The short answer
The Daiwa Ballistic MQ LT 1000D-H is the reel Field & Stream tested in this size; the Pflueger President XT 25 is a mid-range 25 sold by Amazon; and the Lamson Liquid S -5+ is a sealed-drag fly reel FlyLife tested in this size.
Our verdict
Trout Reel Top Picks
The two top-ranking guides for this search, Field & Stream and Trout and Steelhead, cover spinning reels, so six spinning reels in 1000 to 2500 sizes lead here, then three 4- to 6-weight fly reels. For 500-size reels, see our ultralight spinning reel guide.
Related guide: Best Glasses for Fly Fishing: Polarized Picks and Readers
Reel finder
Find a trout reel for how you fish
Pick what you fish for and what you want to spend. The suggestion is our editorial starting point, drawn from the nine reels below, not a test result.
Tiers are relative to the reels in this guide; live prices are in the comparison table below.
Compare the picks
Compare the 9 Trout Reels
Maker figures unless a cell names another source. Spinning capacity: 6 lb mono; fly: 20 lb backing.
Ballistic MQ LT 1000D-HTested 1000 SizeStreams, trout, all-roundSpinning 100011 lb max$269.99
Evidence: Field & Stream, this exact model
Ceymar Baitfeeder A 1000Baitfeeder for Still WaterBait fishing, lakes, troutSpinning 10007 lb max$97.35
Evidence: Field & Stream, this exact model
President XT 25Carbon-Body Size 25Streams, trout, panfishSpinning 258 lb max$119.95 Prime
Evidence: Trout and Steelhead guide list, President XT; size not stated, quoted capacities match the 30
Regal LT 2000D-XHDeep-Spool 2000Rivers, lakes, troutSpinning 200011 lb max$79.99
Evidence: owner reports, no independent test
Revros LT 2500Budget 2500 for LakesLakes, big trout, beginnersSpinning 250022 lb max$69.99 Prime
Evidence: maker specs only, no independent test
Syncopate FG 1000Trigger-Cast SpinningBeginners, streams, troutSpinning 1000Retailers: 7 lb$54.99
Evidence: Trout and Steelhead, Syncopate FG 2500; same series, not this
Zero 4/5Clicker Fly ReelFly fishing, small streams, brook troutFly 4/5 wtClicker$109.99
Evidence: Trout Unlimited, Zero (2018); size not stated
Liquid S -5+Sealed-Drag Fly ReelFly fishing, rivers, troutFly 4-6 wtSealed conical$159.99
Evidence: FlyLife, this exact model
Sword 5/6Machined Budget Fly ReelFly fishing, beginners, troutFly 5/6 wtDisc$47.99
Evidence: Outdoor Empire, Sword 5/6 with the earlier cork drag; the current listing lists carbon washers
How We Picked These Trout Reels
How this guide was built
built from manufacturer documentation, published third-party reviews and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.
What each reel had to meet
- Trout size by the maker’s capacity: 1000 to 2500 class spinning reels holding 90+ yards of 6 lb mono; fly reels for 4- to 6-weight line.
- In stock on Amazon when we checked, seller named in the review.
Sources and how independent they are
Sources and how independent they are
Field & Stream’s test (August 2026) fished maker-supplied reels for months; it sells no reels. Trout and Steelhead is a guide’s list on an affiliate site. Fly: Trout Unlimited, FlyLife and Outdoor Empire.
Trout Reels: Detailed Reviews
Daiwa Ballistic MQ LT 1000D-H, Tested 1000 Size
Stream and small-lake anglers who want the tested premium 1000.
$269.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:56 UTCVerdict
Field & Stream’s overall pick, tested in this 1000 size.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Field & Stream: Ballistic MQ LT 1000.
Field & Stream: “I tested the 1000 size, which tipped my digital scales at just 6.2 ounces with a full spool of Daiwa’s XBraid X8 line.” Its caveat: “You need to be careful not to overfill the spool, which will lead to loop tangles.” Its “eight bearings” differ from Daiwa’s 2 CRBB + 6 BB + 1 RB; we use Daiwa’s. Sold by Gritr, shipped by Amazon, at Daiwa’s list price at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Ballistic MQ LT 1000D-H, BAMQLT1000D-H)
Pros
- An independent test in the exact size, at 6 oz and 11 lb of drag per Daiwa
Cons
- Premium price for a 1000-size reel
- Bearings: 2 CRBB + 6 BB + 1 RB; 28.8 in per turn (Daiwa)
- Price tier: $$$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Okuma Ceymar Baitfeeder A CHBF-1000A, Baitfeeder for Still Water
Verdict
An on/off baitfeeder 1000 Field & Stream tested in this size.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. Field & Stream: Ceymar Baitfeeder A 1000.
Field & Stream: “The baitfeeder system on the Ceymar Baitfeeder A worked flawlessly.” It adds: “The 1000 size I tested is heavy at 8.4 ounces, but that’s not surprising given the extra mechanics needed.” Okuma gives 7 lb of drag; the listing’s 26 lb is the series’ top figure. Sold by WSM Enterprises at the time of writing, below Okuma’s list.
Specs (linked: Ceymar Baitfeeder A, CHBF-1000A)
Pros
- On/off baitfeeder lets a trout run with bait, per Okuma and Field & Stream
Cons
- 8.3 oz, heavy for a 1000, per Okuma and Field & Stream
- 3- to 4-day ship time from the seller at our check
- Bearings: 7 BB + 1 RB (Okuma)
- Warranty: “Backed by a 1-year limited warranty” (Okuma)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Pflueger President XT 25, Carbon-Body Size 25
Verdict
A 25-size reel with 10 bearings and a carbon body, sold by Amazon.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Trout and Steelhead: President XT, size not stated.
Pflueger’s page publishes no weight. Trout and Steelhead’s guide: “The President XT has sealed and lubricated drag washers, ten corrosion-resistant bearings, and a lightweight but strong aluminum spool and main shaft.” He names no size; his capacities match the 30. Sold by Amazon.com.
Specs (linked: President XT 25, PRESXT25B clamshell)
Pros
- Machined aluminum main gear and Total Line Control for less line twist, per Pflueger
Cons
- 8 lb of drag, against 11 lb on the Regal LT 2000D-XH, per the makers
- Bearings: 10 (Pflueger)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Daiwa Regal LT 2000D-XH, Deep-Spool 2000
Verdict
A 6.5-ounce 2000 that holds 220 yards of 6 lb mono, per Daiwa.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/Fishing_Gear: Regal LT 1000, generation not stated.
Daiwa’s page lists 6.2:1; the Amazon listing says 5.2:1, and we use Daiwa’s. A poster in an r/Fishing_Gear Regal LT thread wrote (generation not stated): “I have one in size 1000. Still super smooth after putting it through hell for over a year in freshwater. Handles 20”+ trout down to sunfish.” Another poster, with sizes 1000 to 3000, warns they are “really finicky with fine fine dust” and can seize if left dusty. Our ultralight reel guide picks its 1000D-XH. Sold by Joe’s Sporting Goods at Daiwa’s list at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Regal LT 2000D-XH, RGLT2000D-XH-B)
Pros
- 220 yd of 6 lb mono at 6.5 oz, per Daiwa
Cons
- A poster calls it finicky with fine dust
- Bearings: 6 BB + 1; 32 in per turn (Daiwa)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Daiwa Revros LT 2500, Budget 2500 for Lakes
Verdict
An entry-level 2500 for bigger trout water, sold by Amazon.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Daiwa Revros LT page.
Daiwa’s page lists 5.3:1; the Amazon title says 5.2:1, and we use Daiwa’s. A 2022 r/Fishing_Gear thread that ranks for this search recommends the Revros on a budget, but neither post names a size, and the thread predates Daiwa’s current Revros LT. Against the Regal LT: bigger, with fewer bearings, per Daiwa. Sold by Amazon.com.
Specs (linked: Revros LT 2500, REVRLT2500)
Pros
- 2500 capacity for 6 to 8 lb mono at an entry-level tier, per Daiwa
Cons
- 8.1 oz, heavier than the Regal LT 2000D-XH, per Daiwa
- Bearings: 4 BB + 1 (Daiwa)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Shimano Syncopate FG 1000, Trigger-Cast Spinning
Beginners who want one-hand trigger casts on a light trout rod.
$54.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:55 UTCVerdict
An entry-level 1000 with Shimano’s Quick Fire II trigger for one-hand casts.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Trout and Steelhead: Syncopate FG 2500.
Shimano Canada’s page lists 4 bearings; its drag figure did not load for us, and US retailers list 7 lb. Trout and Steelhead prefers a bigger size: “I recommend the size 2500 reel for trout fishing due to its max drag of 7 pounds and capacity of 200 yards of 6-pound test monofilament.” Sold by Fishermen’s Source at the time of writing; some US retailers charge less.
Specs (linked: Syncopate FG 1000, SC1000FG)
Pros
- Quick Fire II trigger for one-hand casts, per Shimano
Cons
- Trout and Steelhead recommends the 2500 size for trout, not this 1000
- Bearings: 4 (Shimano)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Redington Zero 4/5, Clicker Fly Reel
Verdict
A 3-ounce clicker reel for small streams.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. Trout Unlimited: Zero, size not stated.
Redington’s page lists a large arbor, a spring-loaded clicker and a “Lifetime warranty”. Trout Unlimited’s Chris Hunt, who does not name the size he fished: “When used as intended, the ZERO is an ideal mate for a light-weight rod (say a 2- to 4-weight set-up).” His caveat: “So, no, this isn’t the reel you’ll need for bigger trout in bigger water (but it sure was fun!).” Sold by Far Bank Enterprises, Redington’s parent company, and shipped by Amazon at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Redington Zero 4/5, matte black, 5-5507R45NB)
Pros
- 3 oz with a large arbor, per Redington
Cons
- Clicker only: no adjustable drag for big fish, per Trout Unlimited
- Arbor: large; drag: clicker (Redington)
- Price tier: $$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Lamson Liquid S -5+, Sealed-Drag Fly Reel
5 or 6 weight anglers who want a sealed drag for bigger trout.
$159.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:56 UTCVerdict
A sealed-drag large-arbor reel FlyLife tested in this size.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. FlyLife: Liquid S 5+ (5/6 weight).
Lamson’s page lists the -5+ for 4 to 6 weight rods and a WF6 line, 3.65 inches across. FlyLife’s Andrew Harding tested the 5+: “Retrieval speed was good, and at 130 grams, the weight was balanced on a typical 905-4 or 906-4 rod.” Against the Zero: a sealed drag for 1.6 oz more. Sold by Lamson’s own storefront at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Lamson Liquid S -5+, Daybreak)
Pros
- Sealed conical drag that Lamson says helps keep water and debris out
Cons
- Premium tier among these fly reels
- Arbor: large; drag: sealed conical; pressure-cast aluminum (Lamson)
- Price tier: $$$ (live Amazon price in the table above)
Piscifun Sword 5/6, Machined Budget Fly Reel
New fly anglers who want an adjustable drag on a 5 or 6 weight.
$47.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 03:55 UTCVerdict
A budget machined fly reel; the cited review covers its earlier drag.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, previous generation. Outdoor Empire: Sword 5/6 (earlier cork drag).
Piscifun’s listing describes CNC-machined aluminum and a carbon and stainless disc drag; its maker-hosted blog review notes “the drag and bearings are not truly sealed.” Outdoor Empire reviewed the 5/6 when it had cork washers: “To be honest, the Piscifun Sword has the same run-of-the-mill drag system found on every other entry-level Chinese-made reel.” Against the Liquid S: an unsealed drag at a lower tier. Sold by WILDPULSE, the seller on Piscifun’s listings, and shipped by Amazon at the time of writing.
Specs (linked: Piscifun Sword 5/6 wt, gunmetal, without line)
Pros
- Machined aluminum frame and spool at an entry-level tier, per Piscifun
Cons
- Unsealed drag, per Piscifun’s blog and Outdoor Empire
- Arbor: mid; drag: carbon and stainless discs (listing)
- Price tier: $ (live Amazon price in the table above)
How to Choose a Reel for Trout
Spinning reel size for trout water
Field & Stream: “In general, ultralight approaches call for 500- or 1000-sized reels.” Trout and Steelhead’s guide: “The best-sized spinning reel for trout is a size 20, also known in some brands as a size 2000.” Compare capacity, as our spinning reel size guide explains; pair the reel with one of our trout spinning rods.
Related guide: Best Light Action Spinning Rod: Light-Power Rods for Trout, Panfish and Small Bass
Related guide: Best Ultra Light Spinning Rod for Trout and Panfish: Maker-Rated UL Picks
Drag and line for trout
Field & Stream says drag “should be set from 1/4 to 1/2 of the breaking point of your line”, about 1 to 1 1/2 pounds on 4-pound-test mono. The spinning picks have 4 to 10 ball bearings, per the makers. Before casting spinners for rainbow trout, set up the spinning reel and its drag.
Fly fishing reels for trout
Trout Unlimited’s Chris Hunt: “Small-stream trout reels really don’t need to be fancy. They just need to be dependable, hold line and pick up slack as needed.” For bigger fish, the Liquid S and Sword have adjustable drags. Our fly reel size guide covers sizing; match the reel to the rod, such as our 5 weight fly rods, and the line, from our floating fly lines.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What reel is best for trout?
For spinning, the Daiwa Ballistic MQ LT 1000D-H (tested by Field & Stream) or the mid-range Pflueger President XT 25; for fly, the sealed-drag Lamson Liquid S -5+.
Q. Is a 2500 reel too big for trout?
Not for big trout. Field & Stream: “If using heavier rods for bigger trout or even steelhead, reels in the 2500 and 3000 size are not out of the question.” The Revros LT 2500 holds 160 yards of 6 lb mono, per Daiwa.
Q. Is 4 lb or 6 lb line better for trout?
Both work: Field & Stream fished light mono and ran its drag example on 4 lb test. Trout and Steelhead: “I often prefer between size 2000 and size 3000 reels that hold at least 125 yards and preferably more line that is rated for between 6- and 10-pound test.”
The bottom line
Final Verdict
Spinning: the Daiwa Ballistic MQ LT 1000D-H (check price) (tested premium 1000), Okuma Ceymar Baitfeeder A CHBF-1000A (check price) (bait), Pflueger President XT 25 (check price) (mid-range), Daiwa Regal LT 2000D-XH (check price) (capacity), Daiwa Revros LT 2500 (check price) (budget lakes) and Shimano Syncopate FG 1000 (check price) (beginners). Fly: the Redington Zero 4/5 (check price), the Lamson Liquid S -5+ (check price) and the Piscifun Sword 5/6 (check price). More in our fishing gear section.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
