Fly Fishing Starter Kits: 8 Picks Compared

23 min read

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read our affiliate disclosure.

The short answer

The Wild Water Deluxe Kit is the budget kit that ships with 18 flies, tippet and tools, the Redington Original Freshwater Kit 590-4 is the mid-tier 9-foot 5 weight sold by Redington’s parent company, and the Orvis Clearwater Outfit 905-4 is the premium outfit an independent reviewer fished for several seasons.

Our verdict

Our Top Picks

A fly fishing starter kit puts a rod and a reel already loaded with fly line (usually with backing and a leader) in one box, and the fuller kits add flies, tippet and tools. Fly Fishing Specialties, a fly shop, warns in its starter kit guide that “some “kits” are really partial bundles—just rod and reel, or rod/reel/line without flies or fishing tools. Always read what’s actually included before comparing prices.” So every kit below is one Amazon listing, linked to its exact length, line weight and piece count, with the contents written out as each maker lists them.

Related guide: 9 Best Large Arbor Fly Reels of 2026, From 2 to 10 Weight

Kit finder

Find a starter kit for your water

Pick your water and what you want to spend. The suggestion is our editorial starting point, drawn from the eight kits below, not a test result.

Where will you fish?
Price tier

Price tier: $ = entry level, $$ = mid-range, $$$ = premium, relative to the kits in this guide. Live Amazon prices are in the product table.

What Comes in a Fly Fishing Starter Kit

Every kit here pairs a rod with a reel that arrives with fly line on it; our fly rod size guide explains how line weight matches the rod. Orvis and Redington stop at rod, reel, line and a case or tube (Redington adds a leader). Wild Water and Martin add flies, and some add tippet, nippers and forceps.

Treeline Review, whose author is a Maine fishing guide who teaches beginners, wrote in its 2026 guide: “All of the kits we recommend fall within the same basic parameters: 4-5 weight, 8’9″ to 9′ length, medium to fast action.” Fly Fishing Specialties agrees: “a 9 ft, 5-weight rod with weight-forward floating line covers about 80% of freshwater beginner situations.” Five picks here are 9-foot rods rated 4 to 5/6 weight; the others are a 7-foot 3/4 weight for small creeks, an 8-foot 5/6 weight at the entry tier, and a 9-foot 8 weight for bass and bigger fish.

Related guide: Fly Rods for Streamers: 8 Picks Compared

Our fly fishing for beginners guide covers the first trips, and how to set up a fly rod and reel walks through assembling a kit.

Picks: kits with flies in the box are the Wild Water Deluxe, Martin Blue Chip, Wild Water Standard and Martin Complete, plus the Maxcatch Premier (flies counted by a reviewer, not by Maxcatch); kits without flies are the Redington Original Freshwater, Orvis Clearwater and Redington Original All Water.

Compare the picks

Compare the Fly Fishing Starter Kits

Every row is the exact Amazon variant we link; “not published” means the maker gives no figure.

Wild Water Deluxe Fly Fishing Combo Starter Kit, 5 or 6…Wild Water DeluxeBudget kit with 18 fliesTrout, panfish, ponds9' 5/6wtMedium-fast$145.00
Linked model9' 5/6wt, 4 pc
ActionMedium-fast (maker)
BlankIM8 graphite
WarrantyLifetime, repair fee (maker)

In the box (maker): Rod, reel, WF5F line, backing, leader, 2 spare leaders, 5X tippet, 18 flies, fly box, forceps, nipper, 2 retractors, case

Evidence: owner reports, no independent test

Redington Freshwater Fly Fishing Kit, 5 Weight 9 Foot Trout…Redington Original 590-4Mid-tier trout kitTrout, dries, nymphs9' 5wtMedium-fast$269.99
Linked model9' 5wt, 4 pc (590-4)
ActionMedium-fast (maker)
BlankNot published
In the box (maker)Rod, Crosswater reel, RIO Mainstream line, leader, nylon case
Warranty1 year (maker)

Evidence: owner reports, no independent test

Orvis Clearwater Fly Rod Outfit - Fishing Rod and Reel…Orvis Clearwater 905-4Premium upgrade outfitTrout, dries, all-round9' 5wtnot published per model$479.00
Linked model9' 5wt, 4 pc
ActionNot published per model (Orvis)
BlankNot published
In the box (maker)Rod, reel, fly line and backing, rod tube

Warranty: 25 years, original owner, bought from Orvis or an authorized dealer, repair fee (maker)

Evidence: Man Makes Fire, 9' 5wt outfit, June 29, 2024 long-term update; does not date its rod against the current black-chrome blank

M MAXIMUMCATCH Maxcatch Premier Fly Fishing Rod and Reel…Maxcatch PremierMachined-reel full kitTrout, all-round9' 5wtMedium-fast$174.95
Linked model9' 5wt, 4 pc
ActionMedium-fast (maker)
BlankIM8 30T carbon fiber
In the box (maker)Rod, AVID reel, pre-spooled line, rod case, forceps, nipper, retractor
Warranty1 year limited (Into Fly Fishing; not published by Maxcatch)

Evidence: Into Fly Fishing, Premier kit; weight not stated

Martin Blue Chip 56R All-Day Trout Fly Reel and Fishing Rod…Martin Blue Chip 4wtLight 4wt trout kitTrout, nymphing9' 4wtModerate fast$269.99 Prime
Linked model9' 4wt, 4 pc (BC56R-AT904)
ActionModerate fast (maker)
Blank40-ton graphite
WarrantyNot published

In the box (maker): Rod, aluminum reel, backing, WF line, leader, 6 flies, an indicator, fly box, 2-in-1 tool, case

Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test

Wild Water Standard Fly Fishing Combo Starter Kit, 3 or 4…Wild Water Standard 7'Small-creek kitSmall streams, trout, panfish7' 3/4wtMedium-fast$129.00
Linked model7' 3/4wt, 4 pc
ActionMedium-fast (maker)
BlankIM8 graphite
WarrantyLifetime, repair fee (maker)

In the box (maker): Rod, reel, WF3F line, backing, leader, spare leader, 9 flies, fly box, nipper, retractor, case

Evidence: Into Fly Fishing, Standard kit in 5wt/6wt; not this 7' 3/4wt

Redington All Water Fly Fishing Kit, 8 Weight 9 Foot…Redington Original 890-4Bass and saltwater kitBass, saltwater, carp9' 8wtMedium-fast$269.99
Linked model9' 8wt, 4 pc (890-4)
ActionMedium-fast (maker)
BlankNot published
In the box (maker)Rod, Crosswater reel, RIO Mainstream WF8F line, leader, nylon case
Warranty1 year (maker)

Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test

Martin Complete Fly Reel and Fishing Rod Combo Kit, 8-ft…Martin CompleteEntry-level 3-piece kitPanfish, small bass, trout8' 5/6wtModerate$59.99
Linked model8' 5/6wt, 3 pc (MRT56803TK)
ActionModerate (maker)
BlankFiberglass (Martin's Amazon listing)
In the box (maker)Rod, rim-control reel, backing, level 6wt line, leader, 4 flies, casting yarn
Warranty1 year limited (Martin's Amazon listing)

Evidence: Tech Writer EDC, undated review of an earlier version: plastic reel with no drag, where Martin's current Amazon listing describes an aluminum frame and a metal click drag

Prices as of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

How We Picked These Eight Kits

How this guide was built

built from manufacturer documentation, published third-party reviews and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.

Each kit is one in-stock Amazon listing with rod, reel, line and leader at minimum, specs as the maker lists them, and a distinct job.

One kit has an independent review of the exact model we link: Man Makes Fire fished the 9′ 5wt Clearwater for several seasons. Tech Writer EDC reviewed an earlier version of the Martin Complete; Into Fly Fishing reviewed the Maxcatch Premier and Wild Water Standard without naming the weight. The Redington Original Freshwater and Wild Water Deluxe rest on r/flyfishing owner reports, and the Martin Blue Chip and Redington All Water on maker specs. Fly Fishing Specialties and Orvis sell fly fishing gear, so their guides are quoted for general advice only. Two kits are sold on Amazon by third-party storefronts, the Orvis (OutdoorEquipped) and the Martin Complete (Outdoor Sports Specialties).

Detailed Reviews of the 8 Kits

Wild Water Deluxe Kit, Budget Kit with 18 Flies

Budget kit with 18 flies
Wild Water Deluxe Fly Fishing Combo Starter Kit, 5 or 6…

Wild Water Deluxe

9' 5/6wt, 4-piece · Medium-fast

First-timers on a budget who want one box with the flies and tools for trout and panfish, and plan to clean or upgrade the line.

$145.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

Verdict

A 9-foot 5/6 weight kit that ships with 18 flies, a tippet spool, spare leaders and forceps, per Wild Water’s list, sold on Amazon by Wild Water itself.

Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/flyfishing thread: Deluxe 9′ 5wt (thread starter’s kit).

Wild Water lists the Deluxe 5/6 kit as a “5/6 weight, 9′, 4 Piece, medium-fast action fly rod” with a “Western style cork handle”; the rod section names “IM8 graphite”. The reel is an “85mm diameter spool, die cast aluminum, adjustable disc drag”, pre-spooled with WF5F floating line, backing and a 9-foot 5X leader.

The 18 flies are size-12 black winged ants, bead-head hare’s ear nymphs and parachute Adams, and the tippet spool is 30 meters of 5X. Wild Water says the package “is best suited for trout, panfish, small bass, small to medium streams, ponds, and backpacking.” Its page heads the kit “Perfect for Intermediates and above”, while Amazon’s title calls it a starter kit. Sources disagree on the action: Wild Water says medium-fast, while Treeline’s comparison table, which it credits to manufacturers, lists “Slow”.

The evidence is owners. In an r/flyfishing thread started by a buyer of the “Wild Water Deluxe Fly Fishing Kit 9 ft 5 weight”, a poster who started on it wrote: “This is what I started on way back when! Great kit and lasted 4 years before I upgraded anything.” The same owner warned: “the fly line loses floatation within a few months of moderate use. Either learn how to clean it regularly or look into a better fly line.” Two other posters, who don’t say which Wild Water kit they had, wrote “my drag busted after a couple years” and “The flies fell apart quickly but other than that I think everything was fine.” Wild Water’s rod warranty reads: “Our Lifetime Warranty gives our customers a low cost option to have their rod made useful again for a reasonable fee.”

Specs (linked: 9′ 5/6wt, 4-piece)

  • Line weight, length, pieces: 5/6 weight, 9′, 4 (maker); WF5F line pre-spooled
  • Action: medium-fast (maker); “Slow” (Treeline table, credited to manufacturers)
  • Blank: IM8 graphite (maker)
  • Reel: 85mm die cast aluminum, adjustable disc drag (maker)
  • Warranty: lifetime; repairs for “a reasonable fee” (maker)

Pros

  • Flies, tippet, spare leaders and forceps in the box, per Wild Water’s list
  • Sold on Amazon by Wild Water, the maker
  • A poster in r/flyfishing fished it four years before upgrading anything

Cons

  • Thread posters report the included line losing flotation and flies falling apart
  • Sources disagree on the action (medium-fast vs slow)
  • Warranty repairs carry a fee

Who should buy it

First-timers on a budget who want one box with the flies and tools for trout and panfish, and plan to clean or upgrade the line.

Check on Amazon

Redington Original Freshwater Kit 590-4, Mid-Tier Trout Kit

Mid-tier trout kit
Redington Freshwater Fly Fishing Kit, 5 Weight 9 Foot Trout…

Redington Original 590-4

9' 5wt, 4-piece · Medium-fast

New trout anglers who want a brand-name 9-foot 5 weight kit and will buy flies and tippet separately.

$269.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

Verdict

A 9-foot 5 weight kit with a RIO line and a Crosswater reel, sold on Amazon by Far Bank Enterprises, Redington’s parent company; no flies in the box, and owner reports are the only evidence.

Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/flyfishing thread: Original 9′ 5wt kit.

Redington describes the Original Freshwater Kit 590-4 as “The 590-4 (5wt, 9 foot, 4-piece) rod” with “a performance medium-fast action blank”, and says it “presents dry flies on the money but with enough oomph to handle it all—dry-droppers, buggers, and nymphs.”

The kit section lists a “CROSSWATER 4/5/6 fly reel” with a “fully carbon disc-drag system” and “RIO’s Mainstream WF5F (weight forward 5wt floating) fly line”; the feature list on the same page says “RIO Mainstream 8wt line” and adds a “RIO Powerflex 0x tapered leader”. Warranty: “1-Year Warranty”.

In an r/flyfishing thread about a new 9-foot 5 weight Original, the owner wrote: “I learned to cast on my friends rods but the second I started casting this around it was so easy and comfortable!” A poster who owned the same kit replied: “I think it’s a very good starter setup. I had the same. I would highly recommend switching out the fly line with a nicer offering from SA or Rio.”

Against the Wild Water Deluxe, the trade is contents for brand: this kit has no flies, tippet or tools, but it comes with a RIO line and is sold by the maker’s parent company.

Specs (linked: 9′ 5wt, 4-piece, 590-4)

  • Line weight, length, pieces: 5wt, 9’0″, 4 (maker)
  • Action: medium-fast (maker); “Medium Action” (Amazon family title)
  • Blank: not published
  • Reel: Crosswater 4/5/6, polymer frame, carbon disc drag (maker)
  • Warranty: 1 year (maker)

Pros

  • Medium-fast 9-foot 5 weight Redington aims at dries, dry-droppers, buggers and nymphs
  • RIO Mainstream line and Crosswater reel from Far Bank’s own brands
  • Sold on Amazon by Far Bank Enterprises

Cons

  • No flies, tippet or tools in the box
  • One-year warranty
  • Owners suggest replacing the included line

Who should buy it

New trout anglers who want a brand-name 9-foot 5 weight kit and will buy flies and tippet separately.

Check on Amazon

Orvis Clearwater Outfit 905-4, Premium Upgrade Outfit

Premium upgrade outfit
Orvis Clearwater Fly Rod Outfit - Fishing Rod and Reel…

Orvis Clearwater 905-4

9' 5wt, 4-piece · not published per model

Beginners sure they will stick with trout fishing and want a 9-foot 5 weight with a long-term review behind it.

$479.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

Verdict

The 9-foot 5 weight Clearwater outfit an independent reviewer fished for several seasons; sold on Amazon by OutdoorEquipped, not Orvis, and Orvis’s 25-year guarantee covers rods bought from Orvis or an authorized dealer, which the listing does not show this seller to be.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Man Makes Fire: 9′ 5wt outfit.

Orvis sells the Clearwater Fly Rod Outfit in five sizes; we link the 9-foot 5 weight, 4-piece. The outfit is “Clearwater Fly Rod, Fly Reel, Fly Line & Backing” with a rod tube, and Orvis lists “Blanks are black chrome with white accents” and a “Chrome snake and stripping guide with a ceramic insert”. Orvis does not print an action for each model; it describes the series as running “from medium-action small stream rods to medium-fast freshwater rods and fast-action big game rods.”

Man Makes Fire, an independent gear site, wrote in a June 2024 long-term update: “After fishing with a 9-foot 5-weight Orvis Clearwater Fly Rod Outfit over several seasons for trout, including fishing with the rod alongside other fly rods in my quiver, I still appreciate the value and excellent performance in this fly rod combo.” It found the action “seems consistent with most medium-fast actions, but the tip is surprisingly flexible”. Asked whether it cast a heavy nymph rig well, it answered “Not really — but I’ve also never fished a 5-weight that truly excels in this situation.” The review does not date its rod against the black-chrome blank Orvis lists now.

Treeline Review named the Clearwater its “Best Upgrade” in April 2026 without saying which size it tested. It liked “a rod you can grow into as a beginner and keep for life”; its complaint: “we wish there was a hook keeper included in this kit”.

Orvis’s repair page sets the guarantee’s conditions: “If you purchased a Helios™, Helios™ 3, Recon®, Superfine®, Clearwater®, or Mission rod from Orvis or an authorized Orvis dealer, we’ll repair or replace it for 25 years.” The same page says Orvis charges a standard operational processing fee for every rod repair, and that the “Guarantee is for the original owner only and proof of purchase may be required.” On Amazon this outfit is sold by OutdoorEquipped, a third-party storefront, and the listing does not show whether it is an authorized Orvis dealer.

Against the Redington Original Freshwater, the other 9-foot 5 weight without flies: Redington’s kit adds a leader, carries Redington’s 1-Year Warranty and is sold by its parent company; the Orvis has an independent long-term review and Orvis’s conditional guarantee, but Orvis lists no leader and the seller is a third party.

Specs (linked: 9′ 5wt, 4-piece)

  • Line weight, length, pieces: 5-Weight, 9′, 4 (maker and Amazon listing)
  • Action: not published per model; series runs medium to medium-fast for freshwater (Orvis); medium (Treeline)
  • Blank: not published (black chrome finish, maker)
  • Warranty: 25-year guarantee for the original owner on rods bought from Orvis or an authorized Orvis dealer; processing fee per repair; proof of purchase may be required (maker). Amazon seller’s dealer status not shown

Pros

  • Exact 9′ 5wt outfit fished for several seasons by an independent reviewer
  • Black-chrome blank and ceramic-insert stripping guide, per Orvis
  • Treeline’s 2026 “Best Upgrade” among beginner combos

Cons

  • Sold on Amazon by a third-party storefront whose authorized-dealer status is not shown, which Orvis’s guarantee depends on
  • No flies or tools, and Orvis lists no leader in the outfit
  • Its reviewer found it struggled with a heavy nymph rig, as he says most 5 weights do

Who should buy it

Beginners sure they will stick with trout fishing and want a 9-foot 5 weight with a long-term review behind it.

Check on Amazon

Maxcatch Premier Outfit, Machined-Reel Full Kit

Machined-reel full kit
M MAXIMUMCATCH Maxcatch Premier Fly Fishing Rod and Reel…

Maxcatch Premier

9' 5wt, 4-piece · Medium-fast

Budget buyers who want a complete 9-foot 5 weight kit with a machined reel and tools.

$174.95 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

Verdict

A 9-foot 5 weight kit with a CNC-machined reel and a set of tools, which Into Fly Fishing’s Nick Wharton has bought several times; sold on Amazon by Maxcatch.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Into Fly Fishing: Premier kit, weight not stated.

Maxcatch says the Premier blank “uses premium IM8 30T carbon fiber with a 5-layer reinforced build” and calls it “medium-fast”. The kit runs “from the CNC-machined aluminum reel with smooth disc drag, to the pre-spooled Easy Cast Line System”, with “a full set of tools—forceps, nipper, retractor, and more” and a rod case. Maxcatch’s page does not count the flies or state a warranty; Into Fly Fishing’s list for the kit says “Flies: Yes (10 flies)” and “Warranty: Yes (1 year limited)”.

Nick Wharton of Into Fly Fishing put it first in his budget combo guide: “I’ve purchased this Maxcatch Premier kit on multiple occasions, and over the past 7 years I’ve fished this budget fly rod combo extensively.” He does not say which weight. His cons include “The rod, while good quality, is slightly heavy” and “You only get a floating line with it (sinking tip would be nice).”

Against the Wild Water Deluxe, the trade is the reel: Maxcatch calls its reel CNC-machined, where Wild Water lists die cast aluminum and itemises more in the box.

Specs (linked: 9′ 5wt, 4-piece, AVID 5/6 reel)

  • Line weight, length, pieces: 5 wt, 9′, 4 (Amazon listing; maker option “Premier 9′ 5wt 4pcs+AVID 5/6wt”)
  • Action: medium-fast (maker)
  • Blank: IM8 30T carbon fiber, MAXLINQ II (maker)
  • Reel: CNC-machined aluminum, disc drag (maker)
  • Warranty: not published by Maxcatch; Into Fly Fishing lists 1 year limited

Pros

  • CNC-machined aluminum reel, per Maxcatch
  • Into Fly Fishing’s Nick Wharton has fished the kit for seven years
  • Tools and a rod case in the box

Cons

  • Into Fly Fishing found the rod “slightly heavy”
  • Fly count and warranty come from Into Fly Fishing’s list, not Maxcatch’s page
  • Floating line only (Into Fly Fishing would like a sink-tip option)

Who should buy it

Budget buyers who want a complete 9-foot 5 weight kit with a machined reel and tools.

Check on Amazon

Martin Blue Chip 56R Trout Kit, Light 4wt Trout Kit

Light 4wt trout kit
Martin Blue Chip 56R All-Day Trout Fly Reel and Fishing Rod…

Martin Blue Chip 4wt

9' 4wt, 4-piece · Moderate fast

Trout anglers who want a 4 weight kit with a starter nymph selection, bought from Amazon.

$269.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

Verdict

A 9-foot 4 weight kit with a click-and-pawl aluminum reel, six flies, an indicator, a fly box and a tool, sold by Amazon.com; maker specs only.

Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Martin (Zebco) product page.

Martin’s Blue Chip combo page lists this kit as the “9’0″ 4Wt Multi-Technique Trout Kit” (model BC56R-AT904); Amazon calls it “All-Day Trout”, a name Martin’s description also uses (“All Day Trout”). Its spec column reads: 4 pieces, 9’0″, 4WT, “Moderate Fast” action, a full handle, and “Nymph – 4 count, Streamer – 1 count, Dry fly – 1 count, Indicator – 1 count, 2-in-1 tool – 1 count”. Martin’s description says the outfits “include a semi-rigid carrying case, a custom fly assortment, fly box, and a 2-in-1 removal and cutting tool”, and its feature list names a “40-TON GRAPHITE ROD with cork handle” and an “ADJUSTABLE DUAL CLICK AND PAWL system”.

One spec needs a careful read. Martin’s table says the reel comes “Pre-Spooled with Backing, Forward Weighted 5WT Line, & Leader”, and it prints the same words for every Blue Chip kit, including the 3 weight and this 4 weight. Amazon’s title says only “Weight-Forward Line”; a 5 weight line on a 4 weight rod would be one size heavier than the rod’s rating, so ask Martin if it matters to you. Our guide to the click-and-pawl fly reel explains how that reel type differs from a disc drag.

Against the Redington Original Freshwater, which sits in the same price tier, the Blue Chip adds flies, an indicator and a tool and steps down to a 4 weight, while Redington’s 5 weight comes with a disc-drag reel and a RIO line.

Specs (linked: 9′ 4wt, 4-piece, BC56R-AT904)

  • Line weight, length, pieces: 4WT, 9’0″, 4 (maker)
  • Action: moderate fast (maker)
  • Blank: 40-ton graphite (maker)
  • Reel: aluminum, adjustable dual click and pawl (maker)
  • Warranty: not stated on the product page

Pros

  • Nymphs, a dry fly, a streamer, an indicator, a fly box and a tool in the box
  • Sold and shipped by Amazon.com
  • 40-ton graphite rod with a cork full handle, per Martin

Cons

  • Martin’s table lists a 5WT line for this 4 weight kit
  • No independent review or owner reports found
  • Click-and-pawl reel, not a disc drag

Who should buy it

Trout anglers who want a 4 weight kit with a starter nymph selection, bought from Amazon.

Check on Amazon

Wild Water Standard Kit, Small-Creek Kit

Small-creek kit
Wild Water Standard Fly Fishing Combo Starter Kit, 3 or 4…

Wild Water Standard 7'

7' 3/4wt, 4-piece · Medium-fast

Beginners whose home water is a small, overgrown creek or a panfish pond, where a 9-foot rod would catch trees.

$129.00 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

Verdict

A 7-foot 3/4 weight kit for brushy creeks and panfish, with nine flies and a nipper, sold by Wild Water.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Into Fly Fishing: Standard kit, 5wt and 6wt listed.

Wild Water’s 7-foot Standard kit has a “3/4 weight, 7′, 4 Piece, medium-fast action IM8 matte black graphite fly rod” and a “75mm diameter spool, die cast aluminum, adjustable disc drag” reel pre-spooled with WF3F floating line, backing and a 7.5-foot 5X leader. The box adds “9 flies total”, a fly box, one spare 7.5-foot 5X leader, a retractor, a line nipper and a 26 1/4-inch tube case. Wild Water heads the page “Perfect for Beginners and above”.

Into Fly Fishing reviewed the Wild Water Standard in the weights it lists as 5wt and 6wt, not this 7-foot 3/4 weight: “The Wild Water Standard is another great budget fly fishing combo kit on the market.” It disliked that “The leaders aren’t very high quality” and “Fly line is also not highest quality.”

Against the Deluxe, this kit trades the 9-foot rod, the tippet spool and half the flies for a short rod Wild Water calls “ideal for targeting smaller fish like trout and panfish in streams and rivers.” The lifetime warranty and repair fee are the same.

Specs (linked: 7′ 3/4wt, 4-piece)

  • Line weight, length, pieces: 3/4 weight, 7′, 4 (maker); WF3F line pre-spooled
  • Action: medium-fast (maker)
  • Blank: IM8 graphite (maker)
  • Reel: 75mm die cast aluminum, adjustable disc drag (maker)
  • Warranty: lifetime; repairs for “a reasonable fee” (maker)

Pros

  • Short 7-foot 3/4 weight for tight, brushy water
  • Flies, fly box and nipper included, per Wild Water
  • Sold on Amazon by Wild Water

Cons

  • Into Fly Fishing rated the Standard’s leaders and line below par (its review does not cover this 7-foot 3/4 weight)
  • No tippet spool or forceps, unlike the Deluxe

Who should buy it

Beginners whose home water is a small, overgrown creek or a panfish pond, where a 9-foot rod would catch trees.

Check on Amazon

Redington Original All Water Kit 890-4, Bass and Saltwater Kit

Bass and saltwater kit
Redington All Water Fly Fishing Kit, 8 Weight 9 Foot…

Redington Original 890-4

9' 8wt, 4-piece · Medium-fast

First-timers whose fishing is bass ponds and carp, or the redfish and stripers Redington names, rather than trout streams.

$269.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

Verdict

The 8 weight sibling of pick #2, which Redington aims at bass, carp, stripers, redfish and salmon (Amazon’s title calls it an “Inshore Rod”); same reel family, case and one-year warranty, maker specs only.

Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Redington (Far Bank) product page.

Redington pitches the Original All Water Kit 890-4 at bigger fish: “The 8wt Original All Water Kit is the bread & butter rod for nearly any sizeable or sporty fish species. You know the deal—from redfish to downstream tanking salmon and all the bass, and stripers, and carp in between.” It is “The 890-4 (8wt, 9 foot, 4-piece) rod” with “a performance medium-fast action blank”, a “CROSSWATER 7/8/9 fly reel”, “RIO’s Mainstream WF8F (weight forward 8wt floating) fly line”, a “RIO Powerflex 0x tapered leader” and a nylon case, with a “1-Year Warranty”. Redington says the Crosswater reel is “constructed from durable polymer”; it names redfish and stripers but does not say the reel is built for salt water.

It shares pick #2’s Amazon listing family; the 590-4 is the trout kit, the 890-4 the 8 weight for the bigger species Redington names.

Specs (linked: 9′ 8wt, 4-piece, 890-4)

  • Line weight, length, pieces: 8wt, 9’0″, 4 (maker)
  • Action: medium-fast (maker)
  • Blank: not published
  • Reel: Crosswater 7/8/9, polymer frame, carbon disc drag (maker)
  • Warranty: 1 year (maker)

Pros

  • 8 weight Redington aims at bass, carp, stripers, redfish and salmon
  • RIO Mainstream WF8F line and Crosswater reel in the box
  • Sold on Amazon by Far Bank Enterprises

Cons

  • No flies, tippet or tools in the box
  • Redington does not say the reel is built for salt water
  • No independent review of this kit found

Who should buy it

First-timers whose fishing is bass ponds and carp, or the redfish and stripers Redington names, rather than trout streams.

Check on Amazon

Martin Complete Fly Kit, Entry-Level 3-Piece Kit

Entry-level 3-piece kit
Martin Complete Fly Reel and Fishing Rod Combo Kit, 8-ft…

Martin Complete

8' 5/6wt, 3-piece · Moderate

Curious first-timers who want to try fly fishing for panfish and small bass on a small budget, and accept a basic reel and line.

$59.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:39 UTC

Verdict

An entry-tier 8-foot 5/6 weight with a pre-spooled reel and four flies; Martin’s listing describes a metal click drag, an undated review of an earlier version found a plastic reel with no drag, and owners split.

Evidence: Independently reviewed, previous generation. Tech Writer EDC: an earlier version of the 8′ 5/6wt kit (plastic reel, no drag).

Martin’s Complete Fly Kit pairs a “Martin 5/6 rim-control fly reel, 3-piece 8′ 5/6-weight rod and a custom fly assortment.” Its spec list reads: 3 pieces, 8’0″, “Moderate” action, pre-spooled “LT6F”, and “Wet fly – 1 count, Dry fly – 1 count, Popper – 1 count, Streamer – 1 count, Casting yarn – 2 count”. Martin’s current Amazon listing adds: “The reel features a durable aluminum frame, a lightweight aluminum spool, a metal click drag with an on/off control”; it names “The rod’s fiberglass blank” and “A comfortable EVA rod handle”, and says the kit is “backed by a one-year limited warranty”.

Tech Writer EDC reviewed an earlier version of the kit in an undated review: “The fishing kit comes with an 8-foot, 5/6-weight fly rod and a matching reel.” It found “The reel is made of plastic” and “The reel, in particular, has no drag to speak of”, which does not match the aluminum, click-drag reel Martin lists now. On the level line: “Weight forward line is easier to cast than level fly line, so for a beginner, this setup is a little more challenging than it needs to be.” It still called the kit “an excellent starter rod for beginning fly anglers”.

Owners split. In an r/flyfishing thread about this kit, one poster wrote: “I had never fly fished before and bought one of these as an impulse buy and COULD NOT get the rod to load and cast further than 5 feet.” Another replied: “This was my first setup. I caught lots of carp, sunfish and bass.” On Amazon the kit is sold by Outdoor Sports Specialties, a third-party storefront.

Specs (linked: 8′ 5/6wt, 3-piece, MRT56803TK)

  • Line weight, length, pieces: 5/6, 8’0″, 3 (maker)
  • Action: moderate (maker)
  • Blank: fiberglass (Martin’s Amazon listing)
  • Reel: rim-control, aluminum frame and spool, metal click drag with on/off control (Martin’s Amazon listing); plastic, no drag on an earlier version (Tech Writer EDC)
  • Warranty: one-year limited (Martin’s Amazon listing)

Pros

  • Pre-spooled reel and four flies at the entry price tier
  • 8-foot rod Tech Writer EDC calls “short enough to work in fairly tight spaces”
  • Fiberglass blank and EVA handle, per Martin’s Amazon listing

Cons

  • Level line, which Tech Writer EDC found harder for beginners to cast than weight forward
  • Its only independent review covers an earlier version with a different reel
  • Sold by a third-party storefront; one owner could not get it to cast

Who should buy it

Curious first-timers who want to try fly fishing for panfish and small bass on a small budget, and accept a basic reel and line.

Check on Amazon

Which Kit for Which First-Timer

Small creeks and panfish ponds: Fly Fishing Specialties suggests “Rod: 7’6”-8’6”, 3-4 wt” for small creeks with “tight cover”; the Wild Water Standard is the 7-foot kit here. Bass, carp and saltwater: for beginner saltwater the same guide lists “Rod: 9’, 8 wt” and “Reel: Saltwater-safe with strong drag”. The Redington Original All Water is the 8 weight here; Redington names redfish and stripers but does not say the reel is built for salt water. Whichever kit you buy, learn the connection in our guide to how to tie leader to fly line and practise with how to cast a fly rod before the first trip.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What is the best beginner fly fishing kit?

It depends on your water and how much you want in the box; the verdict below names a pick per tier. Treeline Review’s 2026 tests gave its “Best Overall” award to the Echo Lift Kit, which is not among the eight kits here.

Q. What is a good fly fishing setup for beginners?

A 9-foot rod in a 4 to 5 weight with a weight-forward floating line is the default both Treeline and Fly Fishing Specialties give for freshwater. Fly Fishing Specialties’ checklist adds “At least one 9 ft tapered leader (4X or 5X)”, a small tippet spool, “Basic set of 12+ patterns in a simple fly box”, and “Nippers and hemostats minimum”. Our guide to types of fly fishing flies explains the patterns.

Q. What is the 60/20/20 rule in fly fishing?

It is a leader formula. The Orvis Learning Center, run by a company that sells leaders, explains on its leader-building page: “In terms of length, this means the leader will be 60% butt section, 20% midsection and another 20% tippet section.” The kits here ship with tapered leaders, so you need it only to build your own.

Q. What is the rule of 11 in fly fishing?

It links tippet size to diameter. To Fly Fish puts it this way: “the tippet size “X” value (3x, 5x, etc.) plus the diameter (in thousands of an inch) must equal 11.” So 5X tippet is about 0.006 inch. Our guide to what tippet is covers the rest.

Q. What else do I need besides the kit?

The Orvis and Redington outfits include no flies or tippet, so you will need both. Fly Fishing Specialties lists polarized sunglasses, a landing net, floatant, strike indicators and split shot among what kits commonly leave out, and Treeline suggests asking a local fly shop which fly patterns work on your home water.

Q. Is a kit better than buying a rod, reel and line separately?

Fly Fishing Specialties sets out the trade: a kit means “Pre-matched rod, reel, and line weights—no compatibility headaches”, while buying separately lets you “Choose a higher-quality line and rod from the start”. Posters in the Redington and Wild Water threads above suggest upgrading the fly line first.

The bottom line

Final Verdict

For a first kit that arrives with flies, tippet and tools, the Wild Water Deluxe Kit (check price) is the entry-tier choice, and an r/flyfishing owner fished it four years before upgrading anything; the same owner suggests cleaning the line regularly or replacing it. For a brand-name 9-foot 5 weight sold by Redington’s parent company, the Redington Original Freshwater Kit 590-4 (check price) is the mid-tier pick, with flies and tippet bought separately; its evidence is owner reports only. If you know you will stay with trout fishing, the Orvis Clearwater Outfit 905-4 (check price) is the outfit an independent reviewer fished for several seasons; Orvis’s 25-year guarantee covers original owners who bought from Orvis or an authorized dealer, with a repair fee, and the Amazon listing does not show whether its seller is one.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Outgearly Team
Outgearly Team

Written and reviewed by the Outgearly Team. See the About page for how we work.