Fly Fishing Waterproof Backpacks: 5 Picks Compared

21 min read

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read our affiliate disclosure.

The short answer

The Fishpond Thunderhead is the zip-closure pack Fishpond calls fully submersible, the Simms Dry Creek Rolltop and Fishpond Wind River are the two roll-top packs from Simms and Fishpond, the Grundéns Bootlegger is a welded roll-top the maker rates “100% waterproof,” and the Buffalo Gear 26L is the entry-tier zip pack.

Our verdict

Our Top Picks

A waterproof fly fishing backpack carries layers, fly boxes, tippet and a camera or phone on the river, and its maker says the main compartment keeps water out. The makers use different words for that: Fishpond calls the Thunderhead “fully submersible,” Grundéns says “100% waterproof,” and the Buffalo Gear page says “100% Waterproof” for rain, splashes and rough use. This guide compares five packs sold for fishing by what each maker publishes (the waterproofing wording, volume in litres, weight, rod and net attachments) next to what a fly shop, a fishing magazine and r/flyfishing posters say about them. Each pick links one colour on Amazon, and the review names it. Slings, hip packs, chest packs and rod-tube cases are not covered here.

Related guide: Fly Fishing Rod Holders: 8 Picks Compared

Backpack finder

Find a waterproof backpack for your fishing

Pick what you need it for and what you want to spend. The suggestion is our editorial starting point, drawn from the five waterproof backpacks below, not a test result.

What do you need it for?
Price tier

Price tier: $ = entry level, $$ = mid-range, $$$ = premium, relative to the backpacks in this guide. Live Amazon prices are in the comparison table.

What Makes a Backpack a Fly Fishing One?

Not every maker page is written only for fly fishing. Simms’ page lists a “fly patch” and a “D-ring for net” on the Dry Creek Rolltop, and Amazon’s title for the Thunderhead calls it a “Fly Fishing & Travel Backpack.” Buffalo Gear’s page says its pack is “perfect for fly fishing, kayaking, or lake trips.” The Wind River page describes moving “gear through the airports and into the wild” and does not name fly fishing; The Fly Shop’s travel director describes using one on a flats trip. Grundéns’ text says “anglers” and “fishing,” not fly fishing, so it is the one pick here that is sold for fishing in general, and its review says so.

Related guide: Fly Fishing Stripping Baskets: 6 Picks Compared

Three things separate the five. The first is the closure: the Thunderhead and the Buffalo Gear pack use a zipper on the main compartment, and the other three roll the top down. The second is how each maker words the waterproofing: Fishpond says “fully waterproof” for the Thunderhead’s main zip and “water resistant” for its front-pocket zip, and none of the pages we read for these five gives an IP rating or a submersion depth or time. The third is what each maker publishes: Fishpond gives volume and weight, Grundéns gives a 30L name and no weight, and Simms’ page gives neither volume nor weight. Our fly fishing for beginners guide covers the rest of a first kit, fly fishing waders explained covers the waders that go with a pack like this, and how to set up a fly rod and reel covers what you may be carrying on it.

Related guide: Fly Fishing Float Tubes: 7 Picks Compared

Compare the picks

Compare the Fly Fishing Waterproof Backpacks

Every row is the exact colour we link on Amazon. Waterproofing, volume, weight and attachment cells are each maker’s own words, with Amazon listing or retailer figures labelled; “Not published” means the maker’s page gives nothing.

fishpond Thunderhead Submersible Waterproof Fly Fishing &…Fishpond ThunderheadSubmersible zip, 28LSubmersible zip, travel, rod carryFishpond: waterproof main zip28L per Fishpond$299.95
Linked modelEco Cutthroat Orange
WaterproofingFishpond: waterproof main zip (front pocket zip: water resistant)
Volume28L per Fishpond (Amazon's table says 26.5 L)
Weight3.05 lb (Fishpond)

Rod / net attachments: Daisy chain, D-ring, four-way back-panel attachments (Fishpond); side fly-rod attachments (Hatch)

Evidence: Hatch Magazine (Chris Hunt, 27 Aug 2025), this exact model

Simms DRY CREEK ROLLTOP BACKPACK BLACKSimms Dry Creek RolltopRoll-top, tool portsRoll-top, rod carry, wet daysSimms: waterproof roll-top30L per Amazon$229.95 Prime
Linked modelBlack
Volume30L per Amazon (Simms: not published)
Weight0.93 kg / 2.05 lb (Amazon "Item Weight", basis not stated; Simms: not published)

Waterproofing: Simms: waterproof roll-top (outside pocket zip: not submersible per Manic, prototype)

Rod / net attachments: D-ring for net, Hypalon lash ports (Simms); bottle pockets hold a rod tube (Manic, prototype)

Evidence: Manic Tackle Project, review of a prototype (a retailer), not independent

fishpond Wind River Roll-Top Waterproof Fishing Backpack…Fishpond Wind RiverRoll-top, 38L maxRoll-top, travel, rod carryFishpond: waterproof roll-top body38L max per Fishpond$229.95
Linked modelEco Shadowcast Camo
WaterproofingFishpond: waterproof roll-top body (front pocket zip: no rating given)
Weight3.6 lb (Fishpond)

Rod / net attachments: Lariat Gear Straps included (Fishpond); waistband strap holds a second rod (The Fly Shop)

Evidence: The Fly Shop (Patrick Pendergast, Director of Travel) (a retailer), not independent

Grundéns Bootlegger Roll Top Backpack - Waterproof Pack…Grundéns BootleggerWelded roll-top, 30LRoll-top, wet days, fishingGrundéns: 100% waterproof welded30L per Grundéns$124.99
Linked modelDark Navy
WaterproofingGrundéns: 100% waterproof welded (roll-top)
Volume30L per Grundéns (name and Amazon)
WeightNot published
Rod / net attachmentsNot published

Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test

Buffalo Gear Waterproof Fishing Backpack With Rod Holder…Buffalo Gear 26LEntry tier, zip, 26LZip closure, entry tier, rod carryBuffalo Gear: 100% waterproof26L per Buffalo Gear$79.99
Linked modelGrey
WaterproofingBuffalo Gear: 100% waterproof (waterproof zipper)
Volume26L per Buffalo Gear (27.5 QT)
WeightNot published
Rod / net attachmentsVelcro rod straps, gear loops (Buffalo Gear)

Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test

Prices as of Nov 4, 09:35 UTC

How These Five Backpacks Were Picked

How this guide was built

built from manufacturer documentation, published third-party reviews and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.

What each backpack had to clear

  • A backpack that its maker or its Amazon listing sells for fishing and describes as waterproof or water-resistant, in the maker’s own words.
  • A colour in stock on Amazon whose Amazon record names that colour or volume, so the link opens the pack we describe.
  • Volume, weight and waterproofing claims copied from the maker’s own page, or labelled “Amazon listing” or “retailer” where the maker’s page does not give the figure; anything the maker does not publish is marked “not published”.
  • A distinct job among the picks (closure, volume, price tier) and a named source on how it holds up, graded by who wrote it.
Where the evidence comes from and what anglers keep saying

Where the evidence comes from

One of the five has an independent review of the exact model: Hatch Magazine’s August 2025 review of the Thunderhead. Two rest on reviews by sellers: the Simms Dry Creek Rolltop on Manic Tackle Project, a South Pacific distributor and shop that offers the Simms collection, and the Wind River on The Fly Shop, a fly shop and outfitter with an online shop. The Manic page is dated June 29, 2026; The Fly Shop’s page is undated. The Grundéns and Buffalo Gear picks rest on maker specs only; we found no independent test of either. Three limits apply. First, none of the five makers gives an IP rating or a submersion depth or time, so “submersible,” “waterproof” and “water-resistant” below are each maker’s word, not a rated standard. Second, Amazon’s listing for the Thunderhead gives 26.5 liters in its table and 28L in its bullet, and Fishpond gives 28L; we print both. Third, the Simms Rolltop’s 30L comes from Amazon’s listing and from Manic’s review of a prototype, not from Simms’ page.

What anglers keep saying

Two r/flyfishing threads are relevant here, one from November 2023 and one from June 2025. In the 2025 thread, a poster who writes “I’ve owned both” says: “Had the Panga and ended up selling it to buy the Thunderhead. Both a great but I think the Thunderhead had an edge because of the fishing specific features.” The same poster adds: “the rod tube straps are nice.” The original poster of that thread writes that they “prefer zippers over roll top bags,” while The Fly Shop’s author, writing about the Wind River, chose the roll-top “because…well, zippers fail.” In the 2023 thread, a poster who says they have “the Simms Dry Creek pack” quotes another poster’s complaint about a Patagonia Guidewater, that it is sometimes “tough to unzip when it’s empty or not a lot of gear in it,” and says it is their only complaint with the Simms; that poster does not say which Dry Creek model they own, and the Dry Creek Rolltop we link has no waterproof main zip. These are posters’ views, not tests.

Detailed Reviews of the 5 Waterproof Backpacks

Fishpond Thunderhead Submersible Backpack, Eco Cutthroat Orange, Submersible Zip, 28L

Submersible zip, 28L
fishpond Thunderhead Submersible Waterproof Fly Fishing &…

Fishpond Thunderhead

Eco Cutthroat Orange · 28L per Fishpond

Anglers who want a zip-closure pack that its maker rates fully submersible, and who will look after the zipper.

$299.95 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:35 UTC

Verdict

The pack Fishpond calls “fully submersible,” for anglers who want a zip-closure main compartment and the maker’s accessory system.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Hatch Magazine (Chris Hunt, 27 Aug 2025): Thunderhead Submersible Backpack, 28 liters; colour not stated.

Fishpond’s Thunderhead page says: “This fully submersible backpack is one of our toughest bags ever, constructed with our bombproof 900D TPU coated NewStream fabric*, a waterproof TRU Zip closure, and a sturdy harness system for a more comfortable carry.” Its feature list says “Fully waterproof, self-healing TRU Zip zipper closure on main compartment” and “Water resistant zipper closure on the front pocket.” Fishpond gives the size as “28L (1,648 Cu. In.)” and the weight as “3.05 LBS,” and lists a “Coated webbing daisy chain, d-ring, and four-way attachments on back panel for various accessories,” “One set of Lariat Gear Straps (included)” and “Accessories not included.” Fishpond publishes no IP rating, depth or time.

We link Eco Cutthroat Orange. Amazon’s listing bullet repeats Fishpond’s “28L (1,648 cu. in.)” and “3.05 lbs,” but its attribute table says “Storage Volume: 26.5 liters,” so Amazon disagrees with itself and with Fishpond; we go by the maker’s 28L. The seller was The Kingfisher, shipping from Amazon, when we checked on 25 October 2026.

Hatch Magazine’s August 2025 review by Chris Hunt covers the Thunderhead and says “it holds up to 28 liters of gear.” Hunt writes: “While the TRU-zip seal is, indeed, waterproof,” and also that “the seal separation happens all to fast” in his use, and “Yes, it will, at some point, fail.” He recommends the lubricant Fishpond includes: “use the lubricant.” He describes “belt-like fly-rod attachments on the side” and a single exterior pocket that “depends on the attachable accessories,” some of which “must be ordered separately.” His verdict: “On the whole, the Thunderhead is an excellent choice for travelers looking for a pack that offers space, comfort, and packability.” Hatch does not say which colour it reviewed.

Against the Wind River (pick 3), the Thunderhead is the zip-closure pack with a main zip Fishpond calls “fully waterproof”; the Wind River is Fishpond’s roll-top, listed at 38L max and 3.6 lb, and Fishpond makes no waterproof claim for its front-pocket zip.

Specs (linked: Eco Cutthroat Orange)

  • Waterproofing: “Fully waterproof” main-compartment TRU Zip; front pocket zip “water resistant” (Fishpond); no IP rating or depth/time published
  • Volume: 28L (1,648 cu. in.) per Fishpond; Amazon’s table says 26.5 liters
  • Weight: 3.05 lb (Fishpond)
  • Fabric: 900D TPU coated NewStream (Fishpond)
  • Attachments: daisy chain, D-ring, four-way attachments on back panel; Lariat Gear Straps included (Fishpond)

Pros

  • Main compartment Fishpond rates “fully waterproof” with a TRU Zip zipper, and calls the pack “fully submersible”
  • Independent review (Hatch Magazine) of this model, with its zipper caveats stated
  • Back-panel attachment points and included Lariat Gear Straps, per Fishpond

Cons

  • Premium tier among the five backpacks here
  • Hatch’s reviewer reports that the seal “will, at some point, fail” and needs the lubricant
  • Amazon’s table (26.5 liters) and Fishpond (28L) disagree on volume

Who should buy it

Anglers who want a zip-closure pack that its maker rates fully submersible, and who will look after the zipper.

Check on Amazon

Simms Dry Creek Rolltop Backpack, Black, Roll-Top, Tool Ports

Roll-top, tool ports
Simms DRY CREEK ROLLTOP BACKPACK BLACK

Simms Dry Creek Rolltop

Black · 30L per Amazon

Anglers who want a roll-top with fly-fishing tool storage and who are fine with volume and weight figures that come from Amazon rather than from Simms.

$229.95 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:35 UTC

Verdict

Simms’ roll-top with a fly patch and tool ports on the straps, for anglers who want a roll-top with fly-fishing tool storage.

Evidence: Retailer review (sells it), not independent. Manic Tackle Project, review of a prototype: Dry Creek Rolltop Backpack, 30L, a prototype; colour not stated.

Simms’ Dry Creek Rolltop page says: “Waterproof roll-top backpack keeps critical gear dry and organized through relentless wet-weather missions.” It lists an “Interior stretch-mesh storage pocket, exterior lash points, and built-in easy-access tool storage,” “Fully cushioned shoulder straps with breathable, water-resistant mapped back-panel,” “Dual stretch mesh water bottle pockets” and a “Removable waist strap, fly patch, and tool port on shoulder straps plus D-ring for net and Hypalon lash ports throughout.” The fabric is “300D Polyester Ripstop with face PU coating and backside TPU coating.” Simms’ page gives no volume and no weight.

We link Black. Amazon’s listing gives “Storage Volume: 30 liters” and an “Item Weight” of 0.93 kg (2.05 lb), without saying how it was weighed; those are Amazon’s figures. Amazon.com held the buy box when we checked on 25 October 2026.

Manic Tackle Project, a South Pacific distributor and shop that offers the Simms collection, reviewed a prototype of this pack, so its page is a retailer review, not independent, dated June 29, 2026 on the page. It says: “This model is simply referred to as the Simms Dry Creek RollTop Backpack which has a full volume of 30L, however it can be cinched down to about 15L in dimensions with a quick pull of the side straps.” On the closure it says there is “no t-zip on this version,” and of the outside pocket: “The zip here is not submersible but water resistant enough to shed any rain or a short submersion.” On rods: “The water bottle holders make for a great rod storage solution and what 99% of anglers will use them for.” The reviewer also writes that “my needs usually render anything under about 30L in volume obsolete.”

Against the Wind River (pick 3), the other premium-tier roll-top, the Simms page lists tool ports, a fly patch and a D-ring for a net, but no volume or weight; Fishpond’s page lists a volume and weight but no tool ports.

Specs (linked: Black)

  • Waterproofing: “Waterproof roll-top backpack” (Simms); outside pocket zip “not submersible” (Manic, prototype); no IP rating or depth/time published
  • Volume: 30L (Amazon listing; Manic, prototype); not published on Simms’ page
  • Weight: 0.93 kg / 2.05 lb (Amazon “Item Weight”, basis not stated); not published by Simms
  • Fabric: 300D polyester ripstop, PU face coating, TPU back coating (Simms)
  • Attachments: D-ring for net, Hypalon lash ports, tool port and fly patch on straps (Simms)

Pros

  • Roll-top that Simms calls “waterproof,” with no waterproof zipper to look after
  • Fly patch, tool ports on the straps and a net D-ring, per Simms
  • Volume given as 30L, cinched to about 15L, by a Simms distributor’s review of a prototype

Cons

  • Premium tier among the five backpacks here
  • Simms publishes no volume or weight; the figures are Amazon’s and a retailer’s
  • The only review we found is by a Simms distributor, of a prototype, dated June 29, 2026

Who should buy it

Anglers who want a roll-top with fly-fishing tool storage and who are fine with volume and weight figures that come from Amazon rather than from Simms.

Check on Amazon

Fishpond Wind River Roll-Top Backpack, Eco Shadowcast Camo, Roll-Top, 38L Max

Roll-top, 38L max
fishpond Wind River Roll-Top Waterproof Fishing Backpack…

Fishpond Wind River

Eco Shadowcast Camo · 38L max per Fishpond

Anglers who want a roll-top with a published volume and weight and a waistband that a fly shop's author used to carry a second rod.

$229.95 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:35 UTC

Verdict

Fishpond’s roll-top, listed at 38L max, for anglers who want a published volume and weight on a roll-top.

Evidence: Retailer review (sells it), not independent. The Fly Shop (Patrick Pendergast, Director of Travel): Wind River Roll-Top Dry Backpack; colour not stated.

Fishpond’s Wind River page gives “38L max volume (2318 cu.in.)” and “3.6lb.” Its features include “900D TPU Coated NewStream Fabric,” “Roll top waterproof main body compartment,” “Front stretch mesh pocket with zipper closure,” “One set of Lariat Gear Straps (included)” and “Hypalon attachment points on shoulder straps for two-way radios or GPS systems.” Fishpond says the pack “has ample space to transport gear through the airports and into the wild with comfort.” The page makes no waterproof claim for the front-pocket zip, and publishes no IP rating, depth or time.

We link Eco Shadowcast Camo, one of the two colours on Fishpond’s page. Amazon’s bullets for it give no volume or weight, so the figures above are Fishpond’s. The seller was The Kingfisher, shipping from Amazon, when we checked on 25 October 2026.

Patrick Pendergast, Director of Travel at The Fly Shop, a retailer, wrote a review of the Wind River; it is undated. He chose the roll-top “because…well, zippers fail,” and says “the welded seams are kept to a minimum.” He used it for a flats trip where a second rod rides on the angler: “using the velcro strap on the backpack’s waistband to hold the rod tight to your hip.” His verdict: “This is a bomber pack, well-designed and constructed and I expect to get many years use out of it.” The Fly Shop also lists the pack in its online catalog, so this is a seller’s review, not an independent test, and it does not name a colour.

Against the Grundéns Bootlegger (pick 4), the mid-range roll-top, Fishpond publishes a weight (3.6 lb) and a “38L max volume” and Grundéns names 30L in the product title and publishes no weight.

Specs (linked: Eco Shadowcast Camo)

  • Waterproofing: “Roll top waterproof main body compartment” (Fishpond); front pocket zip: no rating given; no IP rating or depth/time published
  • Volume: 38L max (2318 cu.in.) per Fishpond
  • Weight: 3.6 lb (Fishpond)
  • Fabric: 900D TPU coated NewStream (Fishpond)
  • Attachments: Lariat Gear Straps included; Hypalon attachment points on shoulder straps (Fishpond)

Pros

  • Roll-top main compartment Fishpond calls waterproof, with no waterproof zipper to look after
  • Volume and weight both published by the maker
  • A fly shop’s author used the waistband strap to hold a second rod

Cons

  • Premium tier among the five backpacks here
  • “38L max volume” is a maximum; Fishpond does not say what rolling the top down leaves
  • The only review we found is by a seller and does not name a colour

Who should buy it

Anglers who want a roll-top with a published volume and weight and a waistband that a fly shop’s author used to carry a second rod.

Check on Amazon

Grundéns Bootlegger Roll Top Backpack 30L, Dark Navy, Welded Roll-Top

Welded roll-top, 30L
Grundéns Bootlegger Roll Top Backpack - Waterproof Pack…

Grundéns Bootlegger

Dark Navy · 30L per Grundéns

Anglers who want a roll-top from a fishing-apparel maker and who will accept thin published specs.

$124.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:35 UTC

Verdict

A welded roll-top from a fishing-apparel maker, for anglers who want the maker’s “100% waterproof” wording at the mid-range tier and can do without a published weight.

Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Grundéns’ product page and Amazon listing.

Grundéns’ Bootlegger page says the pack “is designed for anglers looking to stay light on their feet without compromising the 100% waterproof security they need for their gear and valuables.” The Amazon listing’s bullets, which carry Grundéns’ text, say “100% Waterproof Welded Construction,” “Roll Top Closure” and “Welded Straps.” The name carries the volume, 30L, and Amazon’s table gives “30 liters” and 6 x 17 x 27 inches (depth, width, height). Grundéns’ text says “anglers” and “fishing,” not fly fishing, so this is the one pick here sold for fishing in general. No weight is published on the maker’s page or in Amazon’s listing, and no IP rating, depth or time is given.

We link Dark Navy. The seller was Ridgeline Insights, which ships the pack itself rather than through Amazon, at the same price Grundéns lists; we do not know that seller. The Black colour showed no current offer when we checked, so it is not linked.

We found no independent test of the Bootlegger, so the Evidence line rests on the maker’s page. The maker’s wording, “100% waterproof,” is Grundéns’ claim; nothing we read gives a test or a rating behind it.

Against the Buffalo Gear (pick 5), the other pick where the maker’s page says “100% waterproof,” the Grundéns has a roll-top and welded construction and no waterproof zipper to look after; the Buffalo Gear has Velcro rod straps and gear loops that Grundéns does not list.

Specs (linked: Dark Navy)

  • Waterproofing: “100% Waterproof Welded Construction” (Grundéns, via its Amazon listing); no IP rating or depth/time published
  • Volume: 30L (product name); 30 liters (Amazon’s table)
  • Weight: not published
  • Size: 6 x 17 x 27 in, depth x width x height (Amazon’s table)
  • Attachments: not published (“welded straps” per the Amazon bullets)

Pros

  • Welded roll-top that Grundéns calls “100% waterproof”
  • Volume stated in the product name
  • No waterproof zipper to look after

Cons

  • Grundéns publishes no weight and no rod or net attachment list
  • The “100% waterproof” claim is the maker’s, with no rating or test named
  • The linked colour is sold by a seller we could not identify

Who should buy it

Anglers who want a roll-top from a fishing-apparel maker and who will accept thin published specs.

Check on Amazon

Buffalo Gear Waterproof Fishing Backpack 26L, Grey, Entry Tier, Zip, 26L

Entry tier, zip, 26L
Buffalo Gear Waterproof Fishing Backpack With Rod Holder…

Buffalo Gear 26L

Grey · 26L per Buffalo Gear

Anglers who want a zip-closure pack with rod straps at the entry tier.

$79.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:35 UTC

Verdict

An entry-tier zip pack from a fishing-bag maker, for anglers who want Velcro rod straps and a stated 26L without paying premium-tier prices.

Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Buffalo Gear’s product page and Amazon listing.

Buffalo Gear’s 26L backpack page says: “Made of high-strength fiber-reinforced tarp with a double-sided TPU coating, this 26L waterproof fishing backpack keeps your gear dry and protected from rain, splashes, and rough use.” On the zipper: “Heavy-duty waterproof zipper seals out water completely. *It may feel tight at first use due to its watertight design.” On carry: “Equipped with Velcro rod straps, front mesh storage, and gear loops — perfect for fly fishing, kayaking, or lake trips.” It gives “Capacity: 27.5QT / 26L” and “Size: 18.9″H × 12.2″W × 7.5″D,” and lists no weight.

We link Grey; Buffalo Gear’s page calls the colour Gray. Amazon’s listing words it differently from the maker: it says “heavy duty oxford fabric and double-sided waterproof TPU coating,” calls the pack a “fishing submersible backpack of 26L,” and says the “TRU airtight zipper” keeps belongings protected “while wading through the river.” Buffalo Gear’s page says “Waterproof Zipper,” not TRU, and does not say submersible, so we cannot tell what “TRU” means here, and we treat “submersible” as the Amazon listing’s word. The seller was COLD4FISH, shipping from Amazon, when we checked on 25 October 2026.

We found no independent test of this pack, so the Evidence line rests on the maker’s page.

Against the Grundéns (pick 4), the Buffalo Gear is a zip pack with Velcro rod straps and gear loops, and the maker’s page says its zipper “may feel tight at first use”; the Grundéns is a roll-top with no zipper to look after and lists no rod attachments.

Specs (linked: Grey)

  • Waterproofing: “100% Waterproof” with a “waterproof zipper” (Buffalo Gear); Amazon’s listing says “submersible” and “TRU airtight zipper”; no IP rating or depth/time published
  • Volume: 26L (27.5 QT) per Buffalo Gear
  • Weight: not published
  • Size: 18.9 x 12.2 x 7.5 in (Buffalo Gear)
  • Attachments: Velcro rod straps, gear loops (Buffalo Gear)

Pros

  • Velcro rod straps and gear loops, per Buffalo Gear
  • Volume stated by the maker as 26L (27.5 QT)
  • Entry tier among the five backpacks here

Cons

  • Buffalo Gear publishes no weight
  • Maker and Amazon listing word the fabric and the zipper differently
  • No independent test found

Who should buy it

Anglers who want a zip-closure pack with rod straps at the entry tier.

Check on Amazon

Choosing a Waterproof Fly Fishing Backpack

Waterproof, submersible or water-resistant. Read each as the maker’s word. Fishpond calls the Thunderhead “fully submersible” and its front-pocket zip “water resistant”; Simms and Fishpond call the roll-top packs “waterproof”; Manic says the outside pocket zip on its Simms prototype is “not submersible.” None of the five makers gives an IP rating or a submersion depth or time, so compare the words, not a number.

Zip or roll-top. The sources disagree. Hatch’s reviewer says the Thunderhead’s zipper “will, at some point, fail”; The Fly Shop’s author chose the Wind River roll-top “because…well, zippers fail”; a poster in the 2025 r/flyfishing thread says they “prefer zippers over roll top bags.” Manic’s reviewer writes: “I will only use roll-top, or Tizip packs these days after a few scares on the water.”

Volume. The makers give 26L (Buffalo Gear), 28L (Fishpond Thunderhead) and 38L max (Fishpond Wind River); Grundéns names 30L in the product title, and Simms’ page gives none (Amazon says 30 liters).

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What is the difference between a waterproof and a water-resistant fly fishing backpack?

The makers’ own words differ within one pack. Fishpond lists the Thunderhead’s main zip as “Fully waterproof” and its front-pocket zip as “Water resistant,” and Manic, a Simms distributor reviewing a prototype, says the Simms Dry Creek Rolltop’s outside pocket zip is “not submersible but water resistant enough to shed any rain or a short submersion.”

Q. Can you carry a fly rod on a waterproof backpack?

Buffalo Gear lists “Velcro rod straps,” and Hatch describes “belt-like fly-rod attachments on the side” of the Thunderhead. Manic’s reviewer, using a prototype, describes a rod tube sliding “between the top fasteners then slotted into the side bottle holders” on the Simms Dry Creek Rolltop, and The Fly Shop’s author held a second rod with the Wind River’s waistband strap.

Q. Do waterproof backpack zippers fail?

Hatch’s reviewer says of the Thunderhead’s TRU-zip: “Yes, it will, at some point, fail,” and recommends that you “use the lubricant.” Fishpond says its zipper is “self-healing”; Hatch says that is “generally accurate” but that the seal separation “happens all to fast” in his use. A 2023 r/flyfishing poster with “the Simms Dry Creek pack” (model not stated; the Rolltop linked here has no main zip) agrees with another poster’s complaint about a Patagonia Guidewater that it is sometimes “tough to unzip when it’s empty or not a lot of gear in it.”

Q. How big a waterproof fly fishing backpack do you need?

The picks here run from 26L (Buffalo Gear) to 38L max (Fishpond Wind River). Manic’s reviewer writes that “many anglers will get by fine with a pack whose volume is between 15L and 25L,” and that for his own gear anything under about 30L is “obsolete.”

The bottom line

Final Verdict

For a zip-closure pack that its maker calls fully submersible, the Fishpond Thunderhead (check price) is the one with an independent review of the exact model, and that reviewer says the zipper “will, at some point, fail.” For a roll-top, the Simms Dry Creek Rolltop (check price) lists tool ports and a fly patch but publishes no volume or weight, and the Fishpond Wind River (check price) gives 38L max and 3.6 lb. The Grundéns Bootlegger (check price) is the welded roll-top the maker calls “100% waterproof,” with no weight published. At the entry tier, the Buffalo Gear 26L (check price) lists Velcro rod straps and says its zipper “may feel tight at first use.” Whichever you choose, read the maker’s wording on the waterproofing: none of the five gives a rating.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Outgearly Team
Outgearly Team

Written and reviewed by the Outgearly Team. See the About page for how we work.