The short answer
The Daiwa Regal LT 1000D-XH is a 6.3-ounce 1000 with 11 pounds of drag, per Daiwa; the Pflueger Supreme XT 25 is the pick Outdoor Life tested in this size; and the Piscifun Carbon X 500 is a budget 500 Piscifun lists at 5.1 ounces.
Our verdict
Ultralight Spinning Reel Top Picks
An ultralight reel casts tiny lures on 2- to 6-pound line and must still give line smoothly to a surprise big fish. As Outdoor Life’s Jim Edlund puts it: “You might go fishing for bluegills, perch, sunfish, or small trout or bass, but the reality is there’s a good chance you’re going to hook into something larger.”
Related guide: Best Spinners for Rainbow Trout, by Size, Blade and Hook
Below are eight ultralight-class reels from six makers, with the maker’s specs for the exact size we link.
Reel finder
Find an ultralight reel for what you fish for
Pick what you fish for and what you want to spend. The suggestion is our editorial starting point, drawn from the eight reels below, not a test result.
Tiers are relative to the reels in this guide; live prices are in the comparison table below.
Compare the picks
Compare the 8 Ultra Light Spinning Reels
Maker figures for the linked size unless a cell names another source.
Supreme XT 25Magnesium-Frame ReelPanfish, trout, walleye255.2:1$165.15
Evidence: Outdoor Life, this exact model
Regal LT 1000D-XHHigh-Speed 1000Trout, panfish, small bass10006.2:1$79.99
Evidence: owner reports, no independent test
Max Pro 750Compact 750 SizePanfish, ice fishing, trout7505.2:1$84.99 Prime
Evidence: Outdoor Life, earlier Max Pro 5 with the same ratio, drag and capacity; 6+1 bearings vs 7+1 now
President 20Size 20 Trout ReelTrout, streams, panfish205.2:1$68.10 Prime
Evidence: owner reports, no independent test
Carbon X 500Carbon-Body 500Crappie, panfish, ice fishing500Listing: 5.2:1$52.99
Evidence: owner reports, no independent test
Ceymar A C-500AFelt-Drag 500Panfish, streams, trout5005.0:1$57.80
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
Sienna FG 500Entry-Level Shimano 500Panfish, streams, beginners500Listing: 5.6:1$34.99
Evidence: owner reports, no independent test
Viper X 500Ice and Panfish 500Ice fishing, panfish, beginners5005.2:1$32.99
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
How We Chose These Ultralight Reels
How this guide was built
built from manufacturer documentation, Outdoor Life’s published test and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.
What every pick had to meet
- Ultralight class by the maker’s sizing: a 500, 750 or 1000, a maker’s “ultralight” name, or a maker’s smallest two-digit size whose listed capacity sits below a typical 1000.
- In stock on Amazon when we checked, seller named.
Sources and how independent they are
Sources and how independent they are
Outdoor Life’s ultralight reel test fished five reels for two days on the Mississippi River on one St. Croix panfish rod with 4-pound mono; it sells no reels, so we treat it as independent. In the r/Fishing_Gear ultralight reel thread, one poster argues “You don’t need to go smallest for ultralight.”
Ultra Light Spinning Reels: Detailed Reviews
Pflueger Supreme XT 25, Magnesium-Frame Reel
Anglers who will pay premium for a tested, magnesium-framed reel.
$165.15 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:53 UTCVerdict
Outdoor Life tested this exact size; magnesium frame, sealed carbon drag.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Outdoor Life: Supreme XT 25.
Outdoor Life: “The Pflueger Supreme XT 25 stands out for its good looks and easy palmability.” Its complaint: “The only issue I had with it was the bail seemed a little rough turning over to cast and close to begin reeling in.” Pflueger’s page for this reel is headed “Prior Gen” and publishes no weight. Pflueger now sells a newer 6.2:1 Supreme XT 25 under the same model number; the Amazon listing gives 5.2:1, the prior-generation figure Outdoor Life tested and we print. The Amazon listing says 10 lb drag; we use Pflueger’s 8 lb. Sold by Shealy Lampp on Amazon at the time of writing, below list price.
Specs (linked: Supreme XT 25, SUPXTSP25X, prior generation, 5.2:1)
Pros
- Magnesium frame, carbon rotor and sealed carbon drag, per Pflueger
Cons
- Premium tier for a 25-size reel
- Bearings: 11 (Pflueger)
- Weight: not published by Pflueger; 6 oz per Outdoor Life
- Price tier: $$$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Daiwa Regal LT 1000D-XH, High-Speed 1000
Verdict
A true 1000 with a 6.2:1 ratio and 11 lb of drag on Daiwa’s sheet.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/Fishing_Gear: Regal LT 1000, generation not stated.
Daiwa’s page lists 30.5 inches per turn and 6+1 bearings; the Amazon listing’s 5.2:1 conflicts, so we use Daiwa’s 6.2:1. A poster in an r/Fishing_Gear Regal LT thread wrote (generation not stated): “I have one in size 1000. Still super smooth after putting it through hell for over a year in freshwater.” Another warns that fine dust can seize it. Sold by MidwayUSA on Amazon at our latest check, at Daiwa’s list price; the buy box has rotated between third-party sellers.
Specs (linked: Daiwa Regal LT 1000D-XH, RGLT1000D-XH-B)
Pros
- 30.5 in per turn, per Daiwa
Cons
- One owner warns that fine dust can seize it
- Bearings: 6+1; 30.5 in per turn (Daiwa)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Abu Garcia Max Pro 750, Compact 750 Size
Panfish and ice anglers who want a small reel from Amazon's own stock.
$84.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:53 UTCVerdict
Abu Garcia’s smallest Max Pro, sold by Amazon; Outdoor Life tested its earlier generation.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, previous generation. Outdoor Life: Max Pro 5 (earlier generation, smallest size).
Abu Garcia’s page lists 7+1 bearings and no weight. Outdoor Life tested the earlier “Abu Garcia Max Pro 5”, with the same ratio, drag and capacity but 6+1 bearings: “The reel is a great budget pick, and the drag was impressive for the price and felt construction, handling fish between one and ten pounds admirably.” Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Abu Garcia Max Pro 750, MAXPROSP750)
Pros
- Outdoor Life’s budget pick (previous generation)
Cons
- Small spool and short line pickup, per Outdoor Life (earlier model)
Who should buy it
Panfish and ice anglers who want a small reel from Amazon’s own stock.
- Bearings: 7+1 (Abu Garcia)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Pflueger President 20, Size 20 Trout Reel
Verdict
The smallest President, for small-stream trout; our beginner fishing reel guide picks the same reel in size 25.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/Fishing_Gear: President 20.
Pflueger’s page notes the “20 size is 6+1 SS Bearings” and publishes no weight. A poster in the r/Fishing_Gear ultralight thread runs it on a 5’6″ trout rod with 4 lb line: “The President is just a trout and panfish workhorse.” Sold by Amazon.com at the time of writing.
Related guide: Best Trout Fishing Reels of 2026: Spinning and Fly Reels by Size
Specs (linked: Pflueger President 20, PRES20B, clamshell pack)
Pros
- Slow-oscillation, braid-ready aluminum spool, capacity listed from 2 lb mono, per Pflueger
Cons
- 6 lb max drag, against 11 lb on the Regal LT 1000, per the makers
- Bearings: 6+1 (Pflueger)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Piscifun Carbon X 500, Carbon-Body 500
Crappie and bluegill anglers on a budget; pair it with one of our [crappie jigging rods](https://outgearly.com/best-crappie-rods-for-jigging/).
$52.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:53 UTCVerdict
A budget 500 Piscifun calls ultralight and lists at 5.1 ounces.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/Fishing_Gear: Carbon X 500.
Piscifun’s page notes “No Anti Reverse Switch on Size 500 and 1000.” It names 6.2:1 and 5.2:1 ratios without assigning sizes; the Amazon listing gives 5.2:1 for the 500. Its 33 lb drag figure is for the series. A poster with the 500 broke the handle and says Piscifun could not send a replacement. Sold by WILDPULSE and shipped by Amazon at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Piscifun Carbon X 500, standard handle)
Pros
- Carbon body, rotor and side plate at 5.1 oz, per Piscifun
Cons
- One 500 owner broke the handle and could not get a replacement
Who should buy it
Crappie and bluegill anglers on a budget; pair it with one of our crappie jigging rods.
- Bearings: 10+1 (Piscifun)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Okuma Ceymar A C-500A, Felt-Drag 500
Verdict
A 500 with a complete maker spec sheet, weight included.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Okuma.
Okuma’s spec table lists a multi-disc oiled felt drag, 7BB+1RB and 22.4 inches per turn. An r/UltraLightFishing poster reports bearing ticking on a Ceymar A 20, another size, after about two years. Sold by Sportco Wholesale on Amazon at the time of writing, below Okuma’s list price.
Specs (linked: Okuma Ceymar A C-500A, Gun Metal)
Pros
- Multi-disc oiled felt drag, per Okuma
Cons
- No independent test; maker specs only
- Bearings: 7+1; 22.4 in per turn (Okuma)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Shimano Sienna FG 500, Entry-Level Shimano 500
Beginners and kids' rods for bluegill and perch on 2 to 4 lb line.
$34.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:53 UTCVerdict
Shimano’s entry-level 500, with a light 4 lb listed drag.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/UltraLightFishing: Sienna 500.
Shimano’s site could not be read, so figures come from the SN500FG box listing and our clamshell listing, which agree on ratio and capacity. The original poster of an r/UltraLightFishing thread on the Sienna 500 wrote: “I got it for Panfish, dink trout and bass, and yellow perch lol so it’s holding up it’s end of things.” Sold by Joe’s Sporting Goods on Amazon at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Shimano Sienna FG 500, SN500FGC clamshell pack)
Pros
- Propulsion line management and G-Free Body, per the listing
Cons
- 4 lb max drag on the listing, light for bigger fish
Who should buy it
Beginners and kids’ rods for bluegill and perch on 2 to 4 lb line.
- Bearings: 3 (Amazon listing)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Piscifun Viper X 500, Ice and Panfish 500
Ice anglers who want a spare 500; for inline reels see our [inline ice fishing reels](https://outgearly.com/best-inline-ice-fishing-reels/).
$32.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 09:53 UTCVerdict
The graphite-framed sibling of the Carbon X, sold for ice and open water.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Piscifun.
Piscifun’s Viper X page gives 5.2:1 and 10+1 bearings for the 500; its page text gives no weight, drag or capacity. Trade-off against the Carbon X 500: same 5.2:1 and bearings, but graphite instead of carbon, per the listing, and no confirmed weight; both sit in the entry tier. Sold by WILDPULSE and shipped by Amazon at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Piscifun Viper X 500, Green)
Pros
- 10+1 bearings, per Piscifun
Cons
- Drag and capacity for the 500 not confirmed
Who should buy it
Ice anglers who want a spare 500; for inline reels see our inline ice fishing reels.
- Bearings: 10+1 (Piscifun)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
How to Choose an Ultra Light Spinning Reel
Size: 500, 1000 and two-digit numbers
Pflueger and Abu Garcia number small reels 20, 25 and 750, not 500 and 1000. Our spinning reel size guide says to compare capacity instead: Penn’s 1000 holds 110 yd of 6 lb mono, while Pflueger’s 20 and 25 and Abu Garcia’s 750 list 80 to 90 yd. For the rod side, see light and ultralight spinning rods.
Related guide: Best Ultra Light Spinning Rod for Trout and Panfish: Maker-Rated UL Picks
Ultralight spinning reel for trout
For small streams, the President 20 and Ceymar A C-500A list capacity from 2 lb mono, like several picks here. For bigger water, the Regal LT picks up 30.5 inches per turn, per Daiwa. Pair either with one of our trout spinning rods.
Drag, capacity and balance
Max drag is a ceiling, not a setting; see how to set your drag. Outdoor Life adds on balance: “Likewise, on a 5-foot 6-inch rod a light reel will balance the rod and aid in casting comfort.” Spool up carefully: line on a reel without twist.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What reel is best for an ultralight rod?
A 500 or 1000, or a maker’s smallest two-digit size, rated for 2 to 6 lb mono. Here, the Daiwa Regal LT 1000D-XH and Pflueger Supreme XT 25 cover the mid and premium tiers, and the Okuma Ceymar A C-500A and Piscifun Carbon X 500 the entry level.
Q. What size spinning reel is ultralight?
The 500 and 1000 sizes. Outdoor Life says “the 1000 size is slightly larger than the 500 ultralight reel and it can be used for instances when you need more drag, more line capacity, or a larger reel to balance a longer rod.” For two-digit brands, compare the maker’s capacity with a 1000’s.
Q. Will an ultralight reel handle a surprise carp or pike?
It can, with the drag set right. On 4 lb mono, Outdoor Life landed a 10-pound carp on the earlier Max Pro (our pick #3) and a 5- to 6-pound pike on a Shimano Vanford, and reported that each reel’s drag “did exactly what it was supposed to do.” Pike teeth can still cut light line.
Q. Is a vintage ultralight spinning reel worth buying?
As a project, it can be. A poster on r/UltraLightFishing wrote of his Shakespeare 2052 that it is less smooth than his modern Daiwa reels but has a slow, steady retrieve he likes, once he cleaned and straightened the bail.
The bottom line
Final Verdict
The Daiwa Regal LT 1000D-XH (check price) is a fast 1000; the Pflueger Supreme XT 25 (check price) is the premium reel Outdoor Life tested in this size; the Abu Garcia Max Pro 750 (check price) is Amazon-sold; and the Pflueger President 20 (check price) suits small-stream trout. On a budget, the Piscifun Carbon X 500 (check price) is the carbon-bodied 500, the Okuma Ceymar A C-500A (check price) publishes a full spec sheet, the Shimano Sienna FG 500 (check price) is a light-drag starter, and the Piscifun Viper X 500 (check price) is a spare for ice or panfish rods. More in our fishing gear section.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
