigging, spider rigging, or casting and shooting jigs. The style named in each review comes from the maker or from Outdoor Life.
- Where the maker publishes a lure rating, it covers the 1/32- to 1/4-ounce crappie jigs these styles use. B’n’M’s product pages give no rating for its three rods, and the reviews say so.
- An Amazon listing that opens the exact length (and model number, where the maker has one), confirmed from Amazon’s variant selector or item details, in stock and new at the time of writing, at or below the maker’s list price where the maker publishes one. The seller is named in each review when it is not Amazon.com.
- Rods sold on their own; combos are covered in the FAQ.
Where the evidence comes from and what crappie.com posters said about ACC rods
Where the evidence comes from
Our independent source is Outdoor Life (2023), where Cory Schmidt fished a range of crappie rods and named picks by technique, and its crappie combo test by Scott Einsmann, which adds a guide to rod length by technique. Outdoor Life covered two of our picks’ series without naming the length it fished, and the reviews say so. Wired2fish’s crappie rod page, which ranks for this search, refused our request, so we could not read it.
Four of the other ranking pages are makers selling their own rods (B’n’M, ACC, Catch The Fever, Ozark Rods). Their pages are the source of the specs here and are the makers’ claims; customer reviews hosted on them are labelled as such. For six picks we found no independent test; their reviews say so and rest on maker specs, plus forum posters for ACC.
What crappie.com posters said about ACC rods
A crappie.com thread asks whether ACC’s medium power is too stout for crappie. One poster answers that “they feel light when you’re holding them” and that “These things have great backbone,” and reports that ACC replaced a broken rod within days. Another, who shoots docks with two, agrees they are “light, sensitive and have great backbone.” A third poster, who says he never used one, calls breakage “a really common complaint on ACC rods.” None of them names the model or length, so read this as talk about the brand, not the 10-foot rod we link.
Detailed Reviews: 8 Crappie Jigging Rods
Lew’s Wally Marshall Pro Target, 10 ft Vertical Jig Rod
10' ML 2-piece (WMPT10MLS-2) · IM8 graphite
Anglers who jig one rod straight down into brush and timber from the boat and want a 10-foot medium-light rod with a rear reel seat.
$123.73 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:13 UTCVerdict
The 10-foot medium-light model of the Pro Target jigging line that Outdoor Life named its jigging pick, labelled “Vertical Jigging” in Lew’s own spec table.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Outdoor Life: Pro Target jigging rods, length not stated.
Outdoor Life (2023) called the Lew’s Wally Marshall Pro Target jigging rods its “Best Jigging Rod” and wrote: “The Lew’s Wally Marshall Pro Target Jigging Rods fish comfortably and precisely, just light enough in your hands to avert fatigue (though anglers may also choose to deploy these longer rods in a rod holder.)” It listed “Ample backbone to hoist large crappies into the boat” and a “Relatively sensitive tip for detecting subtle inhale-style bites” among the pros, and gave two cons: “Not designed for traditional cast and retrieve fishing” and “Much heavier (weight) than a standard 5- to 7-foot crappie rod.” Outdoor Life did not say which length or power it fished; it lists the line as “Offered in 10-, 12-, 14- and 16-foot length models”. Lew’s current table calls this 10-foot medium-light model “Vertical Jigging” and the line’s other jigging models, from 8 to 16 feet, “Target Jigging”, so the test covers the line, not necessarily this rod. Outdoor Life lists aluminum-oxide guide inserts where Lew’s current page lists stainless inserts, so it may have fished an earlier version.
Lew’s lists the WMPT10MLS-2 as a 10-foot, two-piece spinning rod, medium-light power and fast action, rated for 4-10 lb line and 1/32-1/4 oz lures, with 12 guides plus the tip and a weight of 4.5 oz. Lew’s describes an IM8 graphite blank, stainless steel guides with stainless inserts, a Winn Dri-Tac handle with an EVA butt, and a rear graphite reel seat with metal hoods on its vertical jigging models. Lew’s warranty page lists “Wally Marshall Pro Target Rods (Jigging Models Only)” under a 2-year limited warranty, and “All Wally Marshall & Mr. Crappie Rods” under a 1-year limited warranty; Amazon’s listing gives “1 Year Limited”. Lew’s says its rod warranties do “not cover products purchased from unauthorized resellers”, and the seller linked here is a third party, not Lew’s. Lew’s spec table labels this model “Vertical Jigging”. Sold by Outdoor Sports Specialties and shipped by Amazon at the time of writing, below Lew’s list price.
Trade-off against the ACC Jiggin’ Stix (pick 2): both are 10-foot, two-piece jigging rods rated 1/32-1/4 oz. The Pro Target is medium-light with a rear reel seat and an independent review of its line, in the premium tier; the ACC is medium power with a mid-seat cork handle and a wider line rating, in the mid-range tier, with owner talk rather than a test behind it.
Specs: Lew’s Wally Marshall Pro Target, 10′ ML, 2-piece (WMPT10MLS-2)
Pros
- Built by Lew’s for vertical jigging, from the Pro Target line Outdoor Life named its jigging pick
- Rated 1/32-1/4 oz and 4-10 lb, with a 4.5 oz weight published by Lew’s
- Sold below Lew’s list price at the time of writing
Cons
- Premium tier ($$$) in this guide
- Outdoor Life did not name the length it fished, and calls the line heavier than a 5- to 7-foot rod
- Not built for cast-and-retrieve fishing, per Outdoor Life
Who should buy it
Anglers who jig one rod straight down into brush and timber from the boat and want a 10-foot medium-light rod with a rear reel seat.
- Linked variant: 10′, medium-light, fast, 2-piece spinning (WMPT10MLS-2)
- Line and lure rating: 4-10 lb, 1/32-1/4 oz (Lew’s)
- Blank: IM8 graphite (Lew’s)
- Handle and seat: Winn Dri-Tac with EVA butt, rear graphite reel seat with metal hoods (Lew’s)
- Guides: 12 plus tip, stainless steel with stainless inserts (Lew’s)
- Rod weight: 4.5 oz (Lew’s)
- Warranty: Lew’s lists Pro Target jigging models at 2 years and all Wally Marshall rods at 1 year (Amazon’s listing says 1 year); Lew’s excludes rods bought from unauthorized resellers
- Price tier: $$$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
ACC Crappie Stix Jiggin’ Stix, 10 ft Mid-Seat Jig Rod
10' Medium 2-piece mid-seat cork (JS-102-M-MS-C) · High-modulus
Anglers who vertical jig or pitch jigs to cover and want a 10-foot medium-power rod with a mid-seat cork grip.
$99.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:13 UTCVerdict
A 10-foot medium-power jigging rod that ACC builds for “vertical jigging and pitching to brush, timber, and laydowns”, sold on Amazon by a third-party retailer (The Sportsman’s Guide at the time of writing), at ACC’s list price.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. Crappie.com forum posters: ACC rods, model not stated.
ACC lists the JS-102-M-MS-C as 10 feet, two pieces, medium power and fast action, 4.8 oz, with 11 guides, a mid-seat cork handle and a high-modulus blank, rated for 1/32-1/4 oz lures and “6–20 lb mono/co-poly or braid”. ACC says the medium power “protects 6–8 lb leaders and still turns fish from cover” and suggests a 1000-size spinning reel. Amazon’s item details call the action “Moderate”; ACC says medium/fast, and we use ACC’s figure. ACC states “Warranty: 6 months” on the product page.
We found no independent test of this rod. The crappie.com posters quoted above praise ACC rods’ light feel and backbone and also raise breakage, without naming a model. One maker-hosted review on ACC’s page for this rod reads, “I vertical jig for crappie 99% of the time. Light weight with great backbone.” Sold by The Sportsman’s Guide on Amazon at the time of writing, not by Amazon.com or ACC.
Trade-off against the Pro Target (pick 1): the ACC is medium power with a 6-20 lb line rating and a mid-seat cork grip, and sits a tier lower; the Pro Target is medium-light with a rear seat, a 4-10 lb rating and Lew’s 2-year listing for its Pro Target jigging models.
Specs: ACC Crappie Stix Jiggin’ Stix, 10′ Medium, 2-piece (JS-102-M-MS-C)
Pros
- Built by ACC for vertical jigging and pitching to brush, timber and laydowns
- ACC publishes weight, guides, line and lure rating for this exact model
- Sold at ACC’s list price by The Sportsman’s Guide at the time of writing
Cons
- No independent test; the forum talk covers ACC rods in general
- One crappie.com poster says breakage is “a really common complaint on ACC rods”
- ACC’s stated warranty is 6 months
Who should buy it
Anglers who vertical jig or pitch jigs to cover and want a 10-foot medium-power rod with a mid-seat cork grip.
- Linked variant: 10′, medium, fast, 2-piece spinning, mid-seat cork (JS-102-M-MS-C)
- Line and lure rating: 6-20 lb, 1/32-1/4 oz (ACC)
- Blank: High-modulus (ACC)
- Handle and seat: Cork, mid-seat (ACC)
- Guides: 11 (ACC)
- Rod weight: 4.8 oz (ACC)
- Warranty: 6 months (ACC)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
B’n’M Sam Heaton Super-Sensitive Bottom Seat, Bottom-Seat Jig Pole
11' 2-piece (SHSSBS112) · IM6 graphite
Jig-pole anglers who want an 11-foot pole with the reel down at the butt and a cork grip.
$74.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:13 UTCVerdict
An 11-foot IM6 graphite jig pole with the reel seat at the very bottom, sold by B’n’M’s own Amazon store at B’n’M’s price at the time of writing.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: B’n’M.
B’n’M describes the bottom-seat Sam Heaton as “Made of 40-million modulus IM6 graphite” and says, “By placing the reel seat at the bottom of the pole, this pole will feel lighter in your hand due to the superior balance, regardless of the type of reel you prefer.” It has a Portuguese cork handle, a “touch system” that “allows you direct contact with the rod blank”, and “high quality ceramic inserts surrounded by brass plated aluminum oxide frames”. The SHSSBS112 is the 11-foot, two-section model. B’n’M publishes no power, action, line or lure rating and no weight on the page we read; Amazon’s item fields list figures that do not match a jig pole (one piece, a “3 pounds” lure weight), so we do not use them.
We found no independent test. One maker-hosted review on B’n’M’s page says, “I like the 11’ length and the bottom seat reel. It works best for my fishing in east Texas.” B’n’M’s warranty covers defects “within a one-year period after purchase”, and B’n’M adds that it has “a policy for replacement of broken sections”.
Trade-off against the Buck’s Graphite Jig Pole (pick 4): both are 11-foot, two-section B’n’M jig poles. The Sam Heaton has the bottom reel seat, IM6 blank and cork handle and sits a tier higher; the Buck’s is the entry-tier graphite pole with a reinforced graphite reel seat, sold by a third-party tackle shop.
Specs: B’n’M Sam Heaton Super-Sensitive Bottom Seat, 11′, 2-piece (SHSSBS112)
Pros
- Bottom reel seat that B’n’M says balances the pole with any reel
- IM6 graphite blank and cork handle with direct blank contact, per B’n’M
- Sold by B’n’M’s own Amazon store at B’n’M’s price at the time of writing
Cons
- B’n’M’s product page gives no power, line or lure rating for it
- No independent test; the one review quoted is hosted by B’n’M
- B’n’M’s warranty runs one year
Who should buy it
Jig-pole anglers who want an 11-foot pole with the reel down at the butt and a cork grip.
- Linked variant: 11′, 2 sections (SHSSBS112)
- Power, action, line and lure rating: not published
- Blank: 40-million modulus IM6 graphite (B’n’M)
- Handle and seat: Portuguese cork, bottom reel seat, touch system (B’n’M)
- Guides: Ceramic inserts in brass-plated aluminum oxide frames (B’n’M)
- Rod weight: not published
- Warranty: One year, defects in materials and workmanship; broken-section replacement policy (B’n’M)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
B’n’M Buck’s Graphite Jig Pole, 11 ft Graphite Jig Pole
11' 2-piece (BGJP112N) · Graphite
Anglers who want a plain 11-foot graphite jig pole for vertical jigging and dipping on a smaller budget.
$51.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:13 UTCVerdict
B’n’M’s long-running graphite jig pole in the 11-foot length, which B’n’M says “is designed for vertical jigging”, in the entry tier of this guide.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: B’n’M.
B’n’M writes, “We introduced the very first graphite jig pole over 40 years ago, the Buck’s Graphite Jig Pole,” which is the maker’s own claim. It describes single-foot DynaFlo alloy guides with a larger diameter “when using a float or bobber”, a “reinforced graphite reel seat” that “keeps the reel tighter to the pole”, and a reinforced hi-vis (RHV) tip: B’n’M says the series is “NOW EQUIPPED WITH REINFORCED HI-VIS (RHV) TIP” and that “Original tips are still available if you prefer”, and the Amazon listing does not say which tip it ships with. B’n’M adds: “This series is designed for vertical jigging, but the 14ft and 16ft models are great for spider rigging/slow trolling as well.” The BGJP112N is the 11-foot, two-section pole. B’n’M publishes no power, action, line or lure rating, handle material or weight on the page we read; Amazon’s item fields give a power and line rating B’n’M does not, and we do not use them.
We found no independent test. A maker-hosted review on B’n’M’s page, from a buyer of the 10-foot pole rather than this 11-foot one, says the rod handled “a not intentional 8 pound flat head catfish”. B’n’M’s one-year defect warranty and broken-section policy apply. Sold by Tackle Shack Outdoors on Amazon at the time of writing, not by Amazon.com or B’n’M, below B’n’M’s list price.
Trade-off against the Sam Heaton (pick 3): the Buck’s is the lower-tier pole with a reel seat set further up; the Sam Heaton has the bottom seat, IM6 blank and cork grip.
Specs: B’n’M Buck’s Graphite Jig Pole, 11′, 2-piece (BGJP112N)
Pros
- An 11-foot graphite jig pole that B’n’M designs for vertical jigging
- Larger single-foot guides B’n’M says suit a float or bobber as well as a jig
- Entry tier in this guide, sold below B’n’M’s list price at the time of writing
Cons
- B’n’M’s product page gives no power, line or lure rating for it
- Sold by a third-party tackle shop, not Amazon or B’n’M
- No independent test; the hosted review is of the 10-foot pole
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a plain 11-foot graphite jig pole for vertical jigging and dipping on a smaller budget.
- Linked variant: 11′, 2 sections (BGJP112N)
- Power, action, line and lure rating: not published
- Blank: Graphite (B’n’M)
- Handle and seat: Reinforced graphite reel seat; handle material not stated (B’n’M)
- Guides: Single-foot DynaFlo alloy guides; reinforced hi-vis tip on B’n’M’s current version; the Amazon listing does not say which tip it ships with
- Rod weight: not published
- Warranty: One year, defects in materials and workmanship; broken-section replacement policy (B’n’M)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Catch The Fever Precision Jig Rear Seat, 12 ft Rear-Seat Jig Rod
Anglers who want a 12-foot jigging rod for reach from the boat at an entry-level price and are fine with a thin spec sheet.
$45.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:13 UTCVerdict
A 12-foot medium-power jigging rod that Catch The Fever builds “for tight-line control” and rates for 1/32-1/4 oz jigs, sold by the maker’s own Amazon store at the time of writing.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Catch The Fever.
Catch The Fever calls the Precision Jig Rear Seat “a long crappie jigging rod built for tight-line control, fast recovery, and high-feedback bite detection when fish only ‘tick’ the bait.” Its table lists the 12-foot model as medium power, rated for 1/32-1/4 oz lures and 4-12 lb line, at 5.0 oz. The maker’s page does not give the action, number of pieces, blank material or handle material. The warranty terms we found are on the Amazon listing, not the maker’s page: “1 Year Standard Protection Warranty against manufacturing defects if product is registered on www.catchthefever.com with the original receipt and/or order number.”
We found no independent test or owner reviews of this rod. Catch The Fever’s own page is the source of every figure here. Sold by Catch The Fever Outdoors on Amazon at the time of writing, at the price on the maker’s site.
Trade-off against the Pro Target and ACC (picks 1 and 2): the Catch The Fever is two feet longer, for more reach from the boat, and in the entry tier; the 10-foot rods have makers’ full spec sheets and, for the Pro Target, an independent review of its line.
Specs: Catch The Fever Precision Jig Rear Seat, 12′ Medium
Pros
- 12-foot rod the maker builds for tight-line jigging, rated 1/32-1/4 oz
- Maker publishes line rating and weight for the 12-foot model
- Sold by Catch The Fever’s own Amazon store at the time of writing
Cons
- No independent test or owner reviews found
- Action, blank and piece count are not published
- Warranty terms are from the Amazon listing, not the maker’s page
Who should buy it
Anglers who want a 12-foot jigging rod for reach from the boat at an entry-level price and are fine with a thin spec sheet.
- Linked variant: 12′, medium, rear seat (Precision Jig)
- Line and lure rating: 4-12 lb, 1/32-1/4 oz (Catch The Fever)
- Action: not published
- Blank: not published
- Handle and seat: Rear reel seat; handle material not stated
- Rod weight: 5.0 oz (Catch The Fever)
- Warranty: 1 year against manufacturing defects if registered, per the Amazon listing
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
B’n’M Pro Staff Trolling Rod, 14 ft Spider-Rig Rod
14' 3-piece (PST143N) · Graphite
Boat anglers who spider rig or slow troll several rods from holders and want a 14-foot rod to spread their baits.
View on AmazonVerdict
A 14-foot, three-section trolling rod from the B’n’M series Outdoor Life named its trolling pick, made for rod holders and spider rigging.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Outdoor Life: Pro Staff Trolling Rods, length not stated.
Outdoor Life named the B’n’M Pro Staff Trolling Rods its “Best Trolling Rod”, listed in 12, 14 and 16 feet, and wrote: “Varying lengths of B ’n’ M Poles’ Trolling Rods have also allowed me to stagger my trolling spread without tangling lines.” Its pros include “Perfect length-actions for pulling crankbaits or spider rigging”, and its con is plain: “Designed to be fished in rod holders; rod length and weight can be fatiguing to handhold for extended periods.” Outdoor Life did not say which length it fished.
B’n’M says the Pro Staff guides are “made of extremely durable alloy with smooth, stainless inserts that will never pop out while spider rigging aggressively, pulling crankbaits or long-lining”, which is the maker’s claim, and lists the 14-foot rod at 8.7 oz with B’n’M’s reinforced hi-vis tip. B’n’M publishes no power, action, line or lure rating on the page we read; Outdoor Life lists a “100-percent graphite blank” and an “EVA handle”. B’n’M’s one-year defect warranty and broken-section policy apply. Sold by B’n’M’s own Amazon store, shipped by Amazon, below B’n’M’s list price at the time of writing.
Trade-off against the jig poles (picks 3 and 4): the Pro Staff is for setting several rods in holders and pushing or pulling jigs and crankbaits; the jig poles are for holding one rod and dropping a jig into cover.
Specs: B’n’M Pro Staff Trolling Rod, 14′, 3-piece (PST143N)
Pros
- 14-foot spider-rigging rod from the series Outdoor Life named its trolling pick
- Alloy guides with stainless inserts and a reinforced hi-vis tip, per B’n’M
- Sold by B’n’M’s own Amazon store at the time of writing
Cons
- Made for rod holders; Outdoor Life found the length and weight tiring to hand-hold
- B’n’M’s product page gives no power, line or lure rating
- Outdoor Life did not name the length it fished
Who should buy it
Boat anglers who spider rig or slow troll several rods from holders and want a 14-foot rod to spread their baits.
- Linked variant: 14′, 3 sections (PST143N)
- Power, action, line and lure rating: not published
- Blank: 100-percent graphite (Outdoor Life)
- Handle and seat: EVA handle (Outdoor Life)
- Guides: Alloy with stainless inserts; reinforced hi-vis tip (B’n’M)
- Rod weight: 8.7 oz (B’n’M)
- Warranty: One year, defects in materials and workmanship; broken-section replacement policy (B’n’M)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Ugly Stik Carbon Crappie, 9 ft Light Spinning Rod
9' Light 2-piece (USCBCRSP902L) · 24-ton graphite
Anglers who want one 9-foot crappie spinning rod for dipping, vertical jigging and longer casts from the bank, bought from Amazon.com.
$79.95 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:13 UTCVerdict
A 9-foot light, moderate-fast crappie spinning rod sold by Amazon.com at Ugly Stik’s price at the time of writing, with Ugly Stik’s 10-year rod warranty.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Ugly Stik.
Ugly Stik lists the USCBCRSP902L at 9 feet, light power and moderate-fast action, rated for 4-10 lb line and 1/16-1/4 oz lures, in two pieces, built with “100% 24-ton graphite”, a solid graphite tip, one-piece stainless Ugly Tuff guides and a full EVA rear grip. Amazon’s item details list a fast action and 2-6 lb line; Ugly Stik’s own table says moderate fast and 4-10 lb, and we use Ugly Stik’s. Ugly Stik states a “10-year rod warranty”.
We found no independent test of the Carbon Crappie. Outdoor Life mentions the series, without testing it, as a line that “comes in lengths from 5.5 feet to 11 feet. So there are models available for everything from fishing tiny creeks to spider rigging in deep water.” (Ugly Stik’s own spinning table runs 5’4″ to 11′.) Its length guide adds that rods of “9+ feet” are “great for dipping (think cane pole fishing), vertical jigging, and trolling” and that “A 9-foot rod could also be used by shore-bound anglers who want to make longer casts.” Note that its lure rating starts at 1/16 oz, not the 1/32 oz of several picks here.
Trade-off against the Pro Target (pick 1): both are spinning rods for jigging. The Ugly Stik is a foot shorter, light rather than medium-light, rated from 1/16 oz rather than 1/32 oz, and a tier lower, with a longer stated warranty; the Pro Target has the rear reel seat and the independent review of its line.
Specs: Ugly Stik Carbon Crappie, 9′ Light, 2-piece (USCBCRSP902L)
Pros
- 9-foot light rod in a length Outdoor Life’s guide sets for dipping, vertical jigging and trolling
- Ugly Stik states a 10-year rod warranty
- Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing
Cons
- Lure rating starts at 1/16 oz, heavier than the 1/32 oz floor of several picks
- No independent test of this rod found
- Amazon’s listing gives a different action and line rating from Ugly Stik’s
Who should buy it
Anglers who want one 9-foot crappie spinning rod for dipping, vertical jigging and longer casts from the bank, bought from Amazon.com.
- Linked variant: 9′, light, moderate fast, 2-piece spinning (USCBCRSP902L)
- Line and lure rating: 4-10 lb, 1/16-1/4 oz (Ugly Stik)
- Blank: 24-ton graphite with solid graphite tip (Ugly Stik)
- Handle and seat: Full EVA rear grip (Ugly Stik)
- Guides: One-piece stainless steel Ugly Tuff guides (Ugly Stik)
- Rod weight: not published
- Warranty: 10 years (Ugly Stik)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Lew’s Wally Marshall Classic Signature, 7 ft Dock-Shooting Rod
7' ML 1-piece (WMCS70MLS) · IM8 graphite
Anglers who cast and shoot jigs to docks and cover and want a 7-foot medium-light rod for it.
$89.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:13 UTCVerdict
A 7-foot medium-light, moderate spinning rod from the series Wally Marshall says he uses in its 5’6″ to 7’0″ lengths “for my dock shooting”, sold by Amazon.com at Lew’s price at the time of writing.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Lew’s.
Lew’s lists the WMCS70MLS as a 7-foot, one-piece spinning rod with medium-light power and moderate action, rated for 2-8 lb line and 1/32-1/4 oz lures, with 9 guides plus the tip. Lew’s describes “premium IM8 blanks”, stainless steel guides and inserts, lightweight graphite reel seats and a split cork handle. Marshall, quoted on Lew’s page, says: “I use the 5’6” to 7’0” models for my dock shooting,” and “I turn to the longer spinning lengths for traditional casting, targeting cover and laydowns.” Lew’s warranty page lists “All Wally Marshall & Mr. Crappie Rods” under a 1-year limited warranty.
We found no independent test of this rod. For shooting docks, Outdoor Life’s combo test describes 5.5 to 6.5 feet as “the ideal length for dock shooting” and says “A 7-foot rod can also shoot docks with the right action,” so this 7-footer sits at the long end of that range.
Trade-off against the long rods: this is the pick for casting and shooting a jig to docks, stumps and laydowns, where the 9- to 14-foot rods above are for jigging straight down or trolling. It is the second Lew’s pick; against the Pro Target (pick 1) it is a short casting rod, not a vertical jigging rod.
Specs: Lew’s Wally Marshall Classic Signature, 7′ ML, 1-piece (WMCS70MLS)
Pros
- 7-foot rod in the length range Wally Marshall says he uses for dock shooting
- Rated 2-8 lb and 1/32-1/4 oz, per Lew’s
- Sold by Amazon.com at Lew’s price at the time of writing
Cons
- At the long end of the dock-shooting lengths in Outdoor Life’s guide
- No independent test of this rod found
- Lew’s 1-year limited warranty on Wally Marshall rods
Who should buy it
Anglers who cast and shoot jigs to docks and cover and want a 7-foot medium-light rod for it.
- Linked variant: 7′, medium-light, moderate, 1-piece spinning (WMCS70MLS)
- Line and lure rating: 2-8 lb, 1/32-1/4 oz (Lew’s)
- Blank: IM8 graphite (Lew’s)
- Handle and seat: Split cork handle, graphite reel seat (Lew’s)
- Guides: 9 plus tip, stainless steel with stainless inserts (Lew’s)
- Rod weight: not published
- Warranty: 1-year limited (Lew’s, all Wally Marshall rods)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Choosing a Crappie Jigging Rod by Technique
Crappie jig poles, vertical jigging rods, spider-rigging rods and jig-casting rods
- Jig poles (10 to 12 feet and more): long rods for holding one line straight down into brush or timber and lifting fish out. Here: the B’n’M Sam Heaton and Buck’s poles, the Catch The Fever 12-foot and, among spinning rods made for the job, the Lew’s Pro Target and ACC 10-footers. Outdoor Life says longer models suit live-sonar fishing in front of the boat, and 10- or 12-footers suit “delivering a bait into small openings or high-percentage spots near brush”.
- Spider-rigging and trolling rods (12 to 16 feet): several rods set in holders, pushed or pulled slowly. Here: the B’n’M Pro Staff 14-foot.
- Casting and dock-shooting rods (5.5 to 7 feet): for casting a jig or shooting it under docks. Here: the Lew’s Wally Marshall Classic 7-foot. For a float and jig, our guide on how to put a bobber on a fishing line covers the rig.

What length rod is best for crappie jigging?
It depends on the technique. Outdoor Life’s combo test gives 5.5 to 6.5 feet for short, accurate casts and dock shooting, 7 feet as “the standard length for rods that specialize in casting”, and 9 feet and up for “dipping (think cane pole fishing), vertical jigging, and trolling.” For vertical jigging, Outdoor Life defines a crappie “jigging rod” as “at least 9-foot”. Spider-rigging rods here run to 14 feet.
Power, action and lure rating
Outdoor Life’s advice: “When choosing a rod power look at its lure weight rating to be sure the lures you plan to use fall within the spec.” Of the makers that publish one, the ratings here start at 1/32 oz (Lew’s, ACC, Catch The Fever) or 1/16 oz (Ugly Stik) and top out at 1/4 oz. On action, Outdoor Life says fast-action rods “are perfect for fishing a jig”, while a moderate action will “protect light line” and suits “techniques where you don’t have a lot of line out (dipping).” B’n’M’s product pages give no rating for its three rods, so ask B’n’M before matching them to a very light or heavy jig. Our guide to fishing lure types explains jig heads and the other lures crappie anglers use.
Frequently Asked Questions About Crappie Jigging Rods
Q. What is the best crappie rod for jigging?
It depends on how you jig. Outdoor Life named the Lew’s Wally Marshall Pro Target jigging rods its jigging pick and the B’n’M Pro Staff its trolling pick. For holding one rod into cover, the 10- to 12-foot rods and poles in this guide are built for that; for spider rigging, a 12- to 16-foot trolling rod; for casting jigs and shooting docks, a shorter rod like the 7-foot Lew’s Classic.
Q. What is the best length for a crappie rod?
For jigging straight down, 9 feet and longer; Outdoor Life calls a crappie jigging rod “at least 9-foot”. For casting, Outdoor Life gives 7 feet as the standard and 5.5 to 6.5 feet for dock shooting.
Q. What is the best rod setup for crappie fishing?
Outdoor Life’s suggestion for one all-round rod is “a 7-foot rod with a light power and moderate fast action”, which it says will “cast light jigs, fish bobbers, and even shoot docks.” For a jigging rod, Outdoor Life notes it has “long paired longer jigging rods with a 1000-size spinning reel”, and ACC suggests a 1000-size reel for its 10-foot rod. Our spinning reel size guide explains what a 1000 size means across brands.
Q. What kind of rod is best for jigging?
For crappie, a long, light rod: a jig pole or a 9- to 12-foot spinning rod with a lure rating that covers 1/32 to 1/4 oz jigs. Jigging for other fish can call for very different rods; for jigging through the ice, see our ice fishing rod roundup.
Q. Should I buy a crappie jigging rod and reel combo?
This guide covers rods sold on their own. Outdoor Life tested crappie combos in 2025 and named the Mitchell AvoSlab, a 9-foot light combo, its pick for vertical jigging; combos save matching a reel, while a separate rod lets you choose the reel.
The bottom line
Final Verdict
For single-pole vertical jigging, start with the Lew’s Wally Marshall Pro Target (check price) 10-foot, from the line Outdoor Life named its jigging pick, or the medium-power ACC Crappie Stix Jiggin’ Stix (check price) a tier lower. For a classic jig pole, the B’n’M Sam Heaton Super-Sensitive Bottom Seat (check price) has the bottom reel seat and cork grip, the B’n’M Buck’s Graphite Jig Pole (check price) is the entry-tier 11-footer, and the Catch The Fever Precision Jig Rear Seat (check price) adds a 12-foot option. For spider rigging, the B’n’M Pro Staff Trolling Rod (check price) 14-foot is the pick. The Ugly Stik Carbon Crappie (check price) 9-foot light covers dipping and jigging with a 10-year warranty, and the Lew’s Wally Marshall Classic Signature (check price) 7-foot is for casting and shooting jigs.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
